We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best guest house we have ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torlinnhe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best guest house we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Please don't hesitate to book this outstanding B&B. It is spacious, light and airy, spotlessly clean, very well appointed, with brilliant mattresses and with fabulous breakfasts!

Thank you Sue and Andy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, the triple, with fabulous, front-facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Well The_Tinseltowns, that is an accolade! Don't know what to say except thank you of course. It is good to hear that the mattresses and the breakfasts were both up to standard - after all it is what we do - provide the best Bed and Breakfast we can for our guests! We hope to see you again sometime soon. If you avoid going anywhere else we will always be the best B&B you have stayed in and your review will always be true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
253
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Absolutely ideal in every way. The hosts Andy and Sue were extremely friendly, informative and hospitable. The place was spotless, modern and had a large parking area. Amazing view from the lounge and only two minutes away from the high street

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
What a kind review jparmar! Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. There's still lots more to see and do in the area. Can't promise another impromptu whiskey tasting though :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

You can read all the other great things about Torlinnhe in other reviews...great rooms, great view, great breakfast, etc. I am really writing to say that Sue fulfilled a dream for us! When we checked in for 2 nights, we told Sue that we would love to see Ardverikie, the estate in the Monarch of the Glen Scottish TV series that we are so nuts about. She understood, because a friend of hers felt the same and had persuaded her to take a quad bike tour. Sue immediately got on the phone and we got a PRIVATE tour of the estate the following day...a Sunday, no less, with Quad Bike Tours. We took the Scenic 4 x 4 Land Rover tour, and it was absolutely amazing. Sue's kindness and Ian's tour will be forever locked in our memories! Oh, we also asked if we could meet Sue's dogs, and they are just beautiful. You'll love Torlinnhe, Sue, Gordon, and the dogs.

Room Tip: Lake view in the front was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks MJinItaly for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad we were able to help make your stay special. You were lucky to get the full private tour of the estate and all the film locations at such short notice! Glad to hear you found your stay at Torlinnhe enjoyable if not quite as exciting perhaps as it would have been to stay at Ardverikie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We travelled to Fort William to do a practise walk of Ben Nevis as we’re doing the 3 Peaks Challenge later this summer. Andy and Sue were the perfect hosts – tea and coffee on arrival and an array of delicious biscuits. The room we had was lovely and very comfortable – brilliant shower – and the breakfast was AMAZING. Although it’s a 20min walk to the town centre Andy and Sue are happy to drive you down to the town, so long as it’s before 7:30pm. Highly recommend staying here if you’re visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks Sarah R for your kind review. Hope you manage the three peaks OK (if you haven't already). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully carrying a substantial Torlinnhe breakfast up the hill with you on your practice walk didn't cause too much extra effort. You need a decent start to the day if you are going to take on challenges like the Ben. Thanks for the recommendation, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked this B&B as part of a birthday gift for my dad. I had booked the Jacobite Steam Train so I was keen to get accommodation reasonable close to the town centre. My parents rated it highly and would definately recommend to friends. It was clean friendly and provided a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you Gail B for your review. We are glad your parents enjoyed their stay - especially as it was part of your father's birthday celebrations. It is good to hear you would recommend us and hopefully we will see you all again one day. We are slightly concerned we did not earn five blobs for cleanliness and service at least but we will try even harder next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed in June with four adults and it was delightful. The view over the loch is breathtaking and the rooms are modern and comfortable. The breakfast was on the of the best I've had at a B&B. I was only there two nights but would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through WestVillager. So glad you and the rest of your party enjoyed their stay with us. The lounge really works when there is a small party travelling together as it gives you somewhere to relax together and enjoy the view of Loch Linnhe and, if you are lucky, spot the Otters, Seals or Porpoise as the pass by! Thanks for posting your review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Torlinnhe at the beginning of July and despite the rainy weather had a wonderful stay here. On arrival there was a tray of tea/coffee in the lounge which has a panoramic view of the loch. Andy and Sue make you so welcome. The rooms are beautiful, with excellent quality fixtures and fittings. Breakfasts are fresh using local produce- the Cranachan is delicious !Sue lent us guides/maps of good walks etc in the area- Torlinnhe just so handy for Fort William and Ben Nevis. The photos do not do the guest house justice- excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay janet c. As you know we try to encourage people to stay a little longer in the area by offering a discount for stays of three nights or more. There is just so much to do that you really need a few days to even get a taste of what we have here in the "Outdoor Capital of the UK". It is not all go though, and the lounge is always open for you to relax in, have a tea or coffee and watch the world go by for a while. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing