We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Gem in Inverness”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another Gem in Inverness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Even though we went here on a Monday evening the place was packed which shows how popular it is and not surprisingly so. Not a place to have a quiet meal but it was a really buzzing atmosphere. Even though it was busy we never had to wait for anything and staff were not far away when extra drinks etc. were required. Would definitely go back if we went to Inverness again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cappucino_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,835
    789
    214
    70
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“How do they do it?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I found Mustard Seed through a Tripadvisor search. The previous positive reviews are not wrong. This is a super place.
It's in a converted church, so the building itself is really interesting and big. I've no doubt that it's always busy, busy and the 'busy buzz' was just great. We hadn't booked(lunch) but were lucky that after just a few minutes we got a table on the balcony.
First impressions tip-top:- welcome and attentiveness.
Then there's the menu. Two excellent courses for £7.95. How, even given the volume of custom?
It wasn't just that the choice was good or the food when it came was delicious, it was the quality of the presentation and the service throughout - worthy of a very posh place.
We had a carafe of the house red; that too was good and perfectly quaffable.

If you're in Inverness, go there. If you're in Scotland, go there. In fact just go. It's great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edburga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very friendly staff - very welcoming.
Gorgeous food - great portions and choice of menu.
Lovely round table by the window for our party of five.
Great value for 2 courses.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haywards heath
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located inside a former church and has been impressively modified. We (6) ate on one of the old balconies which produced a semi private environment. The food was varied and well produced and our waiter was a very helpful local guy (how unusual is that!). The restaurant was packed on a tuesday in June so we aren't the only people who liked it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service and fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Staff are consistently excellent. Food is of a high standard and the lunch and pre theatre menus are unbeatable value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing