We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Torlinnhe Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Gantocks B&B(Fort William)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inverlochy Villas(Fort William)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
US$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
528
25
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
25
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsandy and suebuffet tablelounge breakfast roombiscuitspicture windowcooked breakfastperfect hostsfresh fruit saladon arrivaldvd playerguest loungeoverlooking loch linnhetriple roombreakfast was amazinga great stayfull scottish breakfastpacked lunch
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As many reviewers have done, my fiancee and I came here as a base to climb Ben Nevis. Our whole experience was perfect. Right from booking, Andy and Sue were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The location is slightly out of Fort William (15mins walk or so), but this is more than compensated for by the stunning views of the loch through the gorgeous front room windows. The complimentary tea/coffee if you're relaxing here is a lovely touch and much appreciated after a mountain climb!

We stayed in room 6, a double en-suite, and had a part view of the loch from the side window. The room was lovely, and the bathroom superb - great use of the available space made it as comfortable as roomier places we've stayed. Beds were comfy (although slightly firm for slimmer people).

Breakfasts were beyond sublime. A nice range of choices, all of which were beautiful. This was only enhanced by the groaning buffet table with delicious fruit salads, pastries and cereal amongst other things. Copious quantities of hot drinks and toast were almost too much.

The cherry on top, however, is Andy and Sue themselves. Consummate hosts, it seemed nothing was too much trouble for them - including taking all our wet kit (including boots and rucksacks) to a drying room overnight, and presenting us back with lovely dry stuff. We had a delightful stay worth every penny, and recommend Torlinnhe to anyone. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you so much for an extremely generous review DriMac. It is so good to hear you felt relaxed at Torlinnhe and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate you found the matrress a little firmer than you would ideally like. The mattresses in most of our rooms (inc room 6) are brand new and from the premium range of our regional Blindcraft factory. Perhaps a few more Torlinnhe breakfasts would help you "sink in" a little more luxuriously :). We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Fort William, the "Outdoor Capital of the UK".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We went to Fort William to climb Ben Nevis,a comfy bed and a good breakfast were our priorities.Torlinnhe was first class in every respect.Sue and Andy were very welcoming,their house was spotless,bedrooms smart and comfy,a great home from home.Then came breakfast,wow,second to none.We found a winner,difficult to convey in a few words the high standards at Torlinnhe,great folks,great B&b,great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

You didn't just come to climb the ben Andrew C - you succeeded!! Hopefully your stay with us helped you along the way a little. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to your liking. We try hard to make sure everyone is comfortable and well fed and it sounds as if we succeeded too this time :). We look forward to seeing you again soon, there are plenty more hills in the "Outdoor Capital of the UK" for you both to conquer. Not to mention the low level walks, canyoning, mountain biking, rib boats, wildlife watching, skiing, kayaking, off road driving - need I go on?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a great time here, lovely welcome with tea and biscuits, which made it very homely. Our room had a beautiful view of the Lock, spacious and very clean. Breakfast was superb, with lots of choice. Will recommend and have already done so.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Avril D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay Avril_D. Thanks for the kind review and for the recommendations. Would be nice to see you again sometime. Don't forget the loyalty discounts which will apply to your second and subsequent stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our final stop on completing the West Highland Way and we were made SO welcome. Tea and biscuits on arrrival, beautiful stylish and comfortable en-suite room, amazing views, helpful advice about restaurants, a lift to town, a wonderful range of choices at breakfast all beautifully served. We had really good B and B experiences on The Way but this easily the best. Thank you for helping to make our week of walking a truly memorable experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ford65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

You were SO welcome Ford65 and after a walk like that you deserved a cup of tea at the very least! We are pleased you had an enjoyable, if short, stay at Torlinnhe. Hopefully you will be able to come back again for a little longer next time. There are lots of hills within a short drive of Fort William; Ben Nevis and the Nevis Range, Glen Coe and of course the Creag Meagaidh national wildlife park. There is also the Great Glen way between Fort William and Inverness, not as rugged as the West Highland Way but still a lovely few days walk in it's own right. There again, you could just come and relax a while. You could sit and watch the loch from the lounge window while we ply you with more tea and biscuits :) The choice is yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. High quality all round and the owners had just the right balance between friendly/helpful against over friendly. We enjoyed having breakfast will that wonderful view and sampling all the different variations. Well done!.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you Grandpy, for taking the time to post your kind review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast "hit the spot" in the mornings. Breakfast is an interesting juggling act for us. We try to ensure everyone has a good choice and that there is always sufficient to go around - whatever choices people make. We also have to try to buy locally wherever we can and waste as little as possible. It doesn't always work out but hopefully we generally get the balance right. One thing is for sure, nobody should ever leave Torlinnhe hungry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews