We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt spoilt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We felt spoilt”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When my wife and I booked this hotel with our two sons, we were all expecting a warm welcome, beautiful grounds and a wonderful time overall, but in terms of making us feel welcome, the Inverlochy castle and its entire staff took things to the next level. The cozy ambiance caracterized by the reigning peaceful atmosphere, warm fire, attentionate staff and wondeful music, made us really feel like guests in someone’s home, instead of simply being customers at a hotel.
One problem which often arises in many castles is this feeling of “things falling apart”, but this is a problem the Inverlochy castle was far from having from our viewpoint. Everything was very well maintained whilst still maintaining an air of tradition about it.
The manager of this hotel was also very active, attentionate and pro-active in helping us to find enjoyable activities not only around the hotel but also further into the highlands.
The only thing which we believe would make future stays all the more enjoyable would be improving on certain technological aspects such as replacing the currently used televisions by higher-quality image ones and especially by improving on the slow internet connection in the rooms, although we were informed that this was planned for around mid-March.
We would recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone visiting the Scottish highlands,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rttpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are happy to read that not only did we meet, but we surpassed your expectations of your stay with us; our staff are always very eager to offer advice on where to visit and what to do in and around the beautiful surroundings of the Castle and Fort William. We hope to welcome you and back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    79
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
325
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

All you would expect from a top Scottish Castle Hotel and more.

The surroundings are mystical and enchanting and could inspire the most cynical beings to creativity.

The interior is opulent and grand and yet it still manages to maintain an intimate feel.

The Grand Hall is very impressive with it’s wood panelling, log fire, imposing staircase and frescoed ceiling, it even has a secret door leading to the library.

The sumptuous sitting room is more delicately furnished with marble fireplaces and crystal chandeliers and is the ideal surrounding for sipping afternoon tea.

There is an atmospheric Billiard Room on the first floor, where we played a few games and felt like decadent, Victorian aristocrats.

There are two dining rooms, both beautiful but we had dinner and breakfast in the Red Room which is the grandest of the two.

Dinner is a very special experience, the surroundings, the staff, and the quality and presentation of the food are second to none. We had the most perfect evening.

At breakfast, the choice and quality on offer was exceptional.

Our Bedroom was lovely with a large bay window overlooking the grounds. All the nice touches you would expect from a five star establishment such as fresh flowers, fresh fruit etc. are here in abundance.
My husband liked the wall mounted, flat screen T.V. and I liked the fact it was disguised as a mirror.

Although we had no complaints about our room, I did manage a peek into the Queen’s Suite which is simply fabulous. So if you can afford the extra, this is the room to have.

We found the staff delightful, very efficient and knowledgeable.

All of the above does not come cheap, but if you are nostalgic for the high standards of a bygone era, appreciate quality, beauty and comfort, then look no further than the very special Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Room Tip: If you can afford it; chose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weecat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you kindly for your review and we are happy to read your descriptions of all our wonderful rooms; we always aim to provide the highest and most memorable standards for all our diners and it is nice to read that we met these expectations with you. All the staff at Inverlochy Castle look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent Valentines at Inverlochy Castle and it was faultless. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted at the front of the castle by a cheerful porter who offered to unload our car and this level of hospitality continued for the duration of our stay. The staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and we cannot fault any member of staff. Hotel manager was also lovely and warming. We stayed in room 10 which was lovely! Views out to the front of the castle grounds and on to Ben Nevis. Enjoyed afternoon tea in the drawing room followed by a lovely walk around the extensive grounds. We then had a lovely evening meal that was cooked to perfection. We were also treated to breakfast in bed with a lovely view of Ben Nevis. As a young couple we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is great to hear that guests have had a romantic stay with us over this special weekend, as Queen Victoria said “I never saw a lovelier or more romantic spot”. I take great pride in the team at Inverlochy Castle and I am happy to hear that they have left a lasting impression with yourselves as did your food. We look forward to you celebrating with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, had the lite lunch a very comfortable stay in the bedroom with radio tv etc. Hot water takes a bit of time to get to the tap, room 7.

The food lunch was very tasty and filling. the soup Delicious the sandwich and omelet excellent and all the nuts, home made crisps etc maybe try the afternoon tea looked very nice. breakfast was outstanding in presentation and taste and the amount
again excellent service.

Room is very large so is the bathroom nice touches TV in a picture frame bang and olufsen radio cd player black out curtains very good crisp linen on the bed plus a lovely turn down service slippers and cloth put out on both sides of the bed.

Service is the name of the game here and they have it down to an art.

Would stay here again.


The staff were very friendly knowledgeable and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellymallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our newly refurbished bathrooms and on the bedroom. I am pleased that all the staff made an impression and that our kitchen did not disappoint in all your meals, we are very proud of our team at Inverlochy and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

A few words will suffice to describe this gem: amazing and magic setting, top class service and rooms, outstanding food.
I was there only for one night, but I will make sure I go back and spend some more time at this incredible hotel. Everything was just perfect, from the room and it's comfort, the impeccable room service and an amazing dinner. Breakfast in the morning was even better, sitting by a window with an incredible view.
The atmosphere was cozy, classy. An incredible menu and wine list.
I wish I could go back more often!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8rmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent new year in the best Scottish fashion, ceilidh band,lone piper lots of scones as well as a taste of haggis and of course uisghe bagh (whisky). The service was professional but attentive and friendly with many special events including sheep dog trials, falconry & clay pigeons. Rooms were outstanding, full Scottish breakfast superlative and all in the shadow of Ben Nevis!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetravelling12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff enjoyed celebrating the New Year with yourselves and hope to celebrate with you again this year. We try to ensure that our activities over the festive period help to leave a memorable impression on all guests and we are glad you found them special.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent only one night at Inverlochy Castle at the beginning of our trip to the Highlands over New Year's. The castle itself is beautiful and we found the welcome and service to be very good. In our opinion, Fort William is not a great destination, although admittedly we did not spend a lot of time discovering its highlights. The food at Inverlochy was very good (lunch, dinner and breakfast) and descending the grand staircase for pre-dinner cocktails was fun. Travelers should note the jacket and tie dress code for men. The furniture is period and not particularly comfortable in the main sitting area, but it is certainly in keeping with the castle's history. Our room was comfortable and nicely sized, although certainly not modern. Little things like a missing "H" for the hot water handle in the bathroom caught our attention - not a big deal, but for the price it seemed like some of these details should be taken care of. We would recommend staying at Inverlochy for a night, but that was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Castle and grounds did not fail to impress; we are very proud of our kitchen at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing