We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conny & René are wonderful! Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardblair Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardblair Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Conny & René are wonderful! Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were welcomed at the door by Conny & René, our room was beautiful (we had the Golden Suite). Ardblair is a stones throw from town, it took us 5 mins to walk to the Crannog Seafood Restaurant. Breakfast at Ardblair was lovely and they worked around our plans which was lovely and contributed to a very chilled out weekend! René was so kind in telling us about the history of Fort William and suggested things to see and do! A wonderful couple! I would recommend staying here to anyone. Many thanks Conny & René :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

When I arrived at this B&B I was wringing wet, having been tramping around in the pouring rain for over 30 minutes thing to find it. It may be only 5 minutes from the station, however the lack of street signage at the start of the walk to the B&B made things difficult from the outset.

Once located, Fassifern Road proved to be largely unsafe for a pedestrian dragging a suitcase - the footpath is either too narrow or non-existent. On the basis of the bad weather, and unsafe pedestrian access, I eventually gave up, returned to the railway station and got a taxi.

The house is located at the top of a flight of garden stairs (no handrail).

I was greeted warmly by my hosts, and got help with my luggage. I was, however,none too happy about being questioned about what time I wanted breakfast the following morning, while I'm standing on the carpet, still in my wet clothes and the water dripping off them. My host could see me rummaging around to find my travel documents (to check bus schedule for following day) but didn't offer to give me time to get settled first before giving him this information.

Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before - how on earth are you supposed to know what you'll feel like eating for breakfast 12 hours in advance? I agree with previous comments that this system must be for the benefit of the proprietors rather than their guests.

Having said that, my breakfast (porridge) was well-prepared and tasty.

As I require a walk-in shower I was accommodated in the Pink Room. The water from the shower was wonderfully hot and the water pressure very good. The bathroom is very spacious; the bedroom has enough floor space for one person - two people, plus luggage, would struggle in that room.

The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

On the day I left, I needed an early breakfast (0630) which wasn't a problem for my hosts and I was driven to the railway station to ensure I arrived in time for my train.

I'd consider staying again.

Room Tip: If you are considering walking from the railway station with your luggage - don't. Get a taxi i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronwynH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Ardblair for a long weekend of winter mountaineering in early February. Both Rene and Conny were so accommodating and friendly. They made us feel like we were at home and nothing was too much trouble. We needed early starts because of the short days so they made breakfast for us at 7:15 each day, informed us of anything we needed and always showed an interest in our activities and chatted to us each day about our adventures. The room was well heated, spotlessly clean and very hot water. Proximity to the town center is superb, literally 2 minutes - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were a family of 6 adults travelling together en route to the north of Scotland. This b and b in Fort William was comfortable with large bedrooms and very comfortable beds. Our bathroom didn't have a shower but did have a lovely deep clawfoot tub. The breakfasts were good, although the breakfast room was quite small. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. I would recommend this b and b.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Owners were very pleasant and quite funny. Excellent breakfast served. Rooms were spacious and clean. Location a bit tricky since road construction was underway - situated on a steep hill but car park is available.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

While touring the UK with friends we spent a night at the Ardblair Bed & Breakfast Fort William. All in all it was fantastic. The rooms were clean and well maintained, the breakfast was fantastic, car parking was available, the location was fantastic etc etc. I would totally recommend this place. Ian & Judy Australia

Room Tip: If you plan to stay at Fort William, stay at the Ardblair B&B, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in the Golden room. The room is very spacious and comfortable. Very convenient location, only 10 min walk to the railway station and bus station, only 2 minutes walk to Crannog Seafood Restaurant which is very good at seafood.

The hosts, Rene and Conny are very nice and really good hosts. On the morning we left, we need to catch up train at 7:30am. They don't mind getting up early to cook breakfast for us and even drove us to the train station. Really lovely hospitality.

Room Tip: Golden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace_szetokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#54 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#28 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#14 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardblair Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardblair Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ardblair Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ardblair Fassifern Road, Fort William PH33 6LJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Ardblair Bed And Breakfast Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing