We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“late winter weekend at Torlinnhe Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“late winter weekend at Torlinnhe Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I initially chose Torlinnhe Guest House after I couldn't get bookings with my first and second choices, but after exceptional hospitality provided by Andy and Sue Keen, their lovely home will be first on my list when I come back to Fort William. I knew that they go that extra mile, when they offered to pick me up from the station. An offer, I gladly accepted when I was welcomed in true Highland fashion with a heavy downpour of rain. Apart from the super cosy comforts of my room, and a cooked breakfast which could probably take you to Everest base camp, it was Andy and Sue's personal recommendations of where to eat, drink, and be merry, as well insights into their lifestyles, which really made the stay top notch! Thank you again, Andy and Sue.

Dhush (stayed Feb28th-March 2nd 2014)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Dhush, Thanks for the kind review. Have to say we are glad you couldn't get bookings with your first two choices - their loss was our gain and not just financially! It was a real pleasure to welcome you to our home for the time you were in town on your winter skills course. You certainly had enough snow on the mountains to give you a good flavour of walking and navigating the hills in winter conditions! The skiing and snow board conditions are brilliant this year as well - so there is something (and somewhere) for everybody. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
257
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had four nights in Fort William staying at Torlinnhe with hosts Sue and Andy. Our room was very comfortable and we had plenty of space for our luggage. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped. Breakfast was a highlight, not only for the high quality food but also the view across the loch. Sue and Andy were excellent hosts and were happy to have a chat either at breakfast or later in the day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hope you are enjoying the rest of your UK tour GreyNomad-Aus. The weather seems to be improving everywhere at last so hopefully you will get to see at least some of the country in the sunshine. We have had lovely weather here in Fort William for the last few days. The view from the breakfast room has been nothing short of spectacular with the sun on the loch and on the snow covered hills across the water. We are glad you were comfortable during your stay and hope that you left feeling relaxed and refreshed after your long journey from Australia. Thank you so much for taking some time out to post such a positive review - it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but made very welcome by our hostess. Greeted after a day of driving with coffee and cake in the lounge and a chat about our plans. Even given advice on other places to stay and eat for upcoming wedding plans. Breakfast was served in the lounge offering amazing views over the loch, I could have stayed there all day. And with the spread laid out for breakfast I don't think I would have gone hungry. Think we were the only two for breakfast and there was enough pastry, cereal, cheese, fruit and yoghurts to feed an army with full breakfast to follow. We've recommended to friends and family to stay at Torlinnhe and I expect we will again in the not too distant future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks for the lovely review Robb W, it is great to hear you enjoyed your short stay. Congratulations to you both on the wedding. Hope plans are progressing well and that the weather is kind on the day. If there is anything we can do to help just let us know. We will expect photos and a piece of cake in due course :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

On the Scottish leg of a five week driving holiday in December; we were very lucky to stay for three nights at Torlinnhe where we were made to feel very welcome and had a really comfortable stay. We took two guest rooms as we had two teenage children and they were lovely - beds very comfy, bathrooms very clean & well appointed. The guesthouse is in a very good location opposite the Loch, all the photos are very realistic. The hosts gave us excellent advice about driving routes and suggested attractions and restaurants and were pleasant and friendly to boot. We used the guest house as a base rather than keep moving which was a great decision and it was easy to see Inverness, Steele Falls, Urquart Castle, Oban & Skye and many other great places. We would definitely return again - lovely and cosy - 5 star breaky !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - front ones overlook the lock
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM_Travelnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Glad you had a really comfortable stay KathyM_Travelnews! It is our job to be hospitable of course and to make you feel as comfortable as we can so we can't really claim any special credit for that. That is especially true as we enjoy meeting our guests and welcoming them into our home so much! Having said that, it is always nice to know we didn't let you down so a big thank you for your very kind review. We hope we will see you again one day? Fort William is always worth another visit! There is a huge list of things to see and do around the area so we will always have a few more suggestions up our sleeves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this B&B and loved it! Andy and Sue are attentive, informative hosts. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and modern with a stunning view of the Loch! Breakfast was more than generous. Would definitely reccomend it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLBJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
The wonders of mobile technology! Thank you VLBjhb for your very speedy and generous review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us on your way through to Glasgow and your eventual flight home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our short one-night stay was enjoyable. Room was well decorated, clean, and cozy. Host helped us find a place to replace a blown tire. Breakfast was yummy. Location was convenient and easy to find. The view at breakfast was beautiful (if you ignored the cloudy weather). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you Melissa S for your very kind review. It is lovely to see that we managed to meet your expectations and that you would be happy to recommend Torlinnhe in the future. We are glad also that we were able to help with your tyre problem. It was a pity that your stay was so short this time but hopefully we will see you again, and for a little longer, one day soon. There are so many things to see and do that an overnight stop in Fort William is just not long enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very friendly and made us feel very welcome. My wife and were visiting from the US in November 2013. My parents joined us on this trio. Location for Fort William was excellent. Great breakfast. Very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
So glad you all felt welcome Angus1156. We do our best to ensure everybody has a great stay at Torlinnhe. Glad to see we managed 5 blobs for cleanliness even if we fell a little short in your estimation elsewhere! If you have specific suggestions how we might improve the experience we would love to hear them. In the meantime we will continue to try to find ways to develop Torlinnhe and improve our services. We hope to see you again one day in the future but until then enjoy your travels and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#2 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing