We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcarres Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balcarres Guest House
Ranked #50 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Located not far from the city centre of Fort William, this B&B is worth every of their 4 stars. The people are friendly,breakfast is good and plenty and the rooms are big,clean and quiet. Another plus are their laundr facilities

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanvaneijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We visited Fort William on 23/24 July 2010 and stopped at Balcarres B/B, We have stopped there in the past and we found the same welcome as previous. Mike is a mine of information about the local area and he cannot do enough to help. One small touch that impressed us was my wife took a bottle of wine and left it in the room the next day there were 2 wine glasses next to the bottle, A nice little touch .
BT

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edenroadgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Balcarres is about 1/2 mile out of Ft William in a quiet setting with wonderful views over Loch Linne. Mike is a genial host and everyting was very comfortable. There is a nice guest lounge andlots of visitor information available. Overall I would say that it is good value for money and it provided us with a wonderful start to our cycling holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

excellent service very friendly and helpful staff.nice to find some where that will cater for a fussy vegatarian! the room was very comfortable and clean would highly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebearnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Balcarres was a wonderful find in Fort William! I was lucky enough to spend two nights at this lovely guest home and loved it! The roome I stayed in (#2, w/two double beds) was well-appointed, comfy and had a great, ensuite bathroom to boot! Breakfasts include several delicious cooked to order choices as well as pentiful continental items as well. As a bonus, the breakfast room has a fantastic view of Loch Linnhe, as does the front porch of Balcarres. The owners are incredibley welcoming and the home includes a family room with DVDs and lots of information about the local area for tourists. Balcarres sits about 1 mile away from the heart of Fort William, and takes about 30-45 minutes to walk there from the train or bus station. The local area offers everything from mountain climbing to shopping to boat tours of the local wildlife. I had a lovely stay, and hope at some point to return to Balcarres!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dream1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#53 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
2.8 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcarres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcarres Guest House

Property: Balcarres Guest House
Address: Balcarres Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcarres Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcarres overlooks Loch Linnhe and the beautiful countryside that surrounds it. Situated at the end of a quiet road Balcarres is an ideal base for touring the highlands. An approximate 15 minute walk into Fort William town centre gives you an appetite for the many eateries that the town has to offer. For a relaxing stay, stunning views and a very warm welcome come and visit us at Balcarres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balcarres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcarres Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing