We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Really enjoyed our overnight stay here, we were made very welcome, given two parking permits for us and our two sons who were arriving later and given a lovely room with views over Loch Linnhe. The only complaint upon checking our shower room was that there was a badly cracked tile just as you walked in. After a lovely afternoon walk around the town we returned back to our hotel room and within a short time some of the lighting tripped out but within 10 minutes came back on. After this had happened a number of times we complained on our way out of the hotel for the evening and was assured this would be rectified upon our return as a number of rooms had been affected. Upon our return a complimentary bottle of wine had been left for us and all was ok. Breakfast was excellent with choices of help yourself fruit juices, cereral, fruit, yoghurt and croissants and then a set hot breakfast menu with unlimited toast, tea and coffee. Overall very good, excellent service and lovely views from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    204
    174
    80
    70
See reviews for
67
334
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

To get to our room involved several flights of stairs, corridors and fire doors with no lift. As we are all in our 70s and had luggage we would have appreciated a more conveniently located room. We checked that there was a fire escape near to our room. The room was adequate. We had dinner in the hotel as there was really no where else nearby to eat, and enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was basic. The staff were very friendly and it was good value for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

I can see your rooms were on the second floor, really sorry about that as you know we were busy that day otherwise we would have moved you to first floor. I know you will be back in future and when you will be please contact me and i will make sure your rooms are on the first floor.

In the meantime if there is anything i can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated royally by all the staff.. the duty manager couldnt of welcomed us any better, service with a smile, made us feel so welcome and made us feel comfortable as soon as we entered. They were all very friendly and could not do enough for you, everything they did was very efficient and done with a smile!
Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided.
We had dinner in the bar and the food was very tasty there was a wide range off foods to choose from, the bar staff were attentive and the service was very good.

There is wifi in the rooms - just ask for the login at reception.

I would definitely stay again & a big Thankyou to all the staff especially the duty manager for such warmth!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan-smithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. Your review has been truly motivational for the management and the team who really feel positive when their efforts are recognised by valued guests such as yourself.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look very forward to welcoming you back in the near future
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

With the dawn of internet and so many tools to make places look good l always feel dubious when booking anything - however this one does exactly what it says on the tin ! We were greeted by the charming manager in a friendly manner that immediately relaxed us after a long journey. Escorted to our room with an offer to carry the bags. Both the room and bathroom were lovely and warm , the decor in excellent condition, the beds were very comfortable and nothing woke us up in the night. All staff during our 2 day stay were pleasant and only too willing to help. The range of food on offer was excellent either in the tastefully done Italian restaurant or in the bar area we tried both and were not disappointed with either ...one absolute bonus is that they allow you to mix and match with no hassle , very few places like to do this, we appreciated that . The whole ambiance of the Imperial is conveys the customer is King ! Keep it up guys ...we will be back .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back
.
Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night and was very delighted with the standard of service. We did not eat in the hotel but but the menu was varied, including Indian options. The room was large, with a great view of the loch, and very clean and warm. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. Your review has been truly motivational for the management and the team who really feel positive when their efforts are recognised by valued guests such as yourself.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look very forward to welcoming you back in the near future
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel, our room was very comfortable had a grand view of Loch Linnhy. The Hotel had a good choice of food English, Italian or Indian dishes to tempt the palate and all the evening meals were delicious, well cooked and presented. The Hotel is a listed building so there are limitations as to what the owners can do to change certain things, there is no lift, but rooms are available on the first floor and if you ask the staff are happy to help with your luggage on arrival and departure. Every member of staff is efficient polite and only too pleased to help with any information you may need. Its not perfect but where is these days, could be problematic if a few stairs are an issue!

Bonus, its just a short walk to the town from the front door of the Hotel.

Room Tip: The West Coast Co steam train journey from Fort William to Malaig is a must, (we would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and comfortable hotel for the price. Our room was comfortable - the only downside was a patch of water damage on the ceiling but that did not effect comfort.

We ate at the hotel during the evening. The hotel features an Italian Restaurant (old skool), Indian dishes in the bar and conventional bar meals. Eat in the bar and you can have a three course meal which picks from each menu.

Not at the luxury end of the market but a better option than a Travelodge. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ecotrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience that we endeavour to give all of our valued guests.. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing