We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Setting and Superb Relais Chateaux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield County
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Setting and Superb Relais Chateaux”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful Castle furnished with elegant fabrics and magnificent comfortable furnishings. Lovely grand hall that serves drinks, tea and light food throughout the day. We had the King's Suite which was a corner suite with majestic views from all rooms. Large sitting room and bedroom. Beautiful marble bath with tub overlooking view and dual shower. Two walk in closets. Service is well done but a little stuffy, especially the butler and wine steward. In room amenities were Penhaligan's; fresh fruit in rooms. Would have been nice to have fresh flowers as there are amazing gardens on the grounds. Wonderful grounds to walk around through all kinds of gardens including a walled garden. One of the chefs was picking herbs for our dinner. Dinner was excellent. Men must wear a coat and tie for dinner. Had all the ambiance and amenities you would expect in a castle.

Room Tip: Doubt if there is a bad room in this hotel. It is on a large property so noise not a factor. Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our refurbished bathrooms and on the bedroom. I am pleased that all the staff made an impression and that our kitchen did not disappoint in all your meals, we are very proud of our team at Inverlochy and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    83
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
118
335
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A hotel that one should visit at least once in one's life, and many more times if possible, is The Inverlochy Castle Hotel, Fort William. Everything, the location, the atmosphere, the comfort, the food, the staff, the rooms were just fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavour to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We planed just one Michelin star dining experience for our two weeks in Scotland.The choice was Inverlochy Castle near Fort William in the West Highlands.
A tree lined drive led to the ornate old castle and we were met and led to a nice lounge room for a pre dinner drink.afifteen minutes went by without anyone visiting us.Finally our drink orders were taken after a false start and much later they arrived.In the meantime relatives of Basil Fawlty came by at least three times asking if we would like to order.Each one was informed we did not have a menu.That did not deter the Fawlty team,another appeared demanding orders.We eventually managed after several requests to get the menu and finally a wine list.
It was an amusing hour or so,during which we finally got our drinks.
Things improved once we were led to the restaurant where were dined reasonably well and drank a fine 07 Cote Rotie.
The Michelin man was there for dinner though,after we had paid,and,foolishly did not delete the,so called,discretionary service charge.To have paid for such a poor experience was annoying.
No one bothered to farewell us on departure.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mishka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am saddened to read your comments regarding your dinner as we pride ourselves on the dining experience in Inverlochy Castle and apologise if you feel that you did not experience this and if this has shadowed your overall visit.
I would be very grateful if you would contact me on the email below at you convenience as I would like to discus this matter further with yourself:

janewatson@inverlochy.co.uk
01397702177

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked for a lunch whilst passing through Fort William, having recently been at their sister property at Cromlix. Instantly stunned by the amazing setting and grounds which are very well kept. The food was on par with what I would have expected from such a place however the service was well above that. Certainly one of the best lunches I've had in Scotland. My only criticism would be the need to update the interior decor - starting to feel a bit aged.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scohoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review, we are very proud of our chefs and Head Chef Philip Carnegie always strives for excellence. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay in the hotel which features beautiful scenery, well preserved and decorated castle, exquisite food and great service.

Room: we stayed in Glen Nevis, a tastefully decorated spacious room. We were lucky to have sunshine for most of our stay and the view from our windows to their colourful garden is unforgettable. Each room has its own wifi router which is helpful as there is no 3G connection in Fort William. Daily complimentary fruit and water is provided. Great privacy as it is in the corner of the top floor with a staircase leading just to it. The shower takes two minutes to fully come out. It might be a bit too ambitious to have a 20 centimetre shower head but no complain as the shower and bath are both comfortable.

Service: very helpful and friendly staff. Many thanks to them for noticing the ferry breakdown and took all the effort to find alternative travel routes which helped us to avoid disruption of our travel and the help to mail our extra clothes back home. There is no elevator so they take care of carrying all the luggages. They make it a worry free stay.

Food: perfect! From breakfast, afternoon tea to dinner. No downside at all from the table setting, menu design, taste, plate layout, variety and service. We took an hour slow walk in the garden between the main course and desert during dinner which was delightful. And we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious desert. It was a big meal so we were very happy about the mini break. The home made fruit and pistachio cookies served with the afternoon tea are delicious. And the staff is so friendly and warm as they packed up several cookies for our journey.

Hotel facilities: you can spend your whole day in the hotel without getting board. Games, books and the pool table would have kept you busy. The garden is very big and a natural beauty. You could also row the small boat on the lake.

Value for money: it is certainly expensive but you feel it is worth the money you paid for as instead of a normal suite you will get in any five star hotel, you get access to the full house and attentive service.

Room Tip: The hotel website provides photos of each room. Very helpful for choosing your rooms as each room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsChiefNiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased that all the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you go to Scotland do not miss this hotel. It is an amazing place with excellent service. The grounds are worth spending some time exploring. The hotel is worth the money even though it is a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 465Brenda1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle; we always aim to make our guests stay at Inverlochy peaceful and relaxing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your touring of both our grounds and the Highlands and we are always happy to give advice on what to do; thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were privileged to visit this castle and stayed in a tower room. Highly recommended due to the setting and the ambiance of the castle. High tea is a must. Wish I could go back!! Setting absolutely breath taking

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and I was not aware of a fitness room therefore the rating. Not due to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Inverlochy Castle; we take great joy making our guests stay at Inverlochy special and memorable. We are so happy to hear that the Castle has lived up to expectations and that you rate it so high, we always endeavour to deliver excellence. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
11.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
12.1 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Property: Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing