We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #21 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Would stay again without hesitation! Attention to detail, clean & comfortable! Nicely decorated with an updated and more modern feel, yet homey and very cozy.
Good location, close to many area sites and activities.
Wonderful breakfast as well.
Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBNette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review ..we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Avalon and hope you will come back and visit us again in the future

Many Thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    52
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
512
38
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The property is well located just a small walk away from the riverside and the local pubs. Val and Paul played lovely hosts by helping us with a good dine out selection and serving us a gorgeous breakfast in the morning. Their rooms are well designed and small details are very well taken care of. Loved my stay here. If you are planning on visiting Inverness this is definitely a lovely bet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NidhiAnandBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us... we enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will come back and see us again in the future

Kind Regards Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

stayed one night while touring, found the hosts val & paul, helpful and welcoming (great recommendation for a restuarant in town). plenty parking spaces, the room was a good size with good attention to detail as was the on-suite bathroom. breakfast was very good. it,s about a 20 mins walk into inverness. would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william57Castleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review...we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back and see us again in the future..It was lovely to have met you both

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Avalon guest house was in a good location with ample car parking off road. The guest house was beautifully decorated throughout with lots of homely touches, very modern, clean with a lovely large comfy bed in our room. Our bathroom was lovely too. We had a very friendly welcome and a lovely cooked breakie with plenty of choice. This is a definite stay and not to be missed! Thank you both very much. Phil & Carol

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank yo so much for your kind review..Paul and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again in the future...We hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and a safe trip back home

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Avalon in Inverness. We had flown to Glasgow that morning and were on our way to catch the Northlink ferry in Scrabster. Alas, our luck was not too good as the airline had lost both of our suitcases. Arriving late for check-in the hosts, Val and Paul, were kind and helpful, directing us to a nice restaurant and then to stores where we bought a few necessary things. The room was very clean and comfortable. We got a good night's sleep. The next morning we had a terrific breakfast and were on our way north.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Avalon...We hope you managed to get your luggage returned and were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A Fantastic 8 day holiday in Scotland was off to a good start at this Guest house in Inverness. The room we had was impeccable, my wife was thrilled with those small finishing touches and the host's are professional, courteous, friendly and full of useful information. Its only a 15 min walk to the centre of Inverness and is ideal for touring the area around Inverness. We stayed in 4 good B & B Guest Houses on an 8 day Scotland tour, this ranked with the best, we were so glad that we had also booked it as our last night in Scotland before our flight home. many thanks to Val AND Paul.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a comfortable King size double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review...we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again in the future....glad you had a safe journey home

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Avalon Guest House in Inverness this weekend. The room and bathroom was immaculate with lovely welcoming touches. The owners make you feel very welcome and are really helpful and the breakfasts are fab. Parking on site is a bonus and it is within easy walking distance of the town centre. Would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house if you travelling up to or around Inverness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you both so much for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again in the future

Many Thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing