We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillview Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

These days, it's relatively easy in well-visited areas to find a nice B&B with a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast. What sets the Hill View apart from the rest (aside from, among other things, a view to die for and scrupulously clean accommodations), is its proprietors, Jane and Joe, with their extroverted peronalites and obvious delight in ensuring each guest's comfort. Our group of four actually altered our itinerary in order to stay an extra night because we simply couldn't pull ourselves away from this little gem of a place and our lively conversations with our hosts. My (single) room was attractive but rather small, and I had to keep my suitcase on the floor, but the bathroom was spacious and airy. Good parking and easy to find on the main road (altho the light over their sign was turned off one evening and we drove right past it). If you're thinking of staying someplace else in Fort William, THINK AGAIN! Hill View ticks all the right boxes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Hillview Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here one night as a stop over from Inverness to Stirling. The room and bathroom was very spacious but we were on the bottom floor in the front. Other's might have smaller rooms but possibly due to the fact this is 17th century crofters cottage. The view was nice - yes there is a road - but pretty much all lakes in Scotland have roads next to them and you are literally a stones throw from the lake. The room, bathroom, and home was very clean. Because it was just a quick stay over we left before breakfast began but Jane and Joe made up a tray of food for us so that we would have a good meal in us before we left.

One thing - it can be hard to find - GPS likes to send you up a hill and not down the road following the lake. One thing the website does not explain is that you must continue out of town (you will feel as if you are going too far) about a mile to a mile 1/2 you to find the B&B. There is no house numbers - FW only uses the names of the B&B so if your lost you need to know the closets B&B/location when you call.

Room Tip: Be aware rooms upstairs maybe smaller because of the style of house. If you need/like bigger rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potterkd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for the second time and it was lovely and comfortable. Jane and Joe always warm and welcoming and the bedroom was cosy and spotlessly clean,the breakfast excellent as usual. Our room overlooked Loch Linnhe and it took us approx 25 mins to walk along the lochside into Fort William. Highly recommended as a good base for touring the highlands.Good car parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I would just like to say that in our 16 day visit to the UK we (my wife my son his girlfriend and myself) stayed in Hotels and B&B s as we travelled. We stayed at Hill View Guest House for three nights. I would have to say that this was the best B&B we stayed in we totally injoyed our experience there. From the welcome we received from Jane and Joe to the room being changed dailly to the wonderful breakfasts and also their hospitality. I recomend this accomodation to everyone travelling through this region it would have to be the best.
Regards Geoff and Debbie Phillips from Aberglasslyn NSW Australia

Room Tip: worth the stay all rooms are well equiped and very very clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lovely, spotless guest house. Have stayed before and will stay again, always made very welcome, Jane and Joe are a very friendly couple, nothing is too much trouble for them. Beautiful views over the loch to the hills from their patio where you can sit and admire them. Easy parking and well kept garden. Such kind people when one of us was ill and saved the day. Always cheerful and smiling. Can recommend this guest house highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As a regular visitor to Fort William we always choose to stay at Hillview Guest House for its ideal location, lovely clean rooms and hearty breakfasts.
It's such a friendly place with stunning views over the loch to the mountains and is ideally placed for exploring Fort William, Glencoe and the lovely west coast.
Fort William has some great places to eat out and the owners always know where the best places are.

Breakfasts always freshly cooked and served up with a view across the loch come rain or shine.
The owners Jane and Joe go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one.

The rooms are clean well appointed and offer a perfect night's sleep ready for the next days walking, climbing or relaxing .
Despite being on the main Fort William to Inverness /Glasgow road (which does make it easy to find) it's quiet and peaceful with no traffic noise in the evening.

We have stayed in many guests house's and hotels in the area but Hillview is the one we return to.
Give it a try I doubt your be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lakesMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

For three of us it was our first visit, but for our intrepid biker it was his second, and we were all made to feel very welcome indeed.
We had rooms 5 and 6 - maybe not that big but magnificent views, clean and comfortable.
Towels changed every day. Great breakfasts, Joe!
Had good meals at Brewers Fayre in Fort William, and if you only want to walk from Hillview then you can have an excellent meal at the Clan Macduff Hotel.
Thank you, Jane and Joe, for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillcairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#24 of 111 in Fort William
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
3.4 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 2 in Corpach
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Guesthouse

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing