We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alltonside Guest House
Ranked #56 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed four nights at this Bed & Breakfast and could not have felt more welcome by the host.
The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was more than amble to keep us fueled up !
Access to Fort William and surrounding area was easy and there was a great view across the loch from the front of the B&B. Would return here if we were ever up in that area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgray10059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at Alltonside as a group of three adults in a family room. We stayed the weekend of the 13th Sept whilst climbing Ben Nevis.

First impressions of the B&B were that it was very quaint with beautiful views over the loch. As others have said, it could do with a little renovation but you can see that the owners have started to do this. The owner Liz was so warm and welcoming. She was very informative regarding local amenities and we were able to have anything we wanted from the breakfast menu.

The rooms were comfortable with central heating, tissues, body lotion, tea and coffee, TV and en suite. The en suite was small but it served its purpose and there was plenty of water.

The following night we were locked out of campsite and turned up at Liz's door at 11.30pm!! She kindly let us stay another night and we were very grateful!! She was most lovely and nothing was too much trouble!

For the price if the room and the fantastic hospitality it really is value for money. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rao433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First impression was bad, acceptance very impersonal. Room is small, very wet, bad smell was in room all the time. Bathroom small, wasn't just clean, bad feeling, when you are taking a shower. Breakfast is normal, similar within others B&B. Time for breakfast is punctually determined (from 8.00 to 8.45), which yeah in any case too short and very constrictive. Majority B&B on Scotland is better. Distance from a center is 20-30 mines on foot, which is acceptable.

Room Tip: no tips, same conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed in 7 different hotels during my stay in Scotland. This hotel was one of the two, I spend more than one night in, since I with my friends were going for a ride with Jacobite steam train. The plus there was plenty of tea and coffee, breakfast was enough.
The cons, the cheapest looking shower and bathroom i saw so far. No basic toiletries except soap. The smallest rooms, almost everytime leaving the bathroom I had to try not to take the TV out with my elbow.
Also the hotel is about 40 min from town centre if going on foot, so only ok for driving with a car or people,l who like to walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Liz was very welcoming and willing to answer any query. The room was the smallest we had stayed in on our 4 week trip in Britain with the smallest bathroom. The bed had nice linen, with a top sheet as well as a duvet which is nice,not every place has a top sheet which is what is standard where we are from. It had a handy location, lovely view from the dining room over the Loch, breakfast was good (the form to fill out could be laid out a bit better) but we got exactly what we wanted. The mattress needs replacing and the bathroom could do with some attention. Parking and access was good. We enjoyed our stay and I think it was a fair price for what you got.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed at this guest house for four nights, very warm, cosy & welcoming. Owner was wonderful & nothing was too much trouble. Our room was at the front of the bungalow which had views of the loch & mountains, breakfast was fab, full cooked breakfast & cereals, fruit & yoghurt if you could manage it. Tea, coffee, milk & sugar supplied daily, if you ran out of any of these you could help yourself to more. Room cleaned, towels & bedding changed daily. I would highly recommend this guest house. A big Thank you must go to the owner for super stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flintlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Had a fantastic four nights stay hope to be able to stay for longer next year, I could not fault the B&B, clean and warm and friendly and a fantastic base for exploring the highlands. Breakfast was good. Just need to say how you like it cooked nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Will take this opportunity to thank them for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.1 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#25 of 111 in Fort William
176 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alltonside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltonside Guest House

Address: Alltonside Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alltonside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alltonside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltonside Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing