We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous Guest House”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at Torlinnhe Guest house for 3 nights on a short break.
Sue picked me up from the bus station and took me direct to Torlinnhe.
On arrival I was left to settle in then Sue offered me a pot of tea with biscuits in the lounge a nice touch, I was impressed by the cleanliness of the guest house immaculate throughout.
My room was number 4 a good sized single room at the back of the house.
The room was outstanding decorated in neutral colours with carpet to match.
The oak furniture is top quality.
The single bed was comfortable which made for a good nights sleep and the bedding was crisp white of good quality.
There is a 26" lcd tv with dvd player and freeview channels.
Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate with biscuits was provided.
The ensuite was immaculate with good quality fluffy towels and toiletries were provided.
The shower was warm and powerful.
Breakfast is outstanding you have a choice of cereals, fruit, bread, pastries, muffins, fruit juice, tea or coffee with brown or white toast.
You can also choose a cooked breakfast from the menu I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon and oatcakes and cranachan delicious Sue is an excellent cook.
Breakfast is served in the lounge which looks onto loch linnhe so you have breakfast with a view.
Sues husband Andy is a good conversationalist and is helpful in recommending things to do in the area.
I highly recommend this guest house friendly, welcoming, caring with good customer service skills and the room rate is very reasonable there is an offer on at the moment if you stay 3 nights or more and there is a loyalty scheme in operation.
The house is also green and eco friendly.
Sue also gave me a lift to the bus station for my journey home after a wonderful stay at a special place.
I wish you both all the best for the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Wow, saltire_10 what a comprehensive and generous review! There is little I can say in response except of course thank you. We are obviously glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Fort William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
278
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was the nicest place we could ever have found to headquarter for day trips in the Highlands. The home is spotlessly clean and warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful for both carnivore and vegetarian. The sleeping quarters were very comfortable.
The views of Loch Linnhe from the dining room are beautiful.
We had planned to use public transportation, but when I mentioned this in an advance e-mail, Sue pointed out that it would be difficult to get around during the off-season with reduced scheduling of trains and buses. We hired a car from Green Motion at Edinburgh Airport and were able to follow our dreams.
The en suite bath accommodations were perfect. The shower was wonderful without being wasteful.
This was as "green" a dream home as one could ever wish for. The hosts, Andy and Sue, are genuinely nice, warm people who were very helpful with information and advice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SullyInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks, SullyInBoston for a lovely review. Glad we managed to encourage you to hire a car, your touring options would have been a bit limited without it - especially in February. That said, you could have got the train from Edinburgh to Fort William and then hired a car here if you had wanted to avoid the drive up the A82! I hope you managed to go everywhere you wanted and see all the historical stuff you hoped to. There is just so much to see and do in the area it is sometimes difficult to fit it all into just a few days. Good to see you managed to spend some time over on Ardnamurchan before you went home - it's like going back in time over there - in the nicest possible way of course. Hope that your trip home was safe and uneventful and that you make it back to Scotland again soon. We'll be here waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent few days in January this year and the place is perfect. Andy and Sue are great hosts and provide perfect service. very nice location. Rooms were very clean and served wonderful breakfast. I would recommend to anyone.
Rakesh & Niluka

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakesh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you rakesh l for your kind review. The weather wasn't perfect for your visit but we are glad you found Torlinnhe comfortable and welcoming. Hopefully you will be able to come back later in the year next time and get the benefit of spring or summer in the Highlands. All our seasons are so different and each one has something to offer. Whether in sunshine, snow, or even rain Fort William is a perfect centre for exploring the Scottish Highlands, our landscape, our history and our culture. We look forward to sharing our home with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having been to Fort William just very quickly, I wanted to come back with more time. So I set out to plan a week end getaway for me and my 3 daughters, but with so many guest houeses present on the internet, the decision seemed difficult. What sounded (and looked) very convincing was the breakfast menu... it was described in so much detail and with such pride that this point became the "unique selling point", so to say. When I got in touch with them, Sue and Andy were just lovely, even changing the number of our party from 3 to 4 rather spontaneously was no problem at all. The rooms and bathrooms (we loved the Highland Soap products) were spotless, the choice of DVDs impressive, the view over the Loch beautiful. In the morning, we enjoyed a great breakfast - it's hard to choose from 4 options if you only have 2 days but everything we had was delicious, be it the porridge, the traditional Scottish breakfast, the vegetarian breakfast or the autumn crunchy yogurt (in addition to the regular buffet). So next timewe need to taste the Scottish salmon scramble!
As we wanted to have a good day hike, Andy took a map and showed us the way to Steale Falls which sounded convenient as not all of us had footwear appropriate for snowy paths. We enjoyed the hike very much, had dinner on the way back and arrived in the evening tired but happy. And I finally had the chance to watch "Braveheart"...very suitable indeed.
We can only recommend this guest house - Sue and Andy are very friendly, and they provide high-level service. I'm sure you will love your stay at Torlinnhe - we definitely plan to come back, hopefully next winter or even before that!!

Room Tip: Of course it is wonderful to wake up and have a view of the Loch... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabella1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
What can we say Fabella1963. What a lovely review, Thank you. We are so pleased we managed to live up to your expectations. We are especially pleased you enjoyed the walk to Steall falls - it is reputedly one of the best short walks in Scotland and we love it too. I have to say though that I have never actually walked the entire length of Glen Nevis on the way back as you did - no wonder you were tired! We look forward to seeing you again - I will see if I can find somewhere else just as good for you to walk next time - there are plenty of places to choose from - we are so lucky, we live in an amazing area of natural beauty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

What a great place to stay. Andy and sue are terrific hosts and nothing seems to be too much trouble. I have trouble with my loud snoring and Sue even offered my wife another room at no extra cost!! The rooms are exceptionally clean and the room facilities are second to none. The breakfast is wonderful with lovely fresh fruit salads pastries etc. Reading a previous review I can confirm the sausages are of excellent quality! Mant thanks to you both and we will return! Andy and Jaime, Montrose.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We look forward to seeing you again soon Andy W. Don't forget your loyalty points earned this visit will make the next one even better value! Thank you so much for your very kind review. I have to say we aren't always in a position to offer extra rooms like that but we will always do our best to make sure everybody can relax, get a good nights sleep and enjoy their stay with us - whatever the problem! Glad you enjoyed breakfast - we do try to make sure there is plenty for everybody. Oh and thanks for the vote of confidence in the sausages - our local butcher produces them on the premises in Fort William and we think they are great too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Such a lovely B&B. It really is more like a hotel - spotless but friendly, warm and welcoming. The lounge/dining area is a great place to relax, plan your next venture (with Andy's fantastic local knowledge and friendly nature), enjoy the absolutely amazing view of the loch, and of course breakfast! Look forward to breakfast, it is good! Fill in your choices the day before - and help yourself to cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, a beautifully laid out fruit salad with no expense spared, pots of tea and coffee... a great start to your day. The room was spacious, plenty of storage, comfortable bed, lovely clean quality shower with toiletries provided, TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Andy did a great job of keeping everybody happy. Couldn't ask for more. Really really want to go back. Steve and Kim.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thanks Stephen G for the great review. We are so glad you both enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again when you can make it back up to Fort William. Good job you weren't here this week though, we have just come through the worst storms we have had for many years! Still, it wasn't just us and although plenty of damage, nobody was seriously hurt and we are all working to clean up the mess and get back to normality. The weather now? Fantastic, especially for walking and driving. Cool but not freezing, bright, dry and not too much wind. What more could you ask when enjoying the beauty and granduer of the snow covered hills around us? Come back soon and thanks again for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Best B&B any of the three of us had stayed in. Very clean and comfortable en suite rooms and an extensive, excellent, breakfast. The welcome was particularly friendly and Andy succeeded in going the extra mile consistently - and always with a smile. Gold mine of useful local knowledge. Next time I return to the area, Torlinnhe will be my first port of call.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torlinnhe, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you Munro1344 for your kind review. We are so glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again when you get back to Fort William. Hopefully it won't be too long before you are up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing