We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Highland Hospitality!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Connel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Highland Hospitality!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Five of us stayed here for one night. Five separate rooms. Expensive accommodation with a view of the Fire Exit and nothing else! The whole experience was a very poor advert for Scotland - and we were all locals! Don't stay - unless you know which room you are getting and can get breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a north facing room or a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LochEtive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your view on your recent stay with us and I am so sorry that you have been allocated the room which was not to your satisfaction. Please do accept our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests have a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to prove our worth and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    198
    170
    79
    68
See reviews for
63
328
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I am sorry to say that this hotel was by a huge margin the worst we stayed in over a week long road trip. My biggest complaint would be the customer service. The Polish receptionist was nothing short of unpleasant to the point of being downright rude, insisting that we did not have a reservation. Once this was resolved a man who i took to be the manager also infuriated me with an attitude that beggared belief. I chose to have no more to do with the reception and headed for the room.

The room was small but appeared to be clean enough and on the face of it would have been acceptable. Sadly by the time I left in the morning I had realised it was not able to perform the function of a decent hotel room. The main issue was the shower, which was actually a health and safety hazard. It was faulty and went from cold to scalding in a second. I ended up having to wash at the basin. During the night I went to use the bathroom, and i lost a chunk of skin from my foot, causing me to bleed so much i had to put a sock on before returning to bed. The screw in the carpet rod between the room and the bathroom were proud and sharp. See my photo.
When I told reception about these issues in the morning, they were completely disinterested.

Finally, breakfast. It was a shambles and in my opinion of very poor quality. Again, the worst we had in a week. I will never return here and I would not recommend it to anyone. I am ashamed to be Scottish when I think of foreign visitors experiencing such disgraceful customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronandkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akrur C, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Akrur Changkakoti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This review only relates to the bar/restaurant as we didn't stay in the hotel. We tried the hotel for an evening meal on the first night,purely on spec,and ended up eating there every night of our stay in Fort William.We were greeted by friendly staff each evening and given a good choice of food to order.The service was quick and the staff attentive,even when pre booked coach parties arrived and things suddenly got very busy.The menu is varied and we tried a cross section of dishes throughout our visits,all served promptly,hot with well cooked fresh vegetables where appropriate and all representing excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULNO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Services. We are delighted that you had such a great time while dining at Imperial and also enjoyed the local area too! We really aim to make sure all our guests leave the hotel on a high and I am thrilled to see that we did just that.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are thankful for your appreciation about the service you recieved at our hotel during your stay.I hope to see you again in future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 01397 702040.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great days ahead!

Sincerely,
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Overall good value. We had not pre-booked and obtained a room at a good rate, less than other poorer quality hotels in the area. No lift, but the staff did offer to take our bags to the room. The room was quite small but modern, very clean and adequate for a one night stay.
Breakfast was to a standard of any comparable hotel, with a variety of options. The cooked breakfast was very good. Car parking was directly outside the hotel, although spaces seem to be limited, we didn't have a problem. Even though we has checked out,the hotel allowed us to park there during the day whilst we went on the Glenifnnan railway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to put a nice positive response with respect to the services you received at our hotel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Your positive feedback gives our staffs to deliver even the better services to each guest. As we do always, we have shared your feedback with all our staffs. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great days ahead!

I hope to see you again in future.

Sincerely,
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The quality of the produce for breakfast was worse than any cheap cafe I have ever eaten in
The sausage and beans were low quality and tasteless there was nothing else but bacon sausage egg beans and tomato on the menu
I was in a room with an extractor that was noisy and went off every few minutes through the night had little sleep the table and chairs for working at were the wrong height table too high sorry to say love Scotland and with the local roduce of such a high quality it is a shame the hotel do not use it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. We have taken the points raised by you in to consideration and we will do our best that these things won’t happen again in future.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Small room (steep steps and, as this is an old building, no elevator.) We got the last parking space (admittedly on a weekend).
Ate at the pub --- I ordered Chicken Korma and my husband Tikka Masala. They were identical - and the owner tried to convince us they were different.
I'd look for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. If its about the difference between Korma and Tikka Masala, we do understand that they looked the same as the color of the spices made to cook these two types are nearly the same, just the difference is of coconut paste in the korma and cream in Tikka masala. Though both gives the same color but the flavor of the curry is totally different.

We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to prove our worth and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Can hardly believe we stayed at the same hotel as Chris b. The room was pokey, the tv hardly worked at all, it was up 35 incredibly steep stairs,(no lift)and had a faulty shower. All this for top dollar!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you to prove our worth and we can assure you the best of service.

Regards
Prashant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing