We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to recover from climbing Ben Nevis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to recover from climbing Ben Nevis”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We travelled to Fort William to do a practise walk of Ben Nevis as we’re doing the 3 Peaks Challenge later this summer. Andy and Sue were the perfect hosts – tea and coffee on arrival and an array of delicious biscuits. The room we had was lovely and very comfortable – brilliant shower – and the breakfast was AMAZING. Although it’s a 20min walk to the town centre Andy and Sue are happy to drive you down to the town, so long as it’s before 7:30pm. Highly recommend staying here if you’re visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks Sarah R for your kind review. Hope you manage the three peaks OK (if you haven't already). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully carrying a substantial Torlinnhe breakfast up the hill with you on your practice walk didn't cause too much extra effort. You need a decent start to the day if you are going to take on challenges like the Ben. Thanks for the recommendation, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
268
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked this B&B as part of a birthday gift for my dad. I had booked the Jacobite Steam Train so I was keen to get accommodation reasonable close to the town centre. My parents rated it highly and would definately recommend to friends. It was clean friendly and provided a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you Gail B for your review. We are glad your parents enjoyed their stay - especially as it was part of your father's birthday celebrations. It is good to hear you would recommend us and hopefully we will see you all again one day. We are slightly concerned we did not earn five blobs for cleanliness and service at least but we will try even harder next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed in June with four adults and it was delightful. The view over the loch is breathtaking and the rooms are modern and comfortable. The breakfast was on the of the best I've had at a B&B. I was only there two nights but would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through WestVillager. So glad you and the rest of your party enjoyed their stay with us. The lounge really works when there is a small party travelling together as it gives you somewhere to relax together and enjoy the view of Loch Linnhe and, if you are lucky, spot the Otters, Seals or Porpoise as the pass by! Thanks for posting your review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Torlinnhe at the beginning of July and despite the rainy weather had a wonderful stay here. On arrival there was a tray of tea/coffee in the lounge which has a panoramic view of the loch. Andy and Sue make you so welcome. The rooms are beautiful, with excellent quality fixtures and fittings. Breakfasts are fresh using local produce- the Cranachan is delicious !Sue lent us guides/maps of good walks etc in the area- Torlinnhe just so handy for Fort William and Ben Nevis. The photos do not do the guest house justice- excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay janet c. As you know we try to encourage people to stay a little longer in the area by offering a discount for stays of three nights or more. There is just so much to do that you really need a few days to even get a taste of what we have here in the "Outdoor Capital of the UK". It is not all go though, and the lounge is always open for you to relax in, have a tea or coffee and watch the world go by for a while. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Torlinnhe Guest House having toured Scotland. Andy and Sue make you feel at home, tea etc on your return, use of lounge, with one of the best views in Scotland.
Always a lovely fresh cooked breakfast.
Very helpful with things to see and do Brilliant in every way

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0303VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you 0303VJ for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again and hopefully you will make it back for another visit sometime soon. The view from our lounge window will be waiting and the kettle is on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Torlinnhe Guest House in June. Our hosts could not be more welcoming and helpful with their suggestions and guidance re: the surrounding area. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with lovely afternoon tea, to settling into our rooms, the stay was perfect. Our rooms were beyond comfortable, our large bed was heaven after many small beds and the bathroom was far superior to others we encountered. As the owner Sue explained, the rooms were well appointed to accommodate travelers such as ourselves with too much luggage! I wish we had more time at Torlinnhe as I would have enjoyed just sitting in the very comfortable lounge area, which has a beautiful views of the loch. As Andy explained, they have seen much wild life in the loch, and it would be a pleasure to just relax and look out the picture window with the binoculars. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and I would highly recommend Torlinnhe Guest House. The only thing is don’t make the mistake that we did only staying two nights, spend more time there! Thank you again Sue and Andy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
The pleasure was all ours Ariana R. We love to meet new people and to help them get the most from the fantastic area we live in. There is a huge amount to see and do and Fort William provides a brilliant base for not only local walking, climbing, sightseeing etc but also for touring around the highlands generally. We are pleased you were all comfortable and enjoyed our breakfasts - a good nights sleep and a decent breakfast are major components of any holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

During our 2 week holiday in NW Scotland we stayed in 5 B&Bs all of excellent standards. It was difficult to choose an overall winner but we feel the Torlinne comes top.
Lovely hosts - nothing was too much trouble - super room and view, delicious breakfast with wide choice and convenient for Fort William/Nevis range etc.
Well worth a revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBunny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks for your very kind and generous review SuffolkBunny73. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Still lots to do and see in the Outdoor Capital of the UK - and don't forget the loyalty discount too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing