We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Room - CLOSED

Room
Price range: US$53 - US$53
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good food in a pub style surroundings. Menu not that large but what they have is good. Friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    88
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CoB
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor drink”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My drink (a pint of lager) was sour, I left it and walked out, and it was most expensive drink of the evening. The kitchen door was wedged open and you see the cooks microwaving the packed meals and plating them up, not a pleasant sight. We won’t be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimCoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A must if your Inverness my hubby and I visited on a Thursday I has steak £9.99 on Thursday with a glass of wine and he had fish we both has starters and bill came yo £25! There was a duo on with guitar singing banjo and fiddle( not all at the same time) the tourist joined in on a jamming session it was great a must visit place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirleygirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would eat here again!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for an evening meal after looking at reviews on here I thought it would be a good choice. I was let down. Had a Swiss and bacon burger, the burger tasted off, the bacon was not cooked properly and was really fatty and the burger roll was like charcoal. The man serving wasn't very nice and didn't seem like he wanted to be there. As I was paying at the bar the young girl taking my payment was too busy chatting to friends about how much she was sick on her night out the previous night. I don't think I'll return here in a hurry anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Return Visit...Same Great Food/Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I last visited Inverness, and the Room, back in 2011. For a portion of our 2014 trip, we were traveling with friends from Georgia and taking them places that we had enjoyed on past travels to Scotland. Sometimes that works…sometimes, not so much! While passing through Inverness to Fort William, we stopped and took a stroll along the River Ness and then ate at the Room. As before, the place was crowded, but not overly so…and the food and service were just as good as we remembered. The server was friendly and helpful, portions were generous and prices moderate and fair. My friend mentioned that his was the best fish and chips of his trip (he tried several places!) and I highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding. If you get the chance…try the Room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDavidE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing