We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Distillery Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Distillery Cottages
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wow! It looks like you cant please everyone all of the time... Or maybe a bit of trip advisor abuse??? We stayed in cottage 3 at the begining of June and i think this may be the same one mentioned below with the loose bathroom shelf as we also noticed this but really would not have seen it as such a negative issue that we'd bring it here! but hay ho :-) Anyway we honestly found the cottage very clean and an overall pleasant place to stay for what was a very reasonable price!!

Room Tip: E|asy website to book from
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebella186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We arrived at No. 4 Distillery Cottages for what should have been a two night stay. However, we were extremely disappointed with the standards that met us on arrival at the premises so consequently stayed only one night although we had paid for two. Whilst we appreciate fully that this was classed as a budget cottage, we in no way expect that to mean "not clean", but unfortunately that was how we viewed the interior. The cottage held no redeeming features to us and we would like to remark on the following;-

The cooker and microwave were both dirty and the stainless steel splash back areas looked extremely grubby.
The kettle and toaster didn't even look clean to use, although we had to resort to boiling the kettle as there was no hot water through the hot taps anywhere.
A very old dried up air freshener was stood on one of the kitchen windowsills and a very tired and dirty vase of artificial flowers on the other windowsill.
The shower both overheated and under heated and the rail didn't actually work to hold the showerhead any higher.
The flooring as you entered the toilet room was badly stained black and didn't look at all inviting. Sink taps and soap holders over the sink clearly hadn't been cleaned for some time.
The glass lampshade in the lobby way was filthy and looked held together by cobwebs.
A considerable layer of dust was even evident on the kitchen waste bin, the clothes rail in the bedroom and on any pictures hung to the walls.
The bedding looked like it had come from the local charity shop.

We certainly felt that the Scottish Tourist Board's 3 stars in recognition of "A very good standard of facilities & services" was somewhat out of line.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fishing08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Although the cottages are easy to find and have parking, we were disapointed. Not sure that the cottage had been properly cleaned before we took over.The bed looked as if the duvet covers had not been changed for weeks and there were dark hairs on the second pillow, yuk. The bed was very uncomfortable and sounded like sleeping on Weetabix! I have never stayed anywhere so uninviting! A family would have problems getting showered as the emersion heater needs to refill after 2 showers. No hand towels supplied in the bathroom and the shelf needed to be fixed as toiletries could slip off. Pity, as the cottage is well placed and could be so different if cared for properly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

We needed a dog friendly base to explore fort William & Malliag & these did the trick. Very compact but has everything needed for a short romantic break that welcomes dogs. Close to town & east access to walks, Etc.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RicksterinTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

stayed her for weekend with the mrs was great place free to come and go as we pleased had everything we needed very clean comfy cotages be back again and will recomend to friends

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

cottages are a great place to stay near town centre they very clean and well equiped we had family of 5 staying and had plenty room and animal friendly for all dog owners that want to take pets with them the owner staurt very helpful and friendly and carol the cleaner stopped often to have a chat so friendly was lovely to people like that i find in hotels you are just a guest but here was so welcoming i would recommend to anyone thats is looking to stay in fort william we will definaitly return here . also its close to many lovely walks

Room Tip: all cottages are quiet the area is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

excellent service and lovely place no problems what so ever i would recommend this to all my friends and family what a great service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.8 mi away
Shelbeck B&B
Shelbeck B&B
#14 of 29 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Villas
Inverlochy Villas
#66 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
2.3 mi away
Thistle Cottage
Thistle Cottage
#2 of 5 in Torlundy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distillery Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distillery Cottages

Property: Distillery Cottages
Address: North Road | Nevis Bridge, Fort William, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Distillery Cottages Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing