We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic and Delicious”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Energetic and Delicious”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We walked in to this place on a recommendation from a friend. The place is always busy and very energetic, which is fine by me.

Our meals were delicious and well prepared. I started with a salad and has the risotto. The wine selection was also lovely.

Great location along the river!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,864
    802
    217
    79
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely setting”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a Saturday night, this place is busy, so you need to make reservations, unless you're lucky! The food is very good, and the waitstaff are friendly. Lots of lovely contemporary art and a happy atmosphere, as well as a great location on the River Ness, and right downtown make this a good choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craicshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, great value, and the service was excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived Inverness and were looking for a good meal...boy, were we surprised. Do not let the exterior fool you into thinking there could be nothing special inside. We walked in and right away we knew we had chosen wisely. EVERY table was taken! We knew we were in trouble and might be in for a long wait, but CHRISTINE....THANK YOU Christine!...worked some magic and had us seated in no time. Sea Bass was fantastic! This was our first time and would recommend this place for early or late dinners. Early dining has a set menu but everything coming past our table looked fantastic. Sorry we are only in town for one night because I would go there tomorrow night...and the next!
You must try this place if you are in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jvbleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We got a last minute booking at this delightful restaurant that overlooks the River Ness. We were lucky enough to be seated on one of the tables on the first floor that overlooked the river and the city skyline. The menu changed every 7 days (according to the blurb on the front of the menu) which was something unique I have never come across before.

The house wine was really superb, light, red and perfectly balanced. I have a steak and and the other half had venison, both the meats were melt-in-the-mouth tender and served with a hearty portion of vegetables. For dessert we shared a panna cotta and a cheeseboard, both of which were outstanding.

The service was speedy and the waitress who attended to us was smiley and chatty. Will definitely revisit for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corolla, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Obxbeachlover ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We are at The Mustard Seed this evening and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. On the suggestion of our B&B hostess we tried this restaurant after arriving in town an hour before. Luckily, as we had no reservation on a Saturday night, the nice, accommodating maître d set up a table for us. The food (my husband and I both had rib eye
Steak) that was excellent. The waiter and waitress were both very attentive and personable. A great dinner. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank OBXbeachlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing