We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive property; whether dated or charming depends on you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Attractive property; whether dated or charming depends on you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent only one night at Inverlochy Castle at the beginning of our trip to the Highlands over New Year's. The castle itself is beautiful and we found the welcome and service to be very good. In our opinion, Fort William is not a great destination, although admittedly we did not spend a lot of time discovering its highlights. The food at Inverlochy was very good (lunch, dinner and breakfast) and descending the grand staircase for pre-dinner cocktails was fun. Travelers should note the jacket and tie dress code for men. The furniture is period and not particularly comfortable in the main sitting area, but it is certainly in keeping with the castle's history. Our room was comfortable and nicely sized, although certainly not modern. Little things like a missing "H" for the hot water handle in the bathroom caught our attention - not a big deal, but for the price it seemed like some of these details should be taken care of. We would recommend staying at Inverlochy for a night, but that was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Castle and grounds did not fail to impress; we are very proud of our kitchen at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    77
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
113
317
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just spent the New Year at Inverlochy Castle (which is not really a castle, more of a stately home). For Americans, the best way to explain this is to say that it is time spent at Downton Abbey. The service was extraordinary. The food excellent. The range of activities broad and interesting. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosenblumtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Scottish weather did not stop you from exploring and that you were able to partake in our activities; all the staff enjoyed celebrating the New Year with yourselves and hope to celebrate with you again this year.
Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was here for my daughters wedding the weekend before Christmas. The whole experience was quite magical. The staff were so friendly ,the rooms were beautiful,the food amazing. We all wish we could re-live the experience . In spite of our sumptuous surroundings we felt very comfortable and at ease. My daughter and her husband had a wonderful start to their life together.

Room Tip: We occupied a variety of rooms including the king suite. They were all lovely. The suite was spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moomin870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you and the newly-weds enjoyed their Wedding experience; we do aim to provide a warm and homely atmosphere for all and treat all guests as friends. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit and hope to see the newly-weds celebrate their anniversaries with us.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had an amazing time living the life of luxury at a beautiful hotel. Will most certainly return in the future. The staff for excellent. The food was magnificent and the rooms were huge!

Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Swelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; we are very proud of our team and food at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I were in Edinburgh on business and took a side trip (long side trip) for 1 night to Inverlochy Castle. The ride up through Glen Coe was spectacular.
At check in we were a bit early so we walked the grounds, took some photographs, and just lost track of time.
Our room was beautiful, the people were so nice, it was just a great experience.
We paid for DBB which means Dinner, Bed and Breakfast (had to figure that one out), but being a picky eater, I really was having a tough time choosing from the menu. Very fancy stuff that my wife said was incredible. The chef came out and offered to make me what I wanted. I was so afraid that I insulted him, but he was very nice about it. Meal was great! Thank you so much.
In the end what this place gave me and my wife was a lasting memory of a perfect day and night.
Thank you Inverlochy Castle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ODDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Castle and grounds did not fail to impress; we are very proud of our kitchen at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, our chef is always more than happy to work with our guests to deliver that memorable meal. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I and another couple booked for one night in November and we were not disappointed with the experience. From the setting to the interior, from the service to the food from the room to the atmosphere - all fantastic. I do question the reviews on this website and what people expect but having been to many fantastic locations across the world - this rates in the top 10! Don't believe the poor reviews on this website - get to Inverlochy Castle - you will be more than impressed.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what your room is like, spend time in the public areas, they are beautiful and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinefdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavour to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was our 4th visit and it was as wonderful as ever. The staff are efficient and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was nicely furnished, big comfortable bed, lovely sheets, great shower ....
We find Inverlochy a home from home, not that we live in a grand house! As my daughter said, "It's not like a hotel, it's as if we live here and just have some lovely people looking after us."
For me, no other hotel matches the service we've always had there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halcyon_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our newly refurbished bathrooms and that Inverlochy Castle did not fail to impress, I am so glad that all the staff looked after you during your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing