We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Glengyle House

Glengyle House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glengyle House
Ranked #81 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was exactly what we needed after cycling the West Highland Way. We couldn't have asked for a better place. We had the warmest of welcomes. Everything was immaculate. The room was spacious and comfortable, the shower really good, the lines bright white and the towels soft and big!

The owners couldn't have been more accommodating. They made space in the garage for our bikes and let us leave our luggage with them until 3pm the next day. Even more impressive though, the breakfast menu did not contain baked beans so cheekily (and not expecting them to serve them) I wrote baked beans if possible when I handed back our menu choices. I was delighted to see they had actually gone out their way to get us beans. Perfect!

I really recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Fort William. Only a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and 100 yards from the old finish of the WHW it is perfect in every way. Thank you for such a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meitiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After trawling the Internet looking at all of the B&Bs on offer in Fort William this seemed a cut above the others for the price and upon arrival we found this was definitely the case. It was immaculately clean and well presented, the finish in the whole place was of high quality right down to the Denby cups used at breakfast. The owners couldn't do enough for us even drying our wet clothes after climbing Ben Nevis - they were friendly without being imposing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for a night and what a great place! Spotless, and with everything I needed for a relaxing night including biccies which I tucked into before bed - despite having eaten a delicious meal at nearby Brown's restaurant - and then felt guilty about in case I'd got crumbs everywhere. Mildred was very welcoming and Craig was really helpful re bikes/the outdoors etc. Breakfast was tasty and fulsome. You really should stay here... it's GOOD!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for a night, and we found the place immaculately kept : really clean, crisp bedlinen, tidy rooms and general area, which were really important to us.

We booked for 2 rooms and while the one we slept in was just perfect : spacious and clean, the one my parents-in-law stayed in downstairs (also faces the main road) , they complained that the bed was slanting one side and they did not have a good sleep there that night.

Breakfast was good, and we were impressed with the WMF cutlery! Nightly rates very reasonable. Would recommend, just not the room downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbabies-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The host was friendly and helpful. The room was large and a large bed and a very large bathroom although the shower recess was quite small. The cooked breakfast was nice. We found that you could not keep the window open because of traffic noise and this was a bit of problem because we were there in very hot weather. Once the windows were closed though the traffic noise was no problem.

Room Tip: We had the room at the front of the house with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this delightful Guest House. Absolutely fantastic. Facilities are the best we have encountered and the couple who own it and run it are delightful. Cannot recommend it enough. If one coy ld award it ten stars we definitely would! It has parking too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrwfainbinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our last night on the WHW having walked the 16 miles from Kinlochleven. An extremely attractive B&B, spotlessly clean, spacious and kept to a very high standard; run by a very friendly couple. Having walked the 96 miles of the WHW we were very tired so appreciated the very comfortable bed and the excellent breakfast. Highly recommend if you are looking for B&B in Fort William.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
0.8 mi away
Inverlochy Villas
Inverlochy Villas
#54 of 111 in Fort William
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengyle House

Property: Glengyle House
Address: Nevis Bridge, Fort William PH33 6PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glengyle House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing