We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and hosts”
Review of Taransay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taransay
Ranked #58 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for a day. As a solo traveller, stayed In a single room with a private bathroom. Hosts - friendly and attentive. Faculties - clean and comfy. Good breakfast. Excellent location close to fort William town centre. Highly recommended. Not sure about the ensuite rooms - hence 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lontoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night last week with friends from France. Very friendly welcome.Tea and coffee on arrival. Lovely bed and breakfast. Very clean and comfortable. The view from the house is stunning! Paul was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants for dinner and places to visit the following day. The cooked breakfast was lovely and loads to choose from. Would be happy to return and will definately recommend to friends as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryndz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast, very clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. Do try the cold scottish platter. I was made very welcome and not made to feel awkward about being on my own.
Paul and Liz helped with my plans and nothing was too much trouble from discovering opening times to providing maps from the internet.
The bed and breakfast was nice and quiet with beautiful views over Loch Linnhe. The bedroom, single with ensuite was small but had every thing I needed, including tea and coffee making facilities.
I thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast in an area with plenty to see and do. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBORAH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taransay-Owner, Owner at Taransay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we always try to assist our guests so they have the best holiday possible. We are ideal for single travelers like yourself with 2 dedicated single rooms available with no under occupancy premium to pay for a double room.. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Very good b& b with tasty breakfast (essential) great views, good location, lovely & quiet.
Above all run by really nice couple who genuinely care about their visitors being happy.
I would confidently recommend taransay as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Its all down to the people who own/run the place who make the stay what it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is quite a large-ish B&B situated south of town, only 2mins by car. The main drawcard for us was the view over Loch Linhe which we could see in their room pictures. It's situated on a hill which gives them this nice vantage point. If you're walking to the B&B with luggage keep this in mind. The room was quite large, as was the bathroom. Comfortable bed. Style-wise it is quite a mix between old and new, a bit traditional with some modern touches but could do with some further re-freshening. Breakfast in the morning was decent. There is a nice view from the breakfast room too so it's a nice way to start the day. Note that they accept cash only & we weren't prepared for this so were a little inconvenienced on check out by that (didn't realise). We had a pleasant & nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taransay-Owner, Owner at Taransay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The rooms have all enjoyed significant upgrade over the last 15 months with new carpets throughout, new flat screen TV's with DVD players, new headboards etc. In fact our twin has had a new en-suite created. The dining room has had new tables and chairs, a new dresser and carpet too. We like to keep a good blend of traditional and modern to please our guests both young and old and give a homely atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Really Lovely b & B, charming and helpful hosts, great location, there are loads of places all along the main road, but this b & b was up a short incline behind the b & b`s on the road so has the advantage of a fabulous view from the breakfast room and no noise from the road traffic. Extremely clean and all the rooms were spacious and comfortable. would recommend to any-one staying in Fort William.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovebutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had an excellent two-night stay here (October 2012). The room was clean and comfortable, with an excellent, roomy en suite. The breakfast was well cooked and filling (and the unique Scottish cold platter option is very worthy of consideration as well!). The view from the breakfast room, looking out over Loch Linnhe from an elevated position, was a great statrt to the day as well. The owners are warm and welcoming: we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJL_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
6.9 mi away
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
Ardarroch Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Kinlocheil
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taransay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taransay

Address: Taransay Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £32 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taransay is a 4 star B&B in Fort William. We provide a really friendly helpful service. Stay in our ensuite lochview rooms (1 single,1 family and one twin), or our brand new spacious single room with private bathroom and 4 foot bed overlooking our garden. Enjoy our delicious locally sourced full breakfast whether cooked or our venison charcuterie and cheese platter (in season),in our recently updated attractive dining room with stunning Loch Linnhe views. We are situated in an elevated position, in a quiet cul-de-sac, with free car parking and spectacular views over Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour Hills and Mountains. We are a pleasant walk of around 15 mins. along the shores of the Loch to the town where there are plenty of Restaurants, Pubs, Supermarkets and Shops. We have free wifi. We accept children aged 5 and over. We do hope you choose us for your special break, business trip or holiday. Everyone at Taransay will try and make your stay a brilliant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taransay Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing