We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good starting point for touring the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alltonside Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alltonside Guest House
Ranked #72 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good starting point for touring the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

It's a bit far off if you want to walk into the town centre (about 3 km), but it's a good place to stay if you're touring the area by car. Our room was quiet and clean. During our four-nights-stay the bed linen was changed after two nights. We had an en-suite, however, on one occasion it took a while for the shower water to become hot. The cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Im from malta and i booked to a b/b near Alltonside 6 monts before. I was veryyyyyyy dissapointed because as soon as we arrived She told us that the booking was cancelled. Thanks to Alltonside that she welcomed us to her b/b which was nice without a view but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabel2137518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The room was quiet and comfortable, with an small attached room with a bunk bed for our son. The beds were comfortable. Wall-to-wall carpeting was outdated and slightly moldy feeling, but otherwise a basic place to spend a night or two. The breakfast was edible but uninspired- traditional English. Vegetarian option on the menu, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghosttoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Altonside Guest House is situated on the main A82 road into Fort William about ¾ mile from the town centre with a great view over loch Linnhe. The room we had was clean and had an en-suite, both were very compact, but then, so was the £50 price we paid for the nights B and B.

Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and top-ups were available to help yourself to from a tray in the hallway. All guest rooms are on the ground floor. They have very thin walls and other guests could be heard through them. Overall, during the night it was very quiet. Only one room faces the main road and had a loch view. The others face the house either side and had no views to speak of, but then suffered no road noise. A good nights sleep was had and the beds were comfortable.

The nearest hotel and bar was a 5 minute walk along the road beside the loch; very scenic. Otherwise it was a 20 minute walk into Fort William.

My favourite element of the stay was the freshly prepared fruit salad at breakfast and the room price. It was a good value stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed there for three nights only because Liz couldn't accommodate us for the whole week. The service was excellent. While we were out hiking the Monros, she found us a similar B&B for our next 4 nights. Her breakfasts were so tasty and kept us hiking all day. They start with cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit salad and orange juice. Her Scottish breakfast included a hearty serving of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, toast and coffee. It got uncharacteristically hot for Fort William, so she provided us with a fan so that we could sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view can get hot when the sun pours in from the west in the afternoon and early evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

This B&B is slightly out of town but worth the walk! We called up when we got off the train at Fort William for directions and the owners came and collected us (including dog!) brilliant!!!

When talking to the owners we asked them directions to the pet shop as our dog had cut her paws doing the west highland way and needed some hiking shoes - they said they were going right past and gave us a lift there too!!! Which it turned out was fantastic because I'm not sure we would have found it otherwise.

The owners also helped us out with ice for our loch-side BBQ and glasses too :-)

The breakfasts are fantastic and the landlady has no problem with extras )we were very hungry the morning after climbing Ben Nevis!) yum! I think the main point is that nothing was too much trouble and you rarely find that.

Overall a fantastic stay, lovely owners and would definately come back. Thank you for a wonderful 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybean112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had an overnight stay on Easter 2012 in this family run guesthouse. Our Host was very friendly and helpfull. Good Brakfast and great view on the Loch Linnhe. For dinner a Steakhouse, Indian Restaurant, fish and chips etc in Fort William. (15 - 20 min footwalk) neg. was that we could hear the other guests through the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MITONRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#23 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Campfield House Bed and Breakfas...
#88 of 120 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
Blythedale Bed and Breakfast
#52 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#18 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alltonside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltonside Guest House

Property: Alltonside Guest House
Address: Alltonside Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alltonside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alltonside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltonside Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing