We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This has got to be the best hotel I/we have ever stayed at.
The hotel is amazing, he service is second to none, the staff are fantastic, the location is superb, the food brilliant, nothing is too much trouble.
we have stayed at some fantastic and luxurious hotels around the world, this is the best.
Jane Watson is the hotel manager, she was brilliant and runs a fine hotel.
And if you have an helicopter she will let you park it on the rear lawn !!
we went to check it all out for our wedding !!!!!! and got stuck there with the snow, I can't think of a better place to get stuck !

Room Tip: book the "Kings suite" we have stayed here a few times now. It has it's own lake and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your wedding celebrations here at the castle. Hopefully we will see you for an anniversary celebration in April.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    77
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
113
317
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had a wonderful one night stay at Inverlochy Castle Hotel. The public areas are very grand but perhaps surprisingly also giving a sense of informal welcome and in no way intimidating. The staff undoubtedly play an important part in this sense of informal but professional welcome and comfort. Also outstanding was our experience of dining - a request for an off - menu dish was received with a pre-preparation consultation by the head chef and presentation of an unforgettable dish. The remainder of dinner could not have been faulted - indeed we doubt if it could have been bettered. The open door policy allowed the music provided by the excellent young pianist to filter into the dining room and the music continued in the main lounge/drawing room to accompany our after-dinner drinks. Her choice of much melodic and beautiful Scottish folk music was well balanced by her choice of other music over a long period of playing - all from memory. The opportunity to order dinner in advance might perhaps be better highlighted - it depends on a careful reading of the menu in the room.

Breakfast provided a wide choice of high quality local produce, all beautifully presented - our location at a bay window overlooking the loch (lake?) added to our enjoyment of this meal.

Also noteworthy was the response of the staff to some minor difficulties. Any working establishment can develop some minor issues - the response to these marks the truly professional and this was what we experienced - instant and friendly resolution of a couple of difficulties we reported.

All the staff we met demonstrated the same unpretentious and friendly care to provide the service for which the hotel is renowned.

Altogether an exceptional stay - our regret is that it could only be for one night on this occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Let me first of all thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am sincerely pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will be able to welcome you back, perhaps for a longer stay in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel for a very special treat unless you are a multi-millionaire. Situated just outside Fort William, it is an oasis of splendour and luxury. The reception rooms are sumptious and our bedroom, large , beautifully furnished, with fresh flowers and fruit,and a view of Ben nevis from the w indow was lovely. The food is excellent and interesting and the staff very attentive. Wine is expensive but of very high quality. I would love to return and cannot imagine anyone not loving this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Inverlochy Castle Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear about our guests experiences. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Having just returned from a perfect weekend at Inverlochy castle I am worried that I won't be able to write a review that gives the whole experience the praise it deserves.
The weekend involved a gourmet experience hosted by Albert and Michel Roux jr. which obviously was a fascinating experience for a "foodie" like myself, as they are truly charasmatic, intelligent, approachable and wonderful gentlemen. However the staff and hotel only added to my delight, to make this a weekend one that I will bore people about for many years to come.
OK I will admit that I found the bar prices on the high side (£11.10 for a gin and tonic did seem a bit steep) however this is the only fault I can find with the place.
The staff were without exception extremely efficient, helpful and hard working. The rooms were spacious and exceptionally clean and everything seemed to run like clockwork.

Many thanks again to all involved in making a stay at Inverlochy castle an extremely special experience.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that this hotel has any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Gourmet Weekend here at Inverlochy Castle with Albert and Michel Roux Jnr. I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to the team, and I look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Beautiful grounds, (loved the Highland Cows). amazing service and very good food.
The room was so large and beautiful and the Bathroom had a huge fireplace. We stayed in the Prince Suite.
The Castle would take care of anything that you would need or want.
Both me and my friend commented upon leaving, we have not been that relaxed in years.
A must visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, but I think all rooms not near a service area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GratefulTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear how we made you feel so relaxed and at home. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager,
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have never had such a lovely time. The staff was amazing, our suite was like a royal suite with a dressing room bigger than most hotel rooms and a bedroom overlooking a fantastic view from both windows. The bed was so comfortable we slept 9hours straight! We were treated to coctails and snacks by a roaring fire, and then had the best dinner i think i have ever had the honor of eating. Our room was spotless and the beds made in the morning, and then turned down every evening. I truly felt like a queen on a royal visit the entire time. We will definitely return. This would be the perfect place for an anniversary or honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, General Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of Inverlochy castle. Everyone certainly deserves to be treated like a Queen on occasion
I look forward to welcoming you back to the castle on your next royal visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Guys, Scotland is not the best place for the hotels. But overestimated Inverlochy Castle beats everything. They did not say in advance they there is dresscode (in the middle of nowhere!) and you need a tie and jacket to join the dinner. Taking that there is no alternative you have either to take hotel's dirty shirt, tie (more dirty than a shirt) and jacket (only for big fat genlemen) or to have your meal in a room that at least needs serious renovation. I took hotel's dress awaiting great food as a compensation. Food was average. Staff seemed to serve to the Queen yesterday and has no incentive to serve to regular guests.
And the nicest for the desert: making up he room for the night housekeeping used... OUR OWN PLASTIC BAGS THAT WE PACKED OUR STUFF IN to put into the bins!!!! Exellent.

Room Tip: Our room wss named single/small double but it is not so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at Inverlochy. After receiving your complaintdirect to the hotel today I have responded to you personally and am more than willing to discuss this further as you have now highlighted some issues that were not in your original complaint to the hotel. As I have highlighted in my email, the dress code is clearly stated in our terms before you can make an on line booking and we then also follow this up with a confirmation again stating the dress code.

Our jacket and ties which we lend to guests are regularly checked and cleaned and I apologise for this not being the case. There is no excuse for this and as with the housekeeping it is completely unacceptable.

I am very disappointed to hear that you thought the food was average, our chef Phil Carnegie has only this week received his Michelin Star for the 3rd straight year and he takes great pride in the dishes he creates. As with the service, Inverlochy has long had a reputation for providing outstanding service and our ultimate aim is to ensure all guests leave the hotel having experienced Inverlochy. We as a team are very upset to hear that you did not enjoy your stay but thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable information. Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss this further on the email address sent to you or if you prefer to discuss this on the phone please let me know and I will call at a time convenient to you. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing