We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Andy and sue really bent over backwards to ensure our weary tired motorbiking souls could really relax. From tea when we arrived, DVDs to watch and the excellent breakfast spread, were so glad we stayed and would recommend this B&B to anyone coming from a day to a week. The local scenary is fabulous and there is lots to do nearby too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColeSchmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you NicoleSham for your kind comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and were able to relax during your stay. Hopefully Torlinnhe provided a great base from which to enjoy some of the scenery and activities available in the "Outdoor Capital of the UK". The snow on The Ben is receding a bit now and this weekend is the last of the skiing at Nevis Range. From next week the bikers, hikers and wildlife watchers will be out in force! And of course the Kayakers, Canyoners, Climbers, Car Tourers and just passing thru-ers - to name but a few. We look forward to greeting them all! Hope to see you both again when you next get a chance to travel North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
268
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stayed at the guest house over the Easter Bank holiday and were very impressed. Upon arrival we were welcomed with tea, coffee and biscuits which was just what we needed after a long trip. The view from the lounge where breakfast is served was absolutely stunning. The breakfast offers plenty of selection with an excellent range of food cooked to order. Finally, cleanliness and quality of rooms was also good and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Great to hear you would definitely stay again next time you are in the area twill22, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your generous review. Hopefully your drive home was uneventful and did not take too long. Sorry we couldn't be at the other end to welcome you with tea and biscuits as we did at Torlinnhe - we must have been busy with our feet up watching the ever changing view from the lounge window :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family of four stayed for two nights and Torlinnhe was splendid. Andy and Sue were great hosts, breakfast was excellent both days, the rooms were great, and Andy and Sue were both incredibly helpful in advice for sights and restaurants in the local area. We highly recommend staying there and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you Brian D for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that you enjoyed your breakfasts during your stay with us. It is also good to hear that you found our activity suggestions helpful. There is so much to see and do in the area that it can sometimes be difficult to decide where to spend your time during a short stay. Hopefully we helped you get a real flavour of the area highlights and maybe whet your appetite for a longer stay in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denby Dale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very friendly welcome, 5* accommodation and service. We had a triple room, the only one left when we booked the night before. It was a good size and the view over the loch was outstanding. Very clean, the best shower you could wish for. Excellent breakfast, would highly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Triple room has fantastic view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay and found a friendly welcome at Torlinnhe Rosemary B. The view from the triple room is pretty amazing but so is the view through the huge windows of our breakfast room/lounge so nobody gets left out :). Thank you so much for taking the time to post your generous review, it is much appreciated. Can't claim to be 5* I am afraid but we do try very hard to provide an equivalent level of service to all of our guests. As for breakfast, well that's what Torlinnhe is about. Sound sleep, great breakfast and a brilliant day out - every day! Hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

5 star experience
The best B and B I have ever stayed at and hopefully will not have to wait to long till I stay again. Sue and Andy are the perfect hosts making me feel welcome. my room ( the whole house ) was immaculately clean and the food was exceptional
Torlinnhe is a real treasure
paul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Torlinnhe, Paulie C and thank you for such a generous review. We look forward to seeing you again, and hopefully your brother too, next time you are in town. Book as soon as you can though, it is starting to get busy for the season already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I had a two night stay and were greeted by Sue and Andy and made most welcome with the offer of tea and coffee in the lounge,a welcome treat after a long drive, room was plentiful and well made up with all conveniences,and bathroom done out to high standard.Breakfast was easily ordered the night before with four options of meal all with the option of porridge.The cooked breakfast is a delight to eat (don't expect to go hungry during the day) there is a good book with recommendations for food and water (or something stronger if you prefer) in Fort William and surrounding areas.Andy and Sue are most genial hosts and full of local information to make your stay more enjoyable.
We felt sorry to leave as it felt as if we were leaving good friends

Room Tip: room 1 has a brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
It was great to see you again andy d - especially as it seems it was FIVE years since you both visited last. How time flies! Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a generous review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay once more and obviously hope it will be a bit less than five years before your next :-). Take care both and enjoy your travels - we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I initially chose Torlinnhe Guest House after I couldn't get bookings with my first and second choices, but after exceptional hospitality provided by Andy and Sue Keen, their lovely home will be first on my list when I come back to Fort William. I knew that they go that extra mile, when they offered to pick me up from the station. An offer, I gladly accepted when I was welcomed in true Highland fashion with a heavy downpour of rain. Apart from the super cosy comforts of my room, and a cooked breakfast which could probably take you to Everest base camp, it was Andy and Sue's personal recommendations of where to eat, drink, and be merry, as well insights into their lifestyles, which really made the stay top notch! Thank you again, Andy and Sue.

Dhush (stayed Feb28th-March 2nd 2014)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Dhush, Thanks for the kind review. Have to say we are glad you couldn't get bookings with your first two choices - their loss was our gain and not just financially! It was a real pleasure to welcome you to our home for the time you were in town on your winter skills course. You certainly had enough snow on the mountains to give you a good flavour of walking and navigating the hills in winter conditions! The skiing and snow board conditions are brilliant this year as well - so there is something (and somewhere) for everybody. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing