We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B in Great Location”
Review of Taransay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taransay
Ranked #55 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Taransay is located on a quiet street with great views across Loch Linnhe, about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Fort William.

We stayed in the family room, which was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good, and Patricia was a good and friendly host.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shjc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here in sep for whilst exploring scotland and had a great stay.

The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and are very comfy.

The breakfast is lovely and the view is stunning from the room

All in all a great little place made by the warmth of the owners who are great hosts!

Thanks and see you again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stustustustustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I went there that the end of Aug together with another 2 friends. We booked a family room. This is a extremely lovely and sweet place! It is very clean and everything is perfect. The hosts are very nice. I strongly recommend this B&B. I think all ladies will love it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Libo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent the night of September 19 in Taransay, since we came Patricia and Robert made ​​us feel in our own home, kind, caring and with a great sense of humor.
The room was very large and comfortable, bed very comfortable. Also had free wifi, tv, hairdryer and kettle. The most minimal detail it was taken care to the maximum.From the room one sees the garden and the lake, is an incredible awakening to open the curtains and to see this marvel of landscape.
The abundant, complete and very well presented breakfast, you could choose between continental that is marvellous or Scotch, I recommend the Scotch, because it´s very good. Besides this, they put us yogurs, fruits, juices and homemade müesli, you have to taste it!


P.D: And I´m sorry about the Keys :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ARRIKITOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The B&B was clean, in a good location with views of the water and the owners were friendly. However it was very unexceptional, compared with others we stayed at in the same price range recently.

Although we had sole use of the small bathroom, it was not en-suite as expected but along the corridor, up 4 stairs and right opposite the front door . The television was ancient, with a poor picture. The decor in our room was also rather dated.

I understand other rooms do have en-suite bathrooms.

Room Tip: There are plenty to choose from in Fort William.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2011

We have Double en suite rooms, but this guest booked a twin room with a private shower room which tallied with his paperwork.
The shower room is a fair size but i think Americans expect larger than normal sized
shower rooms

Robert and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had an excellent 3 night here last weekend. We had the Family room and had no issues. Our hosts could not have been more friendly / helpful. We would recommend to anyone. They deserve their high ratings on this site.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We've stayed 6 nights at Taransay. We had a very nice stay.Clean and spacious room,very good breakfast,nice view and VERY FRIENDLY owners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Balcarres Guest House
Balcarres Guest House
#54 of 111 in Fort William
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#66 of 111 in Fort William
95 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taransay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taransay

Address: Taransay Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £32 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taransay is a 4 star B&B in Fort William. We provide a really friendly helpful service. Stay in our ensuite lochview rooms (1 single,1 family and one twin), or our brand new spacious single room with private bathroom and 4 foot bed overlooking our garden. Enjoy our delicious locally sourced full breakfast whether cooked or our venison charcuterie and cheese platter (in season),in our recently updated attractive dining room with stunning Loch Linnhe views. We are situated in an elevated position, in a quiet cul-de-sac, with free car parking and spectacular views over Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour Hills and Mountains. We are a pleasant walk of around 15 mins. along the shores of the Loch to the town where there are plenty of Restaurants, Pubs, Supermarkets and Shops. We have free wifi. We accept children aged 5 and over. We do hope you choose us for your special break, business trip or holiday. Everyone at Taransay will try and make your stay a brilliant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taransay Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing