We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy! Much better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cozy! Much better than expected!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I knew that this would be a great place to stay due to all of the raving reviews here on Trip Advisor but once we got there, we found out that it was even better than expected.

We had the triple room which had a stunning front view of the loch. The room itself was very cozy, the beds, the carpet, etc... Everything is top notch and spotlessly clean (plus everything looks brand new), in fact, the entire house is cozy and nicely decorated.

The breakfast was superb, with many delicious things to choose from the buffet, plus you get to choose hot food which was cooked to order.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorUKBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hmm, what were you expecting IgorUKBR?? That is the question :). Glad we exceeded your expectations. All the generous reviews we have had in the last four years have set the bar rather high but hopefully we can avoid disappointing anyone too much. We are really pleased you would be happy to stay with us again and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
278
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbellford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The wonderful, warm welcome from Sue and Andy made this our most memorable and favourite B&B. Exceptionally clean, comfortable with a spectacular view. Loved the organic toiletries from the Highland Soap Company. The delicious breakfasts were prepared from locally sourced produce, beautifully presented and served with flair. Wide variety on the menu with items selected the night before in addition to the extensive buffet. We took advantage of some of the great suggestions for day trips that Sue had prepared as Fort William is central to so many things to see and do. Especially enjoyed your great sense of humour Andy! Thank you for a fantastic 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotCans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words ScotCans! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also good to hear that you found our day trip suggestions useful. As you say Fort William is located at the heart of the west coast and from here you can pretty much go anywhere for the day, Our local mountains (including Ben Nevis) and scenery are just minutes away. Further afield, but still just a day trip away, you can visit Oban, Skye, Mull, Aviemore, Cairngorm and Inverness not to mention the myriad smaller communities spread throughout Lochaber (as the region around Fort William is known). Hopefully we will see you again one day ScotCans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We were made to feel immediately welcome when we arrived late,.and offered tea or coffee - a nice touch that a lot of places don't bother with!
a lot of attention to detail has been given to ensuring guests have a great stay...personally we loved the little chats and ways we were made to feel at home. The rooms are very clean, with the Highland Soap Company products in the bathroom adding to the focus on local / Scottish products.
We loved the breakfast, where the buffet was full of fresh local produce, and the presentation was great.
Definitely staying here again, and would highly recommend it for the friendly welcome, great service and fantastic breakfast offer. The owners certainly raise the bar for b&b stays, lovely !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himalheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you himalheidi1 for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Torlinnhe and especially that you were comfortable and felt at home. Our aim is always to provide a relaxing and pleasant environment for our guests to return to after their, hopefully jam packed, days exploring the scenery and activities available in our local area. We think it is great that so many guests are returning to see us again and again. It is almost like having an extended family!! We look forward to catching up with you again when you can make it back to Fort William - hopefully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Sue with tea and cakes, taken in the guest lounge with outstanding views over the Loch. All aspects of our 3 night stay were of the highest quality and, as a result of a breakfast-time conversation, Andy set me the challenge of getting the words 'bed' and 'toast' in the same review sentence. So, here goes. Our room and bed were large, comfortable and - as my old gran would have put it - warm as toast, talking of which, the toast served to accompany the excellent breakfast was thick sliced, best quality, seeded bread: delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
OK, OK smarty pants! I concede defeat! It obviously is possible to mention both toast and bed in the same sentance without also including crumbs! Seriously, thanks for taking the time to write the review. We really enjoyed having you to stay at Torlinnhe and hope you will make it back to see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I am so glad I stayed at the Torlinnhe Guest House the weekend I went to climb Ben Nevis. Andy and Sue couldn't have been more helpful, and a comfortable sleep and good breakfast was exactly what I needed. The room and en suite were fresh and clean and there were several options for breakfast. As well as the super choice for a cooked breakfast, you can order breakfast to your room the evening before (if you'd like a lie in) or order a "breakfast to go" (if you need to get off early).
I stayed for 2 nights and the second night, I had to ask if my 5 year old son could stay with me in my single room. He had stayed the night before in the Glen Nevis camp site (with the rest of the family) and had a bit of a cough and had been quite restless. Andy and Sue, made up an extra bed in the room so that my son could have a cosy sleep and I had peace of mind that he was ok. I can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thankyou for the lovely review NicolaReview. Our single room has the facility and the space to include a second bed if necessary and we are glad we were able to put it to good use for you on this occasion. We look forward to seeing the whole family next time you are in Fort William. Our triple room can either be configured with a large double and a single or three singles so I am sure we could make you comfortable in there - it has an amazing view over the loch as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We are just back from our trip to the Highlands and had a really lovely stay here. This is my first review ever but just had to comment on the stunning view from your sitting room!!! This is also where we had a very full Scottish breakfast with a vast array of options and beautifully cooked and presented.We stayed for 2 nights. The accomodation was lovely (room3)-modern and newly fiited shower room.Quiet even though on a main road. The house is situated up from the road and in no way hampers the view of Loch Linnhe.Sue and Andy work really hard to provide a friendly atmosphere with lots of local knowledge on the surrounding area and where to eat etc.and a really relaxing experience with super food for a good price. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms looked clean and newly decorated and whole house was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
We are privileged to be the subject of your very first review Maureen K! Hopefully it won't be your last. Like many other hospitality businesses we rely on customer feedback to help us ensure we mmaintain our standards and offer our guests what they really want. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you at Torlinnhe again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have to say THANK YOU for such an amazing stay. We were greeted with Tea and cookies, a most welcomed gesture after our drive. Wonderful sitting lounge looking out to the Loch. We booked the triple room which was very spacious and over-looked the front of the house!!!
We woke up to a beautiful double rainbow and rays of sunshine over the loch!!!!
Even if you don't need the triple... book it anyway!!! Great breakfast and ordered a packed lunch which was a VERY generous assortment of lunch foods. Sue and Andy, you have a gem of a business and deserve all the success and prosperity achievable.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms. Great views!!! even if they have some noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
You are very welcome Daniel H! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Torlinnhe. As has been said many times, the view is spectacular from the guest lounge and hopefully complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits just makes it that bit more relaxing and special! We hope to see again one day if you are ever passing through Fort William again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing