We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inverskilavulin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inverskilavulin
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is our second visit to this location.and the first time we stayed in a lodge " Beinn Bhann." was
very comfortable well equipped with stunning views of the nevis range .we had nightly visits from the pine martin family who ate all our toasted peanut butter and jam sandwiches.


Thanks for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil16071949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith M, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Phil & Theresa - really glad to hear that you enjoyed your second visit with us at Inverskilavulin - hope its not too long before we see you again. Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed her with husband and two boys aged 5 and 7 and the dog for Christmas. The lodge was very clean and well equipped, if you need anything the owners house is a stones throw away to ask, they are more than happy to help. We loved out stay. Would defiantly go again. Clear day you can see Ben Nevis sitting on sofa out the window.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCALEGLENLOY, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments you posted on Tripadvisor, we are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make you feel completely safe and secure. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Kind regards
Edith Mainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We - a party of four - stayed at McClean House from 25th May 2013 for one week.

McClean House and Campbell House form two halves of a large and imposing property. Inside, we liked the stylish, generously proportioned bathroom and shower room, and the open plan kitchen/dining area/lounge. The furnishings were contemporary, attractive and comfortable throughout. Bedrooms offered plenty of room and storage.

The location of the house was ideal for us, with a beautiful stream running through the estate and glorious views from the lounge, front bedroom and picnic tables. Access to the property is via two miles of lightly trafficked single track road. This is in good condition and completely navigable, but rubbish drivers (like me) may need to exercise caution.

Fort William was around 15-20 minutes drive away for shopping requirements. More importantly for us, the house was well-situated for accessing the incredible walking available in the area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tannhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith M, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feed back, we look forward to seeing you again at Inverskilavulin.

Best regards,
Edith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The lodge was perfect, very comfy, homely, practical and with a feeling of luxury. ideal for a family of four, we have two young children who loved it here. The view from the main living room of the Nevis range was stunning, with Nevis itself peeking out over the trees on the slopes of Glen Loy. The River Loy was 5 minutes walk away. The location, 5 miles from Fort William is ideal for getting about and popping in to town for shopping. We also made a day trip to Mull from here to see White-tailed and Golden eagles, with the Lochaline-Fishnish ferry about 90 mins drive. For the butterfly enthusiast, this is a perfect base, with Chequered Skipper 5 mins walk from the front door and Pearl-bordered Fritillary and Green Hairstreak as well. We also had a Pine Marten come every night to feed on grapes and biscuits we put out! We lived in Scotland for 5 years and toured round a lot, and Ive been visiting every 2 or 3 years for the past 30 years as well, and I can honestly say this accommodation and location was one of the best combinations Ive stayed in anywhere in Scotland. Our trip was at the end of May 2013 and we had great weather and no midges at all. If you are walking through long grass and heather in the area, tuck your socks in to avoid the sheep ticks. Overall we hugely recommend Inverskilavulin if you are after a quiet family holiday near to local facilities or if you are looking for a great base to find interesting wildlife.

Room Tip: Both lodges look ideal, but Beinn Loy probably has the better view and is a little further from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith M, Owner at Inverskilavulin, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry for the late reply to your email.

Many thanks for your very positive comments about the lodges. Yes I agree Beinn Loy has a very panoramic view.

We hope to see more chequered skipper this coming season.

Best regards,
Edith Mainardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

In the September of 2012 my family and I went for a quick get away to Fort William. The inspirational views from the window took us up Beinn Bhan on our first day, despite the overwhelming temptation to remain in the warm lodge all day! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the thrill of deer stalking. The lodge was the ideal location for a relaxing get away. I would recommend this as one of the hidden gems of the Scottish highlands. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

My family and I spent a wonderful biking weekend in this beautiful area, Glenloy. The kids enjoyed the wildlife and outdoor activities whilst we also enjoyed the relaxing sceneries from the chalet. We rented a boat from the Inverskilavulin estate to go on a nearby loch where we luckily had some good weather to enjoy! The chalet was lovely and warm in the evenings with the wood-burning stove, a fantastic atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranMcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Inverskilavulin from the 21st of the 28th of July. What a great experience we had.
The owners and caretaker still understand the true meaning of hospitality. The house was immaculately clean and soo welcoming. It was a real pleasure coming back “home” after a full day out.
The environment offers stunning views and really allows you to get totally relaxed. It is a real paradise for holidays and unwinding.
The area is very suitable for walking, trekking and mountain biking right at your doorstep.
We have seen so many birds, eagles and plenty of deer and a lovely pine marter was visiting us every evening, making it truly a vacation to remember.
In short, this has been our best family holiday in Scotland and we are looking forward to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRegnerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverskilavulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverskilavulin

Property: Inverskilavulin
Address: Glenloy | Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverskilavulin Estate is situated in Glenloy and just 9 miles from the centre of Fort William. Inverskilavulin is a very special place, Beinn Bhan and Beinn Loy our two holiday lodges, are the ideal holiday home for small families and couples. These luxury two bedroom lodges nestling at the foot of one of Scotland's Corbett hills are not far from the Caledonian Canal, and Neptune's Stair Case at Banavie. The lodges have been furnished to a very high standard with wooden floors, marble bathrooms and Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels. With fantastic panoramic views from your lounge over Aonach Mor & Ben Nevis, enjoy watching the wildlife - Red Deer and Pine Martins from the comfort of your home. There are also plenty of good places to eat, and lots of Pubs to have a drink and enjoy the local hospitality. After a day out, whether sightseeing or doing more strenuous activities, imagine sinking into the comfort of deep padded leather sofas, alongside a cosy wood-burner perhaps with a good book and a wee dram! - What better way to relax and unwind. For, those who just cannot exist without their modern comforts, you will find all the facilities you would expect from such luxurious accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverskilavulin Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing