We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb b and b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“superb b and b”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

accommodation superb - rooms well presented and spacious and very comfortable even down to hand wash and shampoo in the rooms - - breakfast has to be one of the best presented and cooked with lots to choose from - and sets you up for the day - lounge area superb views and plenty of maps-books to plan your stay- hosts very friendly

Room Tip: rooms at the front have great views - back ones no view - but you can always chill in the lounge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterm030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for the kind review Peterm030. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we will see you again one day. Meantime enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
278
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I spent 6 nights at Torlinnhe Guest House.
All I can say if you are looking for a guest house that is friendly and welcoming, immaculate with high standards of customer care, excellent breakfasts with a good choice, then stay at Sue and Andy's guest house where you have made the right choice, you will be well looked after.
This is my 3rd time staying there and it gets better with every visit.
My room (room4) has been redecorated and a nice new comfortable bed which is very hard to get up from as it is so comfortable.
Sue and Andy are always updating their guesthouse which means that the customers comfort is very high.
Thank you for looking after me will see you again.

Room Tip: All rooms Re of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
It is always a pleasure to see you again saltire_10. Funny you mention upgrading, next time you come the house will have a different roof! We are closing for a week in July to replace our old roof with a nice new and bright red roof. Hopefully these new tiles won't keep blowing off in the winter winds!! Inside we replaced all the beds this year (again!) - glad you found them comfortable, fortunately all our guests so far have said the same thing. What a fantastic week you had during this year's stay - wouldn't it be amazing if the weather stayed that way for the rest of the summer? I have my fingers crossed but can't promise it will do any good though. Still the west coast of Scotland is fantastic in any weather and we need a little rain occasionally to keep the hills green! Look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Fort William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I would highly recommend stopping at this B&B if you visit Ft William. Although this is not the closest to the town, it does not matter. The host will offer to drive you in. They willrecommend places to eat, visit and can not do enough to please. The accomodation is spotless, smart and comfortable.The two night stay we had, you would not know all rooms were fully booked. It was quiet and had two peaceful nights sleep The breakfast was wonderful, catering for vegetarians (haggis) which was a nice touch. The views whilst eating this was spectacular over the loch with ever changing scenery.
Thank you for a wonderful stop over.
Alan and Helen Beaton

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks for the recommendation Alan B. We are glad you both enjoyed your time at Torlinnhe. Not sure we can accept the accolade of "best on the west" but we do try hard and it is nice to know we are up there with them at least :). Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The hosts are very friendly and welcoming.
We had a tastefully decorated room, which was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was superb! Plenty of choice from the buffet, and a delicious Scottish breakfast that keeps you going for hours!
This is a B&B we definitely want to visit again, and that we can recommend to everybody!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hverleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast hverleys! We hope you will make it back to see us again one day soon. As I've said often in the past there is just so much to do and to see in the area we can keep you occupied year after year. And when you run out of things to do locally Skye, Mull the small Isles. Cairngorm, Inverness, Oban, Glen Coe and many other places are all well within a day visit distance whilst travelling through some of the most spectacular scenery in the UK. Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay. Reviews really help us to maintain our position in the listings. Hopefully they also reassure our future guests that we are not resting on our laurels and are continuing to strive to maintain the standards of hospitality we have set ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Once you get over the fairly ordinary look of the property from the outside, your stay cannot be faulted. On arrival the lady of the house, Sue, offers tea and biscuits while she reviews the facilities of the house, the town and the area.
Everything is just right, huge (previous evening ordering preferred) choice for breakfast, including a very fresh fruit salad that must have taken ages to prepare, wide choice of cereals, bacon, eggs, Stornoway black pudding, etc, and REAL cafetiere coffee. All served by Andy who is on hand to advise and recommend how to spend your day.
If the weather is really bad, you could probably spend all of your stay just sitting in the lounge watching the loch through the huge picture window, they have sensibly sacrificed the possibility of squeezing in more tables & seating so that a couch can fit in for comfortable and relaxing loch-watching. Everything points to the lack of wanting to wring the very last penny out of guests.
The bed rooms are large and airy, impeccably clean, with large beds, courtesy tray, giant tv and dvd player, very clean roomy ensuite shower room with great shower. And in spite of being on the main road south, very quiet at night even with the window open.
And a "taxi" service into the town if you want to have a drink in the evening.
They should give lessons!

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are perfect, there seems to be at least one family room. Some might have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3xGrandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you HandAsGrandit for taking the time to review Torlinnhe so thoroughly. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. There really isn't much I can add to what you have already said. We agree that Torlinnhe is nothing exceptional to look at from outside but we decided that it probably doesn't matter too much because our guests will either be inside looking out at the view through the 18ft picture window or outside looking at the view across the loch!! Either way our boring exterior is hopefully no more than a minor detraction from the overall experience we try to offer. We will be a bit jazzier soon though - in July we are replacing our entire roof with a new one of shiny new red tiles!! Hopefully the new ones won't blow off every time we get a big storm :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Excellent 3 night stay. Room very comfortable and decor stylish. View of loch which was great to wake up to. Breakfast was the best we have experienced, you were spoilt for choice. Extremely welcoming and helpful hosts, offering to take us into the town for dinner. Lounge with view over the Loch was a joy to look out onto. We will certainly recommend

Room Tip: All rooms of a very high standard and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
So glad you felt welcome and that you enjoyed your stay in our home CameronPerth . Thank you for your review and your kind recommendations. Hopefully we will see you again back in Fort William again soon. There is still plenty more to do and see in the area. The porpoises were playing in the loch yesterday - a fantastic sight from our breakfast room window, especially as the sun was shining brightly too! Almost walked into a stag up at the Nevis Range too! The dogs were with me so unfortunately it didn't hang around to chat! Nice to see it so close though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We recently stayed at this B&B for two nights while on vacation. The host welcomed us to freshly brewed tea with Scottish treats. Nice touch! She also gave us great suggestions for restaurants and information on walks, and we were able to have our laundry done! Bea's tip: Raspberry-Greek-Yoghurt cup for breakfast. Delicious! We definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you Beatrice_Hodel for your very kind review. We do appreciate our guests taking the time to post reviews for us. Although we try hard to provide an experience which is just a little bit special it is sometimes hard for us to get this across on our website and other advertising. Guest reviews make a major contribution to future guests understanding of what we offer at Torlinnhe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing