We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous hosts. Magnificent view”
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braeside House
Ranked #7 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Generous hosts. Magnificent view”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

“Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend” is an often-heard cliché but it sums up Braeside House. No-one will welcome than you more warmly than Aileen and Paul, so you feel like you are just staying with family. They look after you generously, for example giving us a lift to Nevis Range as they were passing nearby, and have lots of tips on places to eat or visit.

Braeside House, as its name suggests, is on a steep hill – an easy walk down into town but about £4 for a taxi if you don’t feel like the climb back up. You’ll hear only birdsong in this peaceful area.

Breakfast is served in the conservatory with a magnificent view over the loch to the Ardgour mountains. As well as cereals and porridge, there’s fruit salad, pastries, and a choice of full Scottish breakfast, salmon with scrambled eggs, or pancakes.

The three rooms are on the small side but are comfortable and spotless with everything you need.

We’ve now stayed twice with Paul and Aileen and hope to do so again. Thank you both so much.

Room Tip: The one at the front has the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
213
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a lovely break in Fort William. Braeside House is an excellent B&B the rooms are spotless and we had a beautiful view over Loch Linhe. Our hosts Aileen and Paul made us feel so welcome it felt as if we were staying with friends rather than somebody we had never met before. There was everything you needed in your room and a large choice on the menu for breakfast including home made bread. This was our visit but it will not be our last. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to all our friends, relations and to anyone looking for a relaxing break. John and Eleanor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is an intimate place with the best view of Fort William and Loch Linhe. It is several steep streets above the High Street level, and therefore extremely quiet but it's a fairly short descent into town for shopping or dining. Aileen and Paul are the warmest of hosts and very knowledgeable about the region -- ask about hikes, restaurants, food in general. The breakfasts are the best I've had at a B and B. The rooms are kept clean, well provisioned, and your hosts are solicitous -- you wouldn't want for anything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Braeside House is located on the top of a hill. If you need an orientation look for the big "Higland Hotel" on the hill... just above is the "Braeside House"!
So first point that counts: Better View than everybody else!
How to get there? If you are fit and with small luggage there are stairs easy to find from the end of pedestrian zone in High Street. If you are not fit there is a local bus (No 47 I guess) from the rail station. If you have a car... Well however you will arrive, best ask Aileen and Paul for the best way!

At Braeside House you get a nice, simple room for yourself. I only can describe Room No1 but there was plenty of space for hang up your clothes and also a lot of cupboards to deposit your things. The beds (in No2 are two beds) were soft and very relaxing. If you need more blanket I will find them in the room or easily ask Aileen and Paul for it.
The bathroom is small and simple but absolute clean and ok!
May you need a little practise to handle the shower but how to use it is written down in the perfect information map which is deposit in any room.
Is there nothing to criticize? Yes there is but only small things...
Because the tube is fixed you can't shower a part of your body. The shower-rule is "All or nothing at all". Second "not so nice": In Room No1 there is no desk at which you can write or type anything. Anything else to mention on the "black list": No!

As everybody mentioned here, let's talk about the fantastic breakfast.
Forget the breakfast buffet in Hilton, Sofitel or other 5-Star Hotel huts...
Paul (Mr Master-Cook) and Aileen beats them all!
Breakfast is not big but perfect!
Take your own cereals and order one of the four hot meals for breakfast!
Sometimes there will be a "surprise of the day" not to found on the menu but Aileen will tell you.
My personal tipp: Test the porridge! It's perfect and extra fluffy!!!
Take some fresh fruits and some homemade muffins and believe it or not: Even for German taste the homemade coffee is excellent!

Anything else?
Yes! There is a lot of parking space in front of the house and a nice garden with lots of chairs for relaxing around the house. Sit there, relax and have a wonderful view about Fort William and Loch Linnghe!
However, forget all "pro" I counted because the most important reason why you should visit Braeside House is still missing... And that reason is:
Aileen and Paul!!!

I say: "Thank you for your hospitality Aileen and Paul!" and you, my dear reader...
You have to test it!

Room Tip: Can't say anything about prices because Braeside House was booked by a travel agency for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zollknecht106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

By far one of the best B&B I have stayed in I highly recommend this place to anyone, I recently had a wonderful stay here. Aileen and Paul where really helpful and even great company and really welcoming. They have a beautiful B&B in a Great location with lovely scenery and the room was really comfy and clean, I would love to got there again some time soon it is great for a break away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgf1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked for 2 nights and we had a great stay, we arrived at 9.30pm to a warm welcome and a glass of homemade wine which was just what we needed after a long drive, Paul & Aileen made us feel so welcome we felt like we were staying with friends, It is a lovely location & immaculate inside, rooms are comfortable & the breakfast with homemade bread toasted was delicious.
We loved it so much we have booked to stay the same time next year when we do our charity climb up Ben Nevis.
Thank you for having us

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is probably the best B&B I've ever seen:
Position is wonderful, with a really good see sight, in the morning as well as in the evening, hosts (Paul and Aileen) were so lovely, they gave us such a warm welcome with a big smile, and provided us really useful tips on where to go for a good pint and dinner.
Room was big enough, clean and with a big window, bathroom was clean and fully serviced with any kind of shampoo/conditioner/shower gel/whatever you may need.
breakfast room has a lovely sight, and breakfast was really yummy, and if you want, you can really set you up for all the day; they have such a big choice (cereals, muffins, yoghurt, plus the proper main... scottish breakfast, pancakes and other things I can't remember at this moment. I had pancakes with banana and if you want you can also add nutella (didn't do that, just to not feel too guilty :) ).

Anyway, STRONGLY RECOMMENDED, if you visit Fort Williams, and they're not fully booked, trust me, do not search elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Property: Braeside House
Address: Braeside Argyll Road, Fort William, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing