We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT! BEST B&B.”
Review of Gowan Brae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gowan Brae House
Ranked #33 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! BEST B&B.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is the best B&B we stayed in during our entire trip. After leaving a disappointing experience at the Best Western, we wandered the town and ended up at Braeside House. Unfortunately, Aileen, the hostess, had no rooms, but invited us in and called Gowan Brae to see if they had space. She then sent us down the road to...
The best B&B of our trip. Jim and Ann were extremely friendly and welcoming. The view from our room was amazing. It was located only a short walk from town-center. The turn of the century house had been fully renovated; this was cleaner than even commercial hotels, actually than any other lodging I've ever been in; the tea and biscuit plate was perfect; the bed was comfortable; the heating worked well; the bathroom, though small, was well-arranged; the TV was easy to use and had all the (quite necessary) BBC channels. Gowan Brae was quite the anecdote to our night before. I even loved their shower gel.
The breakfast in the morning was spot on, though my partner and I puzzled over the dram of whisky served with her porridge until Ann explained later about cranachan.
My partner had some trouble adjusting the shower temperature, but I found it perfect.
Also, and perhaps most importantly, there was a stuffed bear on the bed as decoration. When my pregnant partner developed an affection for the stuffed animal over the night, Ann simply gave the bear to her. This will be my child's first stuffed animal. What price can you put on that?

Room Tip: Any room here is the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    32
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the Ben Nevis Inn.
The Host,Jim gave us a warm, friendly and helpful welcome.
The room was clean and warm with all the usual facilities of a Bed and Breakfast.
After a very good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast, well presented and very tasty, served by the hostess Ann who did a grand job and we enjoyed chatting with her.
We were all set to walk to the Ben Nevis inn to pick up our car as we had got a taxi back but Jim offered us a lift which was very kind.
All in all an excellent stay and I would recommend it .
If we need to stay in Fort William again I will certainly give Gowan Brae a phone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Basque Country
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Fuímos el 19 de enero tres amigos y es el mejor hostal que hemos visto en toda Escocia. La habitación (nº3) es preciosa, grande y acogedora, con buenas vistas. Eramos tres amigos y la habitación solo era para dos, pero nos pusieron una tercera cama para dormir los tres juntos, aunque nos ofrecieron dos habitaciones si queríamos. La atención fué familiar desde el primer momento hasta que nos marchamos, con cierta pena la verdad. El desayuno fué excelente, un completo desayuno escocés bien hecho y muy rico. Esperamos repetir en nuestro siguiente viaje a Escocia, que será solo por las Highlands. Desde Euskal Herria, un fuerte abrazo si lo leeis.

January 19 we were the three friends is the best hostel I've ever seen in Scotland. The room (no. 3) is beautiful, large and inviting, with good views. We were three friends and the room was only for two, but we put a third bed to sleep the three of us, although we were offered two rooms if wanted. The attention was familiar from the first moment until we left, with some worth the truth. The breakfast was excellent, a full Scottish breakfast well done and very rich. We hope to repeat on our next trip to Scotland, which will be only for the Highlands. From the Basque country, a big hug if you read it. Sorry for my bad english.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Koldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick Garrison
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on our way to the Isle of Harris. The rooms were clean, well appointed, with a homely atmosphere and we enjoyed a splendid breakafst to send us on our way the next day. Due to ferry cancellations we stayed again on our way home and the location so close to the town made acquiring an evening meal simple. A warm welcome was received from a friendly owner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The rooms were clean, I had a room with no ensuite but it was not far away and it was not a shared bathroom. Great views from my room and very clean. Only 5 mins to town which was very handy. Great breakfast and the owners were lovely. Offered to wash our clothes and dry, it came in very handy. Would recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2812kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Very good breakfast. Rooms are quite and clean. Friendly Owner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this B&B for the second time! We stayed there last September! The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is good, you can choose from several things and if you would like something what is not on the breakfastlist, they will try to provide it! Ann & Jim are very kind. Jim has lots of good ideas and both are prepared to help you out. They really do a lot to satisfy you! Jim tried even to talk Dutch, hahaha! It was big fun to stay here! Ann & Jim, thanks for having us again and many greetings from my mum. She was really happy with your Dutch lettre and we stayed awake, hahaha!

Kind regards

Hans & Ingrid (& mum)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans and Ingrid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#20 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#12 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowan Brae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowan Brae House

Property: Gowan Brae House
Address: Gowanbrae Union Road, Fort William PH33 6RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Hotel Class:3 star — Gowan Brae House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gowan Brae House Hotel Fort William
Gowan Brae House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing