We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and value”
Review of Rhu Mhor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhu Mhor
Ranked #51 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great quality for the price in Fort William. The breakfast was very nice, with option of the full Scottish breakfast or a continental breakfast. Very friendly owners, and we felt warmly welcomed. The room was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom clean, and the garden beautiful. Just a short walk down to the center of Fort William (10 minutes). We recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

The rooms in Rhu Mhor are slightly dated (although the bathroom was new), but this suited the place very well. Rhu Mhor is a beautiful old house situated in a breathtakingly beautiful garden. Ian and his mother are very courteous hosts. Breakfast was delicious and at 11 pm we got served tea in the lounge (the only place with wifi). The lounge is a special room full of dolls and antique. Ian is a real scotsman proud to wear his kilt every day.

Fort William in itself isn't that great, but we were only passing through, so we didn't mind.

Only remark: the hallway near our room smelled of second hand tobacco smoke.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Rhu Mhor provided a perfect start to our GGW walk. Ian and mum made us very welcome and provided perfect hospitality. Rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was the best on the whole walk with the porridge the finest I have ever tasted. Slightly dated, but this suited the style of the house and the hosts. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Views better from the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This is the first place we stayed during our trip The Great Glen Way. The house is lovely (the garden path to the entrance especially). Our hosts were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was great. The one small minus is that the rooms have shared facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenteRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The guesthouse is located at the top of the hill not far from the end of the West Higland Way trail. Its a rather neighbourly area and most houses appear to be B&B's. There is a shortcut through their garden to the center of town, about 7 minutes walk. Lots of restaurants, a park, and a local grocery available.

A tiny flight of stairs led us to our ensuite bedroom. Double bed and an extra twin bed. Beds were on the small and firm side. Extra pillows, plush clean smelling towels, coffee and tea makings with cookies! No telly in the room, which was good if you're really on vacation. But wifi available if you insist on staying connected.

Breakfast was superb! The " waiter", Ian ( que horror! ) was very helpful and friendly, a real host. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stoped here after we finished GGW. Ian & mother was very helpfull.
The rooms was nice and comfortable clean, the hospitality tray was well stoked
Nice sized bathroom clean, lovely shower after finishing walking I wallowed.
Good sized Breakfast very nice, asked what you wanted at the table Ian dressed in scottish tradition very nice setting. Location close to town centre but still quiet . Others have complained about the hill and no TV.you are in Scotland who wants to watch TV. I recomend this G/H

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJTDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Rhu Mhor is a great example of traditional Scottish hospitality.
My Sister & I stayed here at the start of walking The Great Glen Way. We arrived in Fort William on the later train and it was 10.15pm by the time we arrived. Ian provided a lovely warm welcome and chatted with us with genuine interest. Although we did not meet Ian's mum, Ian said that she still plays a major part in the running of the B&B - at 87!! The whole interior of Rhu Mhor is spotless. Time may have appeared to have stood still in the public rooms, but it evoked happy memories for me. Why modernise a style when it it beautiful to begin with? Bedroom & en-suite were comfortable and clean. We had a fabulous view over Loch Linnie with the trees below. Breakfast was the best of our week's walking. Great porridge, lovely cooked food and home-made Scotch pancakes (by Ian's Mum). Clean table linen with napkins too. Lovely original wooden floors in dining room. China tableware - perfect!
Ignore any previous comments about the steepness of location, Fort William is built on a gradient! Rhu Mhor is 5 mins walk from the train station. Ian is a lovely warm person and I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the house - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_bell63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu Mhor

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rhu Mhor Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing