We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric area”
Review of lochaber cafe

lochaber cafe
Ranked #32 of 68 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Atmospheric area”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Every time my husband and myself journey to Scottish Highlands, this is an eatery that is a must to visit. The foods are tasty, with a great choice and variety and the cakes are delicious.
Staff are friendly and the value for money is exceptional.
If you are thinking of visiting BEN NEVIS this cafe is a definite must, to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“customer service training in good manners required”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived in Fort William from a long train excursion and expected a late return home at night, so a nice meal in comfortatble surroundings was what we were looking for.
Because of the busy Saturday shoppers and the throngs of people attending the final of the shinty in Fort William and the short break before the train left for our return trip we headed for the nearest cafe which is situated in the station entrance.

Big mistake!

Walking that few extra yards would have removed the ignorant service experience my wife suffered.

We picked the corner table by the window as the sun was shining there and my wife ordered at the counter... two panninis with piri piri chicken on one and cheese and tomato on the other with a side portion of chips and pot of tea for two.

What we got a little later was the pot of tea first and then a plate of ham sandwiches and chicken sandwiches.

On calling over the older lady and informing her this was not what we ordered she went back to the counter and returned with a chitty and exclaimed " THAT'S WHAT YOU ORDERED " to which we replied no that's not what we ordered.

She dissappeared with the chitty for further investigation then returned lifting the plates saying " THAT'S NO' YOURS " with no apology for delivering someone else's dinner!

The young girl then brought our correct order apologising for the mixup.....but still no chips after further deliberation the chips appeared.

So final assessment is the panini's with garnish, portion of chips and pot of tea very hot and good eating cannot fault the food in any way or the quality, but oh the human interaction terrible.

It is a poor reflection on this cafe that one person is possibly responsible for most of the poor reviews , if it is the case then perhaps she should not be working with the public.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“For heavens sake smile!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This should be a gold mine. Lovely double fronted place right next to station, nice wooden tables and good view of trains coming in and out. The food was ok,reasonable price and nice tea with proper tea strainers. But oh my life, such miserable staff. Such a shame!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very nice coffee, but no friendly smile”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had a quick cup of coffee one morning recently. The coffee was lovely, but we didn't feel very welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lochaber and Fort William In General”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Yes, the reviews for Lochaber are correct. I fear it is a reflection on what is happening in Fort William in general. Lovely scenery but you can`t live off that. It is the people that live in a place (their motivation) and the statutory assistance that makes a place thrive. Many shops are closed (the high street is drab and does not contain shops catering for need and has outdated tourist shops), most locals are shopping at Inverness and Oban, where they do have choice. Many in the service industry lack customer interfacing skills (they just have not had good training and they are resting on their laurels and outdated skills). Morrisons cafe is not much better (see Trip Advisor reviews), smiles and good service are not consistent, there is a take it or leave it attitude (because at Feb 2013 there is only one large supermarket -wonder what will happen when Tesco`s come to Fort William in a few months time?). Many of the locals seem depressed, that could be due to the lack of employment, sunshine and many rainy days, also the suicide rate is high here. So many are demoralized in work our out of work...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed lochaber cafe also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to lochaber cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing