We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all bad”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not at all bad”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked this hotel as we were attending the Shinty Cammanachd Cup Final and it was also he same date as our wedding anniversary. I initially dealt with Best Western Web Booking Customer Service who were very quick to help on any of my issues. Unfortunately not so quick was the response of the hotel when I emailed them direct, Eventually had to phone them to confirm and early booking and discuss options for Champagne for room as surprise for my wife.
When we arrived there was only a few parking spaces (you had to get a ticket from the hotel - no big problem). I had booked an Executive room as an extra special treat with a Spa bath. Don't get too excited the room was great, magnificient view of the Loch but the Exceutive bath was a major dissapointment (shower luckily came to the resue). Spa bath much too small (especially as I'm 6ft 3) and actually didn't work took an age to fill and the jet spray was lucky to reach a trickle. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that other than breakfast which was pretty good (only issue was no potato scone but at least it wasn't advertised as a Scottish breakfast). The staff were mainly Indian and that was reflected in some of the food choices but can't fault them as they were very couteous and helpful.
All in all enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared with all the Staff which really motivates them . The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Kanish Mahajan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    204
    174
    80
    70
See reviews for
67
334
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Arriving by train at Fort William, this hotel is ideally sited for a short walk. The hotel is small, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I was only spending one night here as I was on a walking trip and it was a comfortable start. As the weather was very unreliable, I decided to eat in the bar, rather than go to another restaurant I had been to before in town. The service was excellent, the bar small and cosy. I had problems with the sound on my TV which were immediately sorted out by the Manager.

The staff are small in number but all seemed friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is a little ''faded glory'' but that adds to its charm in a way.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, preferable to choose a room on the first floor to save walking up too many stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we do really appreciate your nice comments and especially about the staffs during your stay. Your positive response has been greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our staffs. This will helps us in carrying on the good work for even more satisfying services to all of our customers.

Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.

Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best ever and good value for money. It's stylish and spotless and in a good location. All of the staff are really genuine, helpful and friendly!
From the moment we arrived we were treated royally by all the staff. They were all very friendly and could not do enough for you, everything they did was very efficient and done with a smile!
Our room (19) was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided.
We had dinner in the bar and the food was very nice, the bar satff were attentative and the service was very good.
Breakfast was excellent and service in the restaurant was quick and the girls on breakfast duty were very friendly and helpful.
There is wifi in the rooms - just ask for the login at reception.

I would definitely stay again & would be happy to recommend to visitors to Fort William.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan-smithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to put your honest opinion about the services you received at our hotel.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed the stay here and very pleased with our service and standards and appreciate your feedback; I will pass your kind words to all our staffs and will continue to do the best for each of our guests.
Have a good time and if you need anything then please be free to contact me.
Thanks Again and we will see you soon.
Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourqueux, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was the most expensive hotel during our stay in Scotland, but far from the best (in fact, it can thank a really atrocious 'colleague' to avoid "the worst" label). For the money that you pay, this is thoroughly underwhelming. Everything is aging and not very practical, especially the small winding corridors with thick carpet that makes carrying and rolling your luggage difficult.

The hotel parking is tiny and constantly over full - thus you have to park on the public parking right next to it, but it's paying from 8 in the morning (luckily, we stayed for a saturday night and sundays are free).

Rooms are small and modest, at least the beds were okay.

As usual in the UK, the shower is oldish and had very little water pressure. You can hear the pipes rustling in the night/early morning. And if that doesn't awake you, the cleaning personnel that is cheerfully and loudly talking will take care of that for you.

Next stop: breakfast. Oh my. First, you have to wait in the lobby until they've prepared a table for you. Not great. Then we have the most useless and inept crew of waiters I've ever seen. Also, they don't smile or make you feel particularly welcome. By 9 o'clock the buffet had been raided (no more pastries, almost no more fruit), but the empty or 7/8 empty plates were left to admire and wonder what could've been. You couldn't even get a glass of juice right away, because there were no more glasses left, something the waiters had also not noticed by themselves and had to be specifically asked for. The cooked breakfast was mediocre. When we asked for more toast, the waitress promptly forgot our demand and when we reminded her she looked at us as if we were speaking Mandarin. Toast arrived ten minutes after I had finished eating what I wanted to eat with the toast.

Monopoly rules in the highlands, so the lack of reasonably priced competition means that even a mediocre hotel like this one can ask for prices that are not reflected in what they offer - everyone else is still more expensive, so there you go. This is still rather underwhelming and you can probably do better for not a whole lot more money (we booked last minute, so our options were limited).

The breakfast was a catastrophe - if you have the choice (we didn't, it came with the room), order without breakfast - you can get better in the mainstreet, less than five minutes away...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offers you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best of possible services to each of our guests so that they can have a great stay at our establishments.
We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement part for our staffs and facilities so that each of the future guests has a nice and enjoyable stay.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we can assure you the best of service.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Nothing says gross out like a condom wrapper between the night stand and the bed. We were in room 21 which was very spacious. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub. But that didn't make up for stains on the rug, lack of vacuuming next to the bed, no lift, constant noise from staff and guests being rowdy under our windows as they smoked and tour buses unloaded and the incredibly bad food. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your Visit at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion.

We are pleased to advise that we have taken your points on board and have discussed the matter with our chef and the housekeeping staff and we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Possibly the smallest double room we've ever stayed in. The window looked straight out onto the fire escape. The walls were so thin you could hear every noise from the next room and from the corridor. The bathroom extractor didn't work. The toilet seat was loose. The grout between the bathroom tiles was cracked/missing in places. The worktop in the bathroom was peeling. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Generally, shabby and overpriced.
The location was good, and the reception and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Sincerely,

Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Spent 2 really comfortable and relaxing nights at the Imperial Hotel. We checked the reviews and were a bit apprehensive. However we found the hotel to be lovely extremely clean and so friendly. We ate both nights in the hotel. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced as was the wine. The staff could not do enough to make our stay very enjoyable in particular Sunie and Gary. The only small complaint was the shower in our room didnt work but we had lovely hot baths after walking up Ben Nevis. We would certainly go back and will recommend the Imperial to all our friends. Jean and Andy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldmedal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much and we are delighted to have your nice comments with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial Hotel. Your positive response gives us and our staff encouragement to go the extra mile to make each and every guest’s stay a satisfying one.
Once again we would like to thank you for your appreciation about the services which you received at our establishment.
Hope to see you again in future.

Kindest Regards
Prashant Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing