We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way - which is par for the...”

Review of The Old Byre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
threegigs
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way - which is par for the course with Joan and John”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Old Byre is total perfection. As a home away from home this Highlands retreat can't be surpassed. We sort of expected it would be great, because we had been guests of The Grange in Ft. William on two previous occasions and knew what Joan and John do to make their patrons feel welcomed and comfortable in every way. But The Old Byre surpassed our already high expectations. We needed a real getaway from all the noise in the States and the workaday stresses, and The Old Byre fit the bill in every way - silence (except for the sheep), black sky at night, isolation yet proximity to Ft.William and beautiful Lochaber, comfort and relaxation. Joan, it was great to see you again and we hope to be back, this time after not so long a time away from our beloved Scottish Highlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs_reda
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect honeymoon hideaway”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My new husband and I are not exaggerating when we say we would move in to The Old Byre in a heartbeat if we could - it's that idyllic. Joan made an extra special effort since she knew we were on our honeymoon which, combined with the stunning location, beautiful interior and everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay, made our week here perfect. Thank you Joan and John for a lovely week. We'll be back for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J
Outer Hebrides, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All The 5 Star Reviews Below Fully Justified”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

There is not much I can add to the plethora of effusively complimentary reviews that have already been written about this cottage. Except to say that none of them have been exaggerated. This letting is first class in every respect. So, I will just post some of the aspects that made the greatest impression on me. First, the location - quite high up on a fairly remote single track road but with easy access to the centre of Fort William. Peacefulness and solitude abound. I also loved sitting outside at the back on the garden furniture (invest £3 in an anti-midge coil - works a treat) enjoying the view across the glen. And, speaking of views, half a mile down the road towards town one has the most stunning vista of the local area. I was also greatly impressed by the response of the owner to a minor problem I encountered - I couldn't operate the washing machine - (a case of user error, it transpired). John was on the spot in a couple of minutes and couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage had everything one could possibly want - and more - was well-maintained and spotlessly clean. It was also nice to be able to drive right to the door and have ample parking immediately outside. I could go on but I think you get the idea. The upshot is that I was very sorry to have to leave at the end of my stay and am determined to return soon. In the meantime, if you are a couple or are on your own, don't bother looking any further unless The Old Byre is already booked when you want it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Y
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning, Comfy, Warm Cottage - Perfect Get Away”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely little Cottage, perfectly decorated and well equipped! Lovely to return to after a long day out exploring! Felt like coming home. Lounge is beautifully decorated and furnished with a brilliant little fire place along with a Bedroom and Bathroom to match. Kitchen well equipped and perfect for staying in and cooking. Beautiful location tucked away in the hills, but conveniently located near enough town (5 min drive). Would definitely recommend, to anyone looking for a nice highlands get away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic Highland Getaway”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked The Old Byre over the New Year as we wanted a nice and cosy country cottage to relax in and be able to cook for ourselves. Joan was a great host from the beginning, always replied promptly and was very helpful when it came to booking Hogmanay dinner in Fort William.
The cottage was perfectly located for us as it is close enough to Fort William but far enough away to feel secluded. Being hill walkers it was great to be so close to the West Highland Way as well as the Mamores which we tackled during our visit. It was lovely to come home in the evening to underfloor heating as well as an open fire.
Thanks for a great stay in a beautifully renovated byre. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray P
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just perfect ”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in February 2015

This is just perfect , they look after every last thing . The cottage is beautiful in a beautiful place . It's a must visit for two

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareck W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

For those wanting a quiet weekend away with access to the Scottish highlands, the Old Byre is perfect. It is close enough to Fort William to enjoy the restaurants and amenities yet far enough away to feel like you are completely isolated. The cottage has been impeccably renovated and contains everything that you can possibly want for your stay. It has a great open fire with all the fuel you need for your stay and a lovely bath, perfect for those cold winter evenings. Joan was extremely helpful in providing advice on places to eat and in providing directions ensuring our stay was completely trouble free. Would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing