We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was the worst I have had in scotland” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was the worst I have had in scotland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The quality of the produce for breakfast was worse than any cheap cafe I have ever eaten in
The sausage and beans were low quality and tasteless there was nothing else but bacon sausage egg beans and tomato on the menu
I was in a room with an extractor that was noisy and went off every few minutes through the night had little sleep the table and chairs for working at were the wrong height table too high sorry to say love Scotland and with the local roduce of such a high quality it is a shame the hotel do not use it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. We have taken the points raised by you in to consideration and we will do our best that these things won’t happen again in future.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    191
    165
    79
    67
See reviews for
60
321
45
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Small room (steep steps and, as this is an old building, no elevator.) We got the last parking space (admittedly on a weekend).
Ate at the pub --- I ordered Chicken Korma and my husband Tikka Masala. They were identical - and the owner tried to convince us they were different.
I'd look for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. If its about the difference between Korma and Tikka Masala, we do understand that they looked the same as the color of the spices made to cook these two types are nearly the same, just the difference is of coconut paste in the korma and cream in Tikka masala. Though both gives the same color but the flavor of the curry is totally different.

We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to prove our worth and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Can hardly believe we stayed at the same hotel as Chris b. The room was pokey, the tv hardly worked at all, it was up 35 incredibly steep stairs,(no lift)and had a faulty shower. All this for top dollar!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to prove our worth and we can assure you the best of service.

Regards
Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is roughly what you would expect from Best Western - an older building with some quirks in a very central location. We got in quite late and may have got one of the last rooms available so you could well do better but the room we got was disappointing. The decor was fine but the bathroom window looked onto a roof about two feet away and the main window onto someone's flat across a narrow street - it would have been nicer to see the loch or the mountain!

Room service was massively overpriced £15 for a burger, £5 for a small beer and £2.50 for a small soft drink. If you come back thirsty from hillwalking and don't like tap water it will get very expensive.

Breakfast wasn't bad (we just wanted cereal) and the staff were not unfriendly, but all in all the experience was slightly disappointing. I'd go again if the rooms were cheaper than the newer Fort William hotels like Nevis Bank but if the price was the same I'd try one of the others.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a view. There is a loch on one side and a mountain on the other so some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I travel to Fort Wiiliam two to three times a month and always stay at the Imperial hotel. Having stayed at hotels throughout the UK and Europe I can only say that the Imperial is up there with the very best. The rooms are spotless, the welcome you receive from the manager down is exceptional and the standard of food very good whether you decide to dine in the cosy bar or the more formal restaurant. I would not hesitate to advise anyone to stay at this gem in the highlands,indeed I suggested to my elderly father and his wife that they pay a visit and they loved every minute of their stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent dependent on budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Kind words and appreciation for our company and the staffs and we are very happy that you are thoroughly enjoying each moment of your stay and will continue to do so. We will be even happier to have your father once again at our property to serve him.

Thank you once again for your continuing support and the business provided by you.

See you soon for the best of our service and your brand loyalty.

Kind Regards
Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My father and I always holiday in Fort William during May and this hotel has become our regular accomodation
The staff are very welcoming and helpful, the cooked breakfasts just what are needed before a long days walk.
There are few hotels that I / we have stayed at where the receptionist, when asked for a spare key for my father, can present it to him as he gets to the check in desk !
The hotel is convenient for the main town area and transport links.

Look forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 01397 702040.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Me and my disabled friend have been at this hotel for this one night and enjoyed this hotel we had a good night sleep and this was better than the night we had before, the only problem we had was the migies and flies at night but being net to a loch we expected it the breakfasts were good and hot the service was excelent and in our room we had a jacuzzi all in all a good nights sleep

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firefoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we do really appreciate your nice comments with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. Your positive response gives us and our staff encouragement to go the extra mile to make each and every guest’s stay a satisfying one.
Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.
Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing