We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great caravan site”
Review of Lochy Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochy Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

myself and 2 young daughters, stayed here 10/04/2014 for 3 nights, great base to sight see like mallaig, skye, morar, etc, staff where very friendly, site is well maintained , we are already looking to book cabin for sept,..

Room Tip: caravans are great valve and very warm , look new, plenty parking and very close to fort William tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiceyboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on our park. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed the Caravan and the area so much. We hope to see you back in September with your daughters.
Kind Regards
Anne and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I loved this place. The caravan my boyfriend and I were staying in was very clean, as I'm sure the rest of them are, and we had no problems at all. We stayed here for one week and loved every minute. So much to do up here, places to go. The bridge in the Harry Potter movies is nearby, as is Ben Nevis. Lovely walks and views, and plenty of activities to do. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

HI Gemma,
Apologies for the lateness in replying to your review. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The cleaning staff have to take the plaudits for keeping the units 'spic and span'. They know the standards they have to work to and what visitors expect in the way of cleanliness and we very pleased that you noticed it.
We hope it is not too long before we can welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
Anne/Campbell and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Lochy in December in a log cabin. I would highly recommend this little gem of a holiday park for a holiday base exploring The Highlands of Scotland.

The accomodation was absolutely spotless ( I have stayed in many hotels and holidayed in holiday parks both in The UK and abroad, where so often this has not been the case) and was equipped to a very. high standard. The log cabin was very warm and cosy having a nice sized lounge area to relax in. It also had a 'proper' comfortable sofa ( as opposed to the hard and uncomfortable sofa's that you so often find in caravans) and a real gas flame fire that kept the lodge nice and warm. The beds were all made up with high quality thick duvets and pillows, the kitchen was well equipped with scrupulously clean decent sized quality saucepans and other equipment to self- cater. The Bedroom's were quite a good size too, bigger than a caravan, all had heating and the double bedroom had ample storage space to hang clothes up and stow luggage away.

The park is a quiet and relaxing park a few miles from Fort William with spectacular veiws of Ben Nevis and the surrounding area. I feel the park has everything a family would need for a get away from it all break. Lochy has a nice little play park for the children, a laundrette -that is not over priced and a shop ( open in the main season) . If you want constant entertainment, pools with flumes and bars etc then this may not be the park for you, however, we liked the fact that it was a quiet holiday park!

The customer service I experienced was second to none. The owners are friendly, helpful and really appear to care about their customers and the park itself. I did not have any problems whilst staying here, but if I had I would have been very confident that the owner's would have sorted any issue out quickly and effectively. Being an idependently run park they are not governed by a 'computer says no' mentality and can deal with any issues as they see fit.

The area around Fort William and The Scottish Highlands generally is absolutely breathtaking even in the depths of winter. However, in order to get the most out of your holiday, you will need a car to get around and explore places! This part of Scotland is remote and the weather ever changeable, so you need to be prepared and come with a fully waterproof and windproof coat, waterproof boots or shoes, an umbrella, hats and gloves especially in late autumn or winter time!

Fort William is a nice little Town to visit. It has quite a few smaller independent shops, outdoor camping shops and a few high st chains of shops. If you need to buy food to self -cater then there is a big Morrisons in The Town and a Farm Foods near to Lochy. If you fancy a burger then Fort William also has a Mcdonalds. Malliag is around 50 miles from Lochy and is a nice little place to go to. The Fish Market in Malliag serves up wonderful locally sourced fresh seafood and fish for lunch or dinner. The food was lovely, but a little over priced ( £ 35.00 for 2 adult fish and chips and a child's portion at lunchtime with soft drinks) and the staff were not friendly in The Fish Market which was off putting. Inverness is another good place to go - It will take around two hours in the car from Fort William and has the usual array of High Street shops. In the spring and summer months you can enjoy walking and outdoor activities as well.

One last point - The majority of ATM machines in this part of Scotland will give you Scottish bank notes. The Scottish bank notes and English bank notes are legal tender across Scotland. However, if you live in England or Wales you will need to change any Scottish bank notes you have back into English Bank notes once you arrive back in England or Wales as most shops and attractions will not accept Scottish bank notes as payment for goods or services.

If you stay at Lochy you will have a fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: You do not need to worry about taking your own bedding. Lochy's is of a very high standard and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugaboo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are most pleased that you had such a great time in the area and your comments will be of assistance to others hoping to visit this part of Scotland in the future. We do try and provide good, quality accommodation but we do place a massive emphasis on cleanliness as this is imperative to all our visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind Regards

Campbell Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here with our young family for 4 nights at the end of October. It is a quiet site in a great location from which to explore the area. We stayed in one of the Woodbury lodges which are excellent. The weather want great during our visit but the lodges seemed much warmer than caravans. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Amongst other things we visited Glen Coe, Glen Nevis and drove to Morar from here. Fort William is very close by for shops etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review. You are correct in your assumption that the lodges are warmer and cosier than the caravans at certain times of the year. This is why we close the caravans down by the second weekend in Oct. This is an excellent area to go walking, bike riding or exploring in and it looks like you had a really good time during your holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Campbell brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Have stayed at Lochy now for a number of years when in Fort William, both with & without my Grandaughters.The children are safe can play on the field without us being worried as we can always see them both. There aren't any cars driving around the site as they have designated parking at various places on the site.
The log cabins are very, very clean and welcoming as are the caravans, the site is quiet so there are no "idiots" keeping people awake.
Always receive a friendly welcome from Mr & Mrs Brown. Hoping to be there again in Feb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review of our park. We do try our utmost to keep the facilities in tip top cleanliness and credit must go to the staff for this.
We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Campbell Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Cleanest and best organised campsite we've ever been to. Not a spider's web or draughty toilet. Well designed, built and maintained facilities; friendly, helpful and welcoming. Great location by river and walks but near town, good "personal space", quiet and green. We'll be back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our camping park. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities were to your liking. All the staff are very much aware of just how much good, clean well maintained toilets/showers and well cut/collected grass areas matter to visitors. Your comments will be passed on for them to read as all the credit for this must go to them.
We hope it is not long before you visit us again.
Warm Regards
Ian and Anne Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lochy Holiday Park is a perfect holiday park where in you can hire a stationary Car-a-van or you can come along with your own car-a-van. Available car-a-van are perfect for a stay of a small family/friend group. Self catering vans are fully equipped with a small kitchen platform & necessary utensils. Gives an homely experience far away from home. You can plan for any day trip from here e.g. Ben Nevis, or any other climbing trips. The park is located on the banks of River Lochy. You can spend time on the river banks, have camp fire enjoying your wine & dine. Great Place to spend a whole week and not just a week end.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amol8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian5252, Owner at Lochy Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our park. I am glad that you enjoyed the spaces around the park and in particular the River Lochy at the bottom of the park. It is a very peaceful and tranquil area to walk or sit and look at Ben Nevis and the surrounding mountains.
We do not have many reviews from such far flung places as Mumbai but we hope you enjoyed your holiday with your family in this particular part of Scotland.
Kind Regards
Ian Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
#3 of 33 in Fort William
198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gairlochy Holiday Park
Gairlochy Holiday Park
#23 of 33 in Fort William
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochy Holiday Park

Address: Camaghael, Fort William PH33 7NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £40 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lochy Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochy Holiday Park Hotel Fort William
Lochy Holiday Park Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing