We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the castle on our return from inverness where we found a gem of a hotel , but Wel done inverlochy you lived up to expectations a five star stay best of al were the lovelly walks on your castle grounds , thank-you for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank googles4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Castle and grounds did not fail to impress. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    77
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
113
317
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Enjoyed two nights here over the winter half term. We stayed in the gate lodge and it was perfect for our teenage kids. We arrived after a full day skiing at Nevis Range and on check in sat by the fire and enjoyed hot chocolate and cakes. A perfect welcome. The lodge was cosy a very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main house. A wonderful breakfast set us up for another days skiing which is only 5 minutes away. Dinner if formal but not stuffy. The food is prepared with such great care, beautifully served and overall a great experience. The entire staff looked after our needs in a friendly but professional manner. A treat with style. Thank you all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overthesea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, I am happy to read that you found your stay in our Gate Lodge relaxing and comfortable, Inverlochy Castle is situated in a perfect spot for skiing at Nevis Range or Glen Coe and I thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for the next ski season.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Never in a million years did we think we'd ever enjoy a stay in this fabulous hotel!! Yes it only came true because it was a gift and a "voucher" deal - still expensive but "do-able"
From the moment we arrived it was everything we could have hoped for! The staff are superb and as it wasn't very busy we were shown some of the large suites - they are indeed beautiful.
We stayed in the "Glencoe" - the views are delightful overlooking the mountains beyond.
As some have said, a Downton Abbey experience with the grand staircase and the opulent chandeliers. We didn't have dinner as well, it was too expensive but breakfast could not be faulted with attention to every detail and exceptional staff. The weather could not have been better and although Fort William itself is not a place I'd care to spend time in, the beauty of Glen Nevis, Glencoe and Glenfinnan closeby more than compensates. Only small downside was the late night sandwiches we requested - the bread was stale and the filling non existent. This was quickly rectified by a horrified William and we were not charged. Its maybe not for everyone (I can't think why) but I hope it never changes and remains the old fashioned beautiful serene hotel it is. I would hope to return some day

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are happy to read that we surpassed your expectations; our staff are always very eager to offer advice on where to visit and what to do in and around the beautiful surroundings of the Castle and Fort William and it is nice to see that you were able to do some sightseeing. We have taken your comments on board regarding your meal and thank you for bringing this to our attention, I am happy to read that this was rectified for you straight away. We also hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am struggling to articulate the quite exceptional service this Hotel offers it's guests.

If you read through the handful of negative reviews, the majority of them are regarding cost.

I hazard a guess that most guests prepared to pay upwards of £500 per night (Food and lodgings) are not worried if their Scotch costs £1 or £20 per shot, nor are they likely to find the presence of a Rolls Royce on the Hotel driveway "pretentious" or the wearing of a tie for dinning a concern!

It's important to know that this Hotel features in many world class and first class travel itineraries and is frequented by the wealthy from all around the world. (Take a look inside the visitors book!)

The attention to detail is incredible, from the hand patted butter, locally produced honey, the fresh fruit and flowers in the rooms, spotless windows, manicured lawns, the michelin dining experience, and amongst much much more, the best service I have experienced in any Hotel for many years.

Yes, this attention to detail costs money and following my 3 night stay, I decided it was best to just hand the card over and not look at the bill too closely!

You get what you pay for, and as others have said, it is worth every penny/dime/yuan/rupee!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you found everything was up to the high standards that Inverlochy is known for; we are very proud of the whole team at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

From start to finish a real hotel to savour, memories to treasure, food to throw caution to the winds over. Despite the bad weather, Loved it. We did get a room upgrade. Admittedly eye wateringly expensive - but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_v_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavor to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A really lovely hotel, it was like being a house guest in a private home - but an exceedingly grand one! The style is incredibly welcoming and relaxed, the staff were so attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Food was delicious. Wonderful for a special short break. Not cheap, but as a previous reviewer mentioned there are some special deals available on 'voucher' websites. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind review; we are very proud of the family feel we aim to bring to the Castle and I am glad that this shone through during your visit, I am happy to read that you found the staff and food up to the high standards we set and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the castle and were completely amazed at the high level of service and attention to detail. We were made to feel like the only people who we're staying there, despite the fact that it was full!
Surroundings are very luxurious and relaxing.... Absolute heaven!
A visit to the restaurant is not to be missed, the beef was sublime as was the lime ice cream and banana soufflé, worth every penny!
The staff could not have done any more to ensure that we were extremely well looked after.
This was the experience of a lifetime and we hope to return as soon as we can. Inverlochy truly is a hidden gem and absolutely fabulous in every way!
Thank you to all the staff for a superb stay in the princes suite... Just excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle. We are happy to hear that you felt treated so personally and that all aspects of your stay lived up to this; it is great to read your comments regarding your dining experience as we are very proud of our kitchen. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing