We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in inverness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #21 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday in inverness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our first trip to Scotland and what a beautiful place it is .
We picked this Guest house after reading lot of positive reviews about it and everything that was written was spot on ,the bedroom was lovely and clean and the bed was so comfy to sleep in we only had one breakfast here as we are not use to having One but what we did have was very nice indeed.
the owners were very nice and helpful if we needed anything or wanted to know about a place we were going to visit they could tell us all about it if needed .
Parking was ok plenty of space town was only 5 minutes away walking distance with plenty of places to eat in .
If we ever come to Scotland again we would book this place .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review it was a pleasure to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    52
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
512
38
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Val and Paul are setting a standard for others to follow. The location and ample parking set the arrival standard. The rooms are spacious, immaculate and spotless. They are brilliant, knowledgeable and very helpful hosts and their cooking and breakfast are utterly first class. They cannot be faulted and they will enjoy the rewards for which they have worked so hard and which they thoroughly deserve.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandGNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind review it was a pleasure to meet you both.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come visit us again in the future.
Many Thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The care Val and Paul dedicate to the guest house and to the tourists make this place an ideal point to explore Inverness and the Highlands. Good location, supperb breakfast and cleanliness can be important topics when you are on vacation: these you'll find there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review it was a pleasure to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope you will return again in the future
Many Thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Definitely THE place to stay at when visiting Inverness!!! The hosts (Paul and Val) are such nice people and will make you feel very welcomed.The place has its own parking lot, which is very convenient if you are driving. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you can think of. Very complete breakfast buffet also.

Room Tip: Avoid booking room number 1, for it faces the road, which at times (specially early in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review although we are sorry you felt room 1 at the front of the house was a bit noisy in the mornings....if you had advised us whilst you were staying here we could have moved you to another room at the back of the house which may have been more peaceful for you....the A82 is a busy road at peak times which is first thing in the morning between 8.80am-9.30am and late afternoon from 4pm-6pm...we hope you will return again in the future and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We are on a road trip through the Scottish Highlands and the Lake Country. The Avalon was the first B&B we visited... They set the standard high. Location is conveniently within walking distance to the town and the Avalon has parking so we opted for the exercise. The room was spacious and Val has done a great job of decorating. There was complimentary sherry in the room and all the amenities one could want were available. Bed was comfortable, even for my very tall husband! Breakfast was what we believe to be the typical full Scottish breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, and toast. How do they manage? It was delicious and Paul was a genial host. We thoroughly enjoyed our introduction to Scottish hospitality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon Guest House.
We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in Scotland and hopefully will return again in the future

Kind Regards to you both
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

the guest house avalon was our first stop in scotland... it was a wunderfull start of our journey. we appreciated the great hospitality, the very helpfull tipps about the area and the wunderfull scottish breakfast... thank again to val and paul!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cécile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much Cecile for your kind review Paul and I are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us...we hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Appreciated the off street parking. Very clean, cheerful room. The breakfast was excellent with great coffee. Val recommended a restaurant in town,Cafe 27,and suggested we walk into town along the river Ness. Glad we did. Pleasant 25 minute walk and driving would not have been fun with one way streets and looking for parking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fdp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review...we are so glad you enjoyed our restaurant recommendation Number 27 we have to agree the food is excellent there.... also the walk along the river into the city is beautiful and much more pleasant than walking the main road....We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope you may return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing