We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Taransay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taransay
Ranked #63 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Taransay Bed and Breakfast in Fort William, Scotland, is reasonably priced and good value. Clean, comfy rooms, generous breakfast, off-road parking, fabulous views over the Loch and within walking distance of the town centre. The proprietor is very knowledgeable about the whole area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
61
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Once found, a warm Welcome was given along with as much Local Information as was possible. Room small but well equipped. Great Location and Start Point for other Highland Places. Breakfast very good. The Hosts were super friendly!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights during a hill-walking trip to Glen Nevis and received great hospitality from Paul and his family. Taransay has single rooms at a decent price which is unusual so I recommend it warmly to the solo traveller. Breakfast was excellent and the accommodation comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viareggio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed a night about a week ago, we found the house difficult to find , the room (twin) small with a freezing bathroom! The breakfast was good as was the information about placeses to eat and things to see and do in the area. Having a front door key was very handy as I like to have an early morning walk, weather permitting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Taransay is top-notch in terms of comfort and cleanliness, but I would say best part about it is the warm hospitality of the hosts. Paul and his team are very knowledgeable about the area, and will go out of their way to serve their guests well. The breakfast was excellent. Taransay is a great, central location for exploring the beautiful sights around Fort William -- Ben Nevis, Glen Coe, Glen Etive, and the beaches and islands near Malaig, to name a few. The hosts are happy to point guests to the best walks and places to visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights and wished we could have stayed there longer. The room was well-equipped, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast included cereal, fruit, yoghurt and a wonderful Full Scottish that set us up for the day. (We didn't tend to need lunch afterwards!). Friendly service and great advice on things to do and visit in the area. A great base for Glen Coe and the Western Isles. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If Rachel's yogurt pots are part of the breakfast options, you know you're in a good guest house because If you want to buy the best yogurt in the supermarket, then this brand is up there at the top, just like Taransay. A good guest house, offering a good service, a nice environment, good value for money and a great view from the breakfast room overlooking Loch Linnhe.

Taransay is at the far south end of Fort William and only a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. Paul is a personable and helpful host, ready to pass on his knowledge to give advice and recommendations, in my case the latest mountain weather forecast for Ben Nevis, a spot-on restaurant recommendation for dinner, and a very much appreciated lift into town with my pack to the Corpach bus when swapping location and luggage transfer providers from the West Highland Way to the Great Glen Way.

Single rooms are difficult to come by on the WHW, but Paul has two! Mine was very comfortable with an excellent small double bed and a separate, private shower/toilet.

Definitely a great place to stay and a good first option for single travellers to call.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
524 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 111 in Fort William
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#38 of 111 in Fort William
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balcarres Guest House
Balcarres Guest House
#52 of 111 in Fort William
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alltonside Guest House
Alltonside Guest House
#54 of 111 in Fort William
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taransay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taransay

Property: Taransay
Address: Taransay Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taransay is a 4 star B&B in Fort William. We provide a really friendly helpful service. Stay in our ensuite lochview rooms (1 single,1 family and one twin), or our brand new spacious single room with private bathroom and 4 foot bed overlooking our garden. Enjoy our delicious locally sourced full breakfast whether cooked or our venison charcuterie and cheese platter (in season),in our recently updated attractive dining room with stunning Loch Linnhe views. We are situated in an elevated position, in a quiet cul-de-sac, with free car parking and spectacular views over Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour Hills and Mountains. We are a pleasant walk of around 15 mins. along the shores of the Loch to the town where there are plenty of Restaurants, Pubs, Supermarkets and Shops. We have free wifi. We accept children aged 5 and over. We do hope you choose us for your special break, business trip or holiday. Everyone at Taransay will try and make your stay a brilliant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taransay Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing