We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and homely B&B”
Review of Gowan Brae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gowan Brae House
Ranked #31 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and homely B&B”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way to Isle of Skye, friendly hosts, clean rooms, hearty breakfast, excellent value for money, (keeps you fit walking up and down from the town centre though) would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
85
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Finished the WHW and were welcomed with a wee dram. Nice Edwardian house, rooms clean and comfortable. Convenient for town and good recommendations for eating (we went to Cafe Mango which did Thai and Indian and was very good). The much mentioned Cranachan, and the Fish Cakes went down a treat for breakfast. The icing on the cake was getting our bags taken down to the train station in the morning. Very welcome touch. Great value for money.

Room Tip: If you can room at the front there are nice views of Loch Linne.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before the start of the GGW. Very friendly and our room was lovely. Nice touch having corkscrew and full size toiletries in our room. Breakfast was great, my vegan husband was more than happy with his tomatoes and mushrooms on toast. My breakfast cranachan is something I will try. At home! The location is perfect for exploring the town car free!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Home comforts included wine glasses and corkscrew, Maltesers hot choc and Taxi biccies, standard sized toiletries (none of that rationing miniatures business).
Lovely host, did us an early breaky due to morning flight.
Breakfast choices where great, I had a fish cake & poached egg and my girlfriend had cranachan (cream, oats and fruit), both lovely tasting and lovely looking!
Good central location, with parking and quiet street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Welcoming and clean guest house in a good location. We were walking the Great Glen Way and this was an ideal starting point. At £50 for 2 people including breakfast very good value for money. My only negative point would be the pillows - I didn't find them easy to get comfy on!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thegoodnamesaregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on a spontaneous weekend away. Lovely room with a fantastic view! We were greeted warmly by the owner, and she gave helpful suggestions about where to eat, and plans for the next day (both of which we took and enjoyed!)

Breakfast was delicious - very generous portions of hot fresh food, and a lovely selection of options to choose from. Will absolutely be recommending this to any friends or family who are planning a visit, it really made our weekend away great :)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights while doing a triathlon. The bikes were very kindly put in the shed on our arrival and retrieved after breakfast ready for our nice cycle in a blizzard. Breakfast was excellent and carefully cooked to order, mushroom free! Room was a good size, warm and very clean. Great value and great hosts!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_weegie_burd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 111 in Fort William
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Ardlinnhe Guest House
#39 of 111 in Fort William
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowan Brae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowan Brae House

Property: Gowan Brae House
Address: Gowanbrae Union Road, Fort William PH33 6RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gowan Brae House Hotel Fort William
Gowan Brae House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing