We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B heaven”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #24 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“B&B heaven”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The first hotel presenting us with a special decoration in our room during our honeymoon: rose petals on the bed, a greeting card and complimentary champagne and strawberries. They had me there already. Then i had a look around at the huge, simply but tastefully decorated bedroom where the enormous bed stood. Funny graffiti in the bathroom, very quiet and full of natural light.
Breakfast was really extreme: cold buffet with everything you can imagine and more, and a-la-carte cooked scottish breakfast with DAILY SPECIALS!
They won our hearts and our tastebuds, these guys!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanoF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you both so much for your lovely review. we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and happy to hear that you appreciated the little extra touches.
What a lovely couple you both are and we hope you both have many happy years together.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and have a safe journey back home

Thanks again and kind regards to you both
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    54
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
70
524
40
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great Guest house in Inverness. Very clean and just full of little personal touches. Would definitely stay here again.We were made very welcome and the breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us at Avalon..We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you will return again in the future.
Kind Regards Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here three nights - based ourselves in Inverness and did the bus tour up to the Orkneys then a bit of exploring around the Inverness area. accommodation was spotless, and, having two of the wee beasties myself, was quite chuffed to get the Westhighland terrier room, with lots of little Westies adorning things. Few issues though - the bed looked good but we found that a slight hill in the middle meant that we rolled away from each other to the edges of the bed during the night, which was a shame. The owner who checked us in didn't introduce herself until right at the end, and I have now forgotten her name... didn't see her again. Breakfast was varied, some better than others - scrambled eggs great but poached egg overcooked, bacon hard (is it Scottish bacon that is like rubber, or how it's cooked?). Shower nice with good water pressure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us at Avalon
We are disappointed to read that you found the bed in our superior super king room to have what you described as a hill in the middle of it...well not sure how to answer that really as this is the first complaint we have ever had about that bed and you certainly didn't mention it to us during your three night stay so i can only assume it wasn't really that bad and having checked it after reading this there certainly is nothing wrong with it.
My introduction at check in ...Paul and i always introduce ourselves to all of our guests when they arrive and welcome them into our home... but if you forgot my name I am certainly not offended as it is written in several places throughout the guest house eg room folders, notices etc for everyone to read...unfortunately we do not have staff at Avalon and sometimes when i am busy in the kitchen cooking breakfasts guests check out and i don't get a chance to see them before they leave i can only apologise for this but i do make a point of seeing everyone at least once during their stay.
As for the breakfasts being varied I can only advise that if i was served a meal that i wasn't happy with I would return it and explain why ...on both mornings your breakfast was eaten and nothing was sent back so to us that would mean you must have enjoyed it..Our bacon comes from a high quality butcher and is grilled to order...this i have to add is the first ever complaint about our bacon and eggs.
To reflect on this review Paul and I are amazed that you have chosen to write these niggles on trip advisor and not once during your stay did you come to either of us and say something was wrong...why write it when you had the ideal opportunity to tell us when you were here...we cannot perfect your stay if you don't tell us the issue

Many Thanks Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a wonderful B&B. Val and Paul have done an excellent job at making this feel like home. Upon arrival, my wife and I were greeted by Val and Paul, who quickly engaged in conversation and went out of their way to make recommendations for dining and attractions (live music at the Hootananny). The room was immaculate and comfortable, and nice touches such as the sherry in the room and bottles of water available for guests set this apart from other B&Bs.

Breakfast was very, very good. There is a selection of fruits and cereals and hot options cooked to order.

Both Val and Paul put a lot of effort into making this one of the nicest places to stay in Inverness, and it shows. This B&B is highly recommended. If we return to Inverness, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor on the side of the house. While you could hear some noise from outside, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review reflecting on your stay at Avalon...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ...it was a pleasure to meet you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Many Thanks Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a gem and myself and my partner stayed here while going to belladrum. The ace is spotless and rooms are very nice. The owners are lovely we will be going back and recommend his guest house to everyone. Plus the breakfast was lovely and off road parking was very good also.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review reflecting on your stay at Avalon...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ...it was a pleasure to meet you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Many Thanks Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a fantastic B&B. Thoroughly recommend this B&B. From the moment we walked in the door, Val greeted us and made us very welcome, pointing out where to go for meals in Inverness as well as the local sites. Our room was immaculate and reflected Val's artistic flair. Its the little things that set this place apart from the others - the complimentary Sherry in our room, the bath robes in our wardrobe, the Sherry and a wee dram in the guest lounge room. Breakfast was a lively affair with both Val and Paul willing to engage in discussion and get people talking. Breakfast was a lovely selection of cereal, yoghurt, a large bowl of fresh fruit salad plus if you wanted a cooked breakfast (the famous Scottish cooked breakfast) there was that as well.
The guest house is an easy walking distance to Inverness. Its also an easy drive to various attractions such as Loch Ness (turn left as you leave the guest house and continue driving) or to Culloden in the other direction.
And to top everything - there was even a jar of Vegemite on the breakfast table ! ! Being from Australia and travelling all the way to the north of Scotland and finding Vegemite on the table - well it was just like home away from home - completely unexpected ! !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review reflecting on your stay at Avalon...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ...it was a pleasure to meet you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Many Thanks Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

A beautiful little guest house. Val and Paul were just lovely and very welcoming. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Just great. Free parking on site was an added bonus.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vallmac, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review reflecting on your stay at Avalon...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ...it was a pleasure to meet you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Many Thanks Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#28 of 231 in Inverness
270 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#10 of 231 in Inverness
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#18 of 231 in Inverness
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 231 in Inverness
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing