We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“three night stay”
Review of Gowan Brae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gowan Brae House
Ranked #31 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“three night stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

we stayed in this b&b in fort william for three nights in late october and we were impressed by the cleanliness the friendly welcome and the breakfast menu,we also had the front bedroom overlooking the loch which was superb , the owner leaves a littloe card in your room each day for your breakfast choice, and i can highly recommend the fish cake and the muffin, overall my wife and i were very pleased with our stay and if venturing that way again would stay there again

Room Tip: they only have three ,try and get one with loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
85
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Gowan Brae is a lovely spot halfway up the hill above Fort William. It has a great view of the loch, yet is close enough to walk into town for an evening meal. The rooms and house are spotlessly clean and the breakfast will set you up for a good day's exploration of the Western Highlands.

Room Tip: Try to get on at the front of the house, overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our lands end to john o'groats cycling epic.
Wet and cold Anne made us very welcome when we arrived and provided us with tea and toast, and even did some washing and drying for us. What more can you ask.
Thx again for looking after us so well. We made it by the way.
Adrian + fellow cyclists

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed two nights recently in Aug in preparation for the hike up Ben Nevis, weather wasnt the best during the time, though Mr. and Mrs Clark's warm hospitality was a nice contrast to the stormy weather.

Room was cosy and well furnished, truth be told every time we were out, the thought of returning to Gowan Brae was very comforting.

You'll get a headache from Breakfast, thanks to the wide array of options and i'lladd to the growing praise of the host and hostess's culinary skills. Breakfast is served in the small dining room on the first floor, decor wise, i shant spoil it but suffice to say you'll learn abit more about Gowan Brae if you look through the displays.

Mrs Clark is also a big help! Suggesting walks that we could take around the area, and giving us titbits on Fort Williams.

To non drivers, the B&B is located on Union Road, its directly accessible via a staircase near the end of the town centre, to the left. But if you are carrying heavy luggage, best to take the road first, its still steep but easier than the stairs.

Once your done with that the staircase provides a quick acess point to town where there are plentiful food options and a supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were pleased to stay at such a quaint & clean B&B and our room had an excellent view of the harbour. Our hostess made a dinner recommendation & even called to make our reservation; very thoughtful. Breakfast was a variety of choices & our favourite was a delicious & interesting treat - 'crannachan'...a nice change from the usual. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were tired when we got there at the end of a long days walking on the West Highland Way and we were greeted at the door with a "wee dram". At that point we know we'd made a good choice.

Our hosts were friendly, helpful and full of information. The food was very good and in particular the home made fishcakes with an egg on top were exceptional (and the vegetarian option looked good too). The bedrooms were comfortable and clean. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conwy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stopped for first night before walking GGW. Hosts very nice people and so friendly. Room good and spotless, beds very comfy and bathroom clean and spacious and well equipped, breakfast amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayjack31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 111 in Fort William
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#39 of 111 in Fort William
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowan Brae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowan Brae House

Property: Gowan Brae House
Address: Gowanbrae Union Road, Fort William PH33 6RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gowan Brae House Hotel Fort William
Gowan Brae House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing