We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem of a B&B !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melantee B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melantee B&B
Ranked #53 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem of a B&B !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying twice during the summer season and I must say I definitely stumbled across a little gem. The rooms are kept immaculate with fresh, crisp laundry each day and because the B&B is situated just outside town there is very little noise so one can experience a good nights sleep. Nothing is too much trouble for the generously-hearted Flora who ran me off weather forecasts, bus timetables, coach & ferry links to the islands. However, the coup de grace was the most delicious cooked breakfast ; such a variety of choice and perfectly cooked and presented; it would set you up for the most active of days in the mountains or hills. On one occasion I had to catch an early morning train so would have missed breakfast but it was no trouble for Flora to prepare me a well stocked packed-lunch bag for my journey !
Thanks again for making my stay in Fort William truly memorable !

Room Tip: Ask for a breakfast table closest to the front window and enjoy the beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneticDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hostess has to be the nicest person in the world. She will go out of her way to accommodate you. You know that this has to be a great place when a local Scottish tour guide stayed here on his vacation.

The outside is deceiving. It is rather plain, but do not judge a book by its cover. The inside is very nice, and the view out the front window is out of this world.

Breakfast is another typical great Scottish breakfast.

There are four rooms. The only downside is that none of the rooms are en suite. My wife initially complained, but the owner is so nice that even "she who must be obeyed" liked her stay here.

It is a little far from "downtown" Fort William. We came by train. I would recommend a car. There is a hotel with a restaurant within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room on the water side. This is the same side as the street, but there is no traffic at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatH95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed just one short night on my way to do the Three Peaks 24 hour challenge. Flora picked me up from the bus station, which was an unexpected courtesy. Lovely garden view, very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. Biscuits and tea tray, and bathrobes! Fantastic for the price. Its a nice walk along the Loch side from town. I would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauragrace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melantee, Owner at Melantee B&B, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to be able to pick you up from the coach station. Yes the views along the loch side are fantastic always changing Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Fabulous welcome to the B&B when we arrived.
Shown to our rooms which were clean and had everything required for our stay.
Our room was a little small for a double but was stated that it was normally a single room.
The view from the rooms were spectacular.
Breakfast was also superb.
Would love to stay again. Price perhaps a tad expensive but average for fort William.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales,Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Don't be put off by the exterior the view from house to Loch is for ever changing.
FLORA you are a wonderful host. Everything clean, tidy and a good size breakfast, tasty. Older style but not a distraction. No stairs, great! Comfortable bed and room size good, nice place for a single. Very nice garden area at rear was a treat.
Good parking. Will stay here again, even though Fort William has huge choice.
Flora sent me to Alexandria Hotel for evening meal, great choice.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Mrs cook is a very welcoming landlady, the rooms were all very clean, no e suite but at £25 you can't expect it. The best breakfast I've ever had with proper Heinz backed beans, non of your aldi tat here! The living/dining room was just like sitting in your granny's house, spotless clean with family pictures and a china cabinet full of ornaments.
Would recommend to anyone after top value for money, best breakfast ever, and a lovely host.
But if Alister is there, don't let him touch the telly.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 look over the lock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198Oldandgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this place and would stay again. It was not on suite and no TV in the room. The front room smelt a bit damp or something similar. The style was 1980s but I liked it as it had everything that was important: efficient, polite host, clean, lots of local information, receipt already written, you could choose your breakfast from a wide selection and it was well cooked.
Quilted scented toilet paper, everyone remarked how good a sleep they had in the comfortable beds. View great and went for a walk on the pebbly beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jassoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.0 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#19 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shelbeck B&B
Shelbeck B&B
#14 of 30 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#17 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inverlochy Villas
Inverlochy Villas
#67 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melantee B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melantee B&B

Property: Melantee B&B
Address: Melantee Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melantee B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Melantee B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing