We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic as always”
Review of Lochaber Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochaber Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic as always”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just spent two glorious weeks at lochaber lodges ,full family getaway ,11 in total , frank ellen and suzy who we consider part of the family , lodges as ever perfect in every way , frank cannot do enough , he showed us the fairy glen which my children loved !! weather was a1 with one wet day , temps better than the shivering south !ben nevis soft play excellent for the kids (and adults) bowling to , cant wait to go back to this jewel that we have discovered , cant thank frank enough for the warm welcome , suzy for entertaining my little boy !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from 20th - 24th May and had a great time. Our lodge was the Escape model, which is the cheapest one. It was absolutely lovely with everything you could possibly need and more.
We had an issue with the bed but when we mentioned it to Frank he went immediately and bought a lovely mattress topper which solved the problem.
We were able to watch calves chasing deer in the fields next to the park and hear the cuckoo every evening, quite rare nowadays.
The park is about 5 miles off the main road, on the edge of the Caledonion Canal, so perfect for an away from it all break. We had a lovely time and would recommend it without hesitation.
Frank is excellent, very helpful and a great source of local information. We will most definately be back. Thank you Frank.

Room Tip: All the lodges are different, but the quality is exceptional in all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We've recently spent a week in a Monarch Duo lodge.
We were the only people on the park, so it was really peacfull and the perfect place for a quiet break away from it all. The lodge was lovely - full of everything we needed, and had the most beautiful views of the Nevis range and the canal. We also had many birds visiting the lodge, and a few deer on the dry evenings.
There are plenty of nice walks from the lodges, and Fort William is a short drive away.
Frank couldn't have been more helpful, and we would definitely recomend Lochaber Lodges!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Monach Lodge for 3 nights, which was very spacious for 2 the two of us. The setting was perfect and the view of the canal and Nevis ranges was fantastic. Frank was very welcoming and offered great advice for nearby attractions. I would really recommend this for people wanting self catering accommodation with the feeling of getting away from it all.

Room Tip: They all have great views
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We booked three nights at Lochaber Lodges for my family of five and two friends over Easter Break. We were offered a Glendale Lodge which included three bedrooms (double w/ en-suite and four singles across two rooms), kitchen, and living room area. The two other bedrooms share a toilet/shower. Although these accommodations are tight, they fit our needs perfectly.

Frank and his staff are nice and helpful. The lodges are clean and well kept. The location has scenery that is tough to beat and is only a short drive from Fort William. We found it equally easy to reach our other Highland destinations from Lochaber Lodges.

This is a great option for families. I felt comfortable allowing my children to use the playground facilities and explore the property. It was great to be able to put the kids to bed, but still have an area in which to socialize with other adults in our party. If travelling with a baby/toddler, they may need to sleep with mom and dad, otherwise you'll have a VERY tight squeeze in the double after placing your crib.

I would definitely book here again for a visit to this area of the Highlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in March. We paid a very reasonable price for the week and stayed in the Escape lodge. We had a brilliant time. The views from all the lodges were lovely. All have views of Anoach Mor and Ben Nevis and views to the canal below. The lodges are about 7miles from fort William, but if you are looking for a getaway lodge away from everything these are ideal! Frank who runs the site is very friendly and can't do enough to make you feel at home. I would recommend these holiday lodges to everyone. We will be back again next year!!!! Emma & Sean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejt456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here for a week in March. What a great find - it was perfect.The lodge was spotless and very well equipped. On site, Frank was very friendly and informative, nothing was ever too much trouble. The site is clean and tidy, the lodges have wonderful views across the Caledonian canal towards Aonach Mor & Ben Nevis. This is a great base for exploring the Highlands, there are plenty of things to see & do in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will definitely be booking again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
16.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
7.6 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochaber Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochaber Lodges

Property: Lochaber Lodges
Address: Moy Farm | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lochaber Lodges; a select development of luxury self catering accommodation to rent near Fort William, in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. Our family run site offers you all the personal touches for a great getaway in a stunning location, with the assurance of Visit Scotland 4 star accreditation.We are situated 7 miles from Fort William on the banks of the Caledonian Canal with uninterrupted views over Aonach Mor and Ben Nevis. This is the ideal location for a tranquil and relaxing break or to rest after a day’s sightseeing or sampling the numerous activities within the Outdoor Capital of the UKOur new luxury lodges are fully equipped for all year round occupancy, with double glazing and central heating for the colder winter months, and external decking to enjoy the benefits of the long daylight hours in the summer. Our luxury lodges also include flat screen TV/DVD to lounge and bedroom, integrated dishwasher and microwave. free Wi-fi access, and ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochaber Lodges Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing