We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic afternoon tea experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon tea experience!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked the afternoon tea and had an wonderful experience, fit for a king and queen :)
We never had an afternoon tea before but we where excellent taken care of David who gave us the most exquisite service and took his time to answer all our questions about the british "tea-culture".
Everything was delicious from the little sandwiches to the fantastic tea (and I´m not a tea drinker) and the luxurious cakes. It´s so worth it price and a visit just to see the magnificent view, but make sure you´re hungry cause you are going to eat a lot of cake! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heléne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are happy to read that not only did we meet, but we surpassed your expectations of your visit with us; our staff are always very eager to offer advice and history on Castle and Fort William and I am Glad you found David helpful with all your questions. We hope to welcome you and back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    79
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
326
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My friend and I travelled to Fort William for the day, having booked afternoon tea at Inverlochy Castle. On arrival, we were immediately greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff and although we were half an hour early, it would have been no problem to serve us immediately. However, we decided to have a walk round the grounds and thoroughly enjoyed the pathways and walled garden in the lovely sunshine.
The afternoon tea itself was very memorable. The quality, quantity and variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes were excellent. The staff were very attentive and our teapots were regularly changed for fresh ones - not something I have experienced in many establishments before.
There was no sense of hurried service and in fact we were encouraged to sit and enjoy the ambience of the hotel throughout the afternoon.
When we were ready to depart, the manager immediately offered to telephone for a taxi for us, which arrived within five minutes to take us back to Fort William railway station.
Our whole experience at Inverlochy was very positive. I cannot understand the comments about staff being aloof and looking down their noses at customers, as we found everyone very helpful, friendly and efficient.
I intend to visit the hotel again with my husband, to experience another quality afternoon tea, and very much look forward to staying for a few nights at Inverlochy Castle in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHP655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us; we are very proud of our team and food at Inverlochy and so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and that you found the staff warm and friendly; all our staff are happy to answer any questions guests have and share our experiences of the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back on an overnight stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were invited to join a 50th birthday party for the weekend. The reality was that it felt as if we were stepping onto a movie set. The gardens and rooms (from dining, drawing, lounge, and bedrooms) were understated elegance. The meals totally scrumptious. A tip for a hidden treat - order coffee/tea in your room so that you can experience the shortbread that accompanies it. We are grateful for the opportunity to have experience such fine dining and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavor to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed only one night at Inverlochy Castle. Sorry we did not stay any longer. This is a stunning property, in all regards, consistently rated among the top hotels in the UK. I has stayed there once 15 years ago, and returned with my husband this time, only to find it better. We enjoyed every minute, apart from the bit where you have to prepay ...

I am surprised at some reviews, where customers are disappointed. This is an ancient building, featuring an atmosphere from times long gone. Expectations should not be for a Four Seasons or über luxurious, modern type of property. It does not need an update, in my view. High tech bathrooms would be misplaced here. We found everything to be perfectly maintained, featuring the highest level of quality.

It was quiet while we were there. As soon as we turned up, bellman came out to help us ith our luggage, as it should be. Check-in by the GM was a breeze, and there was no request of a credit card. We were given a tour of the castle, lounge, dining room, billiard, and whowed to Glencoe, which was just what we had booked.

We found Glencoe to be vast, with beautiful views over the gardens and loch, in mint conditions, with all the modern features that we expected, or more. Filled with books and magazines for us to read. Bathroom is admittedly not big, but still featuring a separate shower stall, and fitted with large size Penhaligon's toiletries, Blenheim Bouquet to be precise, which happens to be the fragrance I am wearing.
It was totally overheated, and we got on swithching off each of the 5 radiators, and opening all the windows.

The rain had stopped, and we got on a woalk of the beautiful grounds, with stunning rhododendrons. The walled garden is a highlight. Down to the boat house, we went rowing on the loch, something I had not done for well over 25 years.

You have to dress up for dinner. Right. We thought we would be bothered at the time of booking, and thought we would dine out. Checking on the dining offer in Fort William, we changed our mind, and packed jackets and ties. We are happy we did, save the hassle of travelling with those fo a week, only to use them one night. One because the dress ocde is enforced, which is good; second because the atmosphere is so chic, we felt up to the atmosphere.

Champagne in the lounge, beautifully furnished. Dinner by the window. Delicious food, well deserving the one Michelin star. Service could not be faulted.
Excellent breakfast.

Rates are high. Well, we found they were high all around Scotland, too high probably considering this is the middle of nowhere. But that's the way they are, and obviously, there are customers for these rates. All in all, we felt the value was delivered, and everything was up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Avoid if you expect international flavorless
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are happy to hear that you felt treated like Royalty and that all aspects of your stay lived up to this. We take great pride in our kitchen and overall dining experience and always aim to provide a first-rate service for all guests. I am glad you were able to explore the walled garden, it is the perfect time of the year now for walks in our grounds. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived at this lovely majestic place late Saturday evening 2 weekends ago. Our room was very pretty, the castle itself very pretty large drawing rooms laden with grand period furniture and the property surrounded by breathtaking landscapes and beauty spots. The service was impeccable and the food was divine. Very royal...However, the place lacked warmth or atmosphere, they did not have music playing in the background, we thought they should have at least a pianist or some 'recorded' classical music playing in the background to give it a bit of an ambiance during dinner. It was way too quiet for our taste. The food on the whole was excellent but we preferred the one at Hotel Du Vin in Glasgow, we found it to be more innovative. The dessert at this castle was a bit disappointing, especially the Valrhona, we certainly had better one elsewhere, there is room for improvement as far as the desserts are concerned. However, the chef was lovely, he came and chatted to us to make sure that all was up to our liking. Whatever we chose from the menu was scrumptious except for the dessert which was disappointing and there is still some room for improvement. The fish cooked especially for us the last minute prior to our departure was divine, could not be faulted and we would like to thank the chef for staying behind to prepare this delicious meal which left a great impression on our palates as we left the palace. On the whole was a great experience staying in this castle, although a bit too quiet, overpriced but worth it in my opinion. The staff were a bit in a rush to get us to check out early despite the fact that the palace was empty, hardly any customers, we felt that there was lack of flexibility especially that we had a late flight and were due to leave the premises at 5:00 p.m., but never mind, no harm in that, we still did check out as requested (which was a bit rushed and inconvenient and ended up having to leave the luggage in storage. We felt the service and food were better at Hotel Du Vin on the whole but this was a different romantic experience altogether.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us; we are happy to read that you found the property and surroundings grand and breathtaking, we are blessed with the location and are happy when guest get a chance to explore what the Castle can offer. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your meals overall and have passed your comments onto our Head Chef regarding the dessert so that he can look at them for the future; I can only apologise for the lack of music, we do have live music with dinner in every evening but occasionally our musicians call in sick and we cannot always get a replacement. We have the 11.30am check out time so that we can have the room fully serviced for our arrivals, however, we are always happy to offer an alternative for any late departure guests to accommodate them where we can.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A great loction tucked away in theHighlands a place to come to if you need to get away from city life!
Lovely large bedrooms with spacious bathrooms. Excellent sound systems in the bedrooms
Staff could have done with better presentation dandruff on shoulders is not a good look :(
The flowers in the reception area were supermarket quality :( The cloakrooms in the foyer area need a make over. Overall the decor is tired and needs a revamp to expect to keep its five star status
Staff were attentive but discreet Best bit : The walled garden!!

Room Tip: The Queens Room Spacious with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsobelYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all feedback. It is true that Inverlochy Castle is the ideal location to retreat and relax, our tranquil surroundings make this easy. I am glad you were able to explore the walled garden, it is the perfect time of the year now for walks in our grounds. In regards to the staff we always ensure that they are immaculately presented, the person in question has a medical condition which they are receiving treatment for. I am saddened to read your comments regarding our floral arrangements as we receive great compliments daily about the work of our in house florist.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We both found Inverlochy staff very aloof, stuck up and looked down their noses at us. We both felt uncomfortable by the constant over zealous attempts to 'help' us, I would not recommend staying here

Room Tip: At £550 per night pricey for a poor stay overall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am extremely disappointed to read your comments and I have to disagree with them. ‎ We receive many great comments and reviews with regards to our staff and their ability to make Inverlochy a home from home. Our staff take great pride in their work and in helping our guests get the upmost from their stay with us. I am fully confident in our team at Inverlochy and believe that everything they do is with the intention of making the guests stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing