We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel and staff were really friendly. When we arrived we got a upgrade to an imperial room which was massive with a nice jacuzzi bath. The food was also nice in the Italian restaurant and breakfast. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind regards
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

After leaving Liverpool went miles out of our way to pick up 2 people from St.Helens. Arrived at Hotel 11 hours later. The lights in rooms and passage ways were not working on 2nd flour, then off and on again for the whole week-end. The service in the Restaurant was diabolical, as we had to wait for so long to be served. No entertainment on first night, and in the Restaurant for the next two nights with only a little space to dance, and see in the New Year. Glad to be back home after a 10+ hour journey. Not Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavis A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

First impressions were ok, staff friendly and helpful. Room was small with smell. Some smelt of dogs and smoke. Corridors and rooms near care and updating. It's cheap and cheerful ... The breakfast was poor. If you like overdone everything you come to the right place. Parking is an issue as it's in the centre of a high st area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments. I can see that you had issue with the bedroom there was smell in the room i really apologise for that, if you would have told us while you were here i would have changed the room for you, this is the first time i have complaint like this about smell in the rooms also sir as Best western i can assure you we have a no pet policy in the hotel and because of that pets are not allowed in the hotel in any areas. but as i said once again i really apologis for not been able to met your expectations.

We have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

we are hoping that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. And I know whenever you will be back please don’t hesitate to contact me and from my side I will offer you a free upgrade with a bottle of wine in your room on arrival.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

kind Regards

kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The welcome, the room and the breakfast were well worth the money.
However when we came to pay for our stay, we were being charged for breakfast despite having booked on a bed and breakfast basis. Receptionist was most insistent that we had not, despite being able to show printed evidence of our booking and confirmation which both showed that we had booked for bed and breakfast. Eventually it was agreed that we had in fact booked on a bed and breakfast basis and should only pay the rate that we had booked.
So be very careful what they want to charge you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayefsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here a few times for business , the rooms are basic but adequate for the purpose , they are also in a very good location right in the town centre , one disappointment from my last stay was that the menu had changed and the food was not as good , for this purpose I will probably not go back here

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepcargreeks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned home after two nights in the imperial and have to say enjoyed every moment.We only booked last week as decided that we would like to spend our first new year alone in the last 32 years away from home.Given that it was last minute and it was new year I think we got a good deal for bed and breakfast.On arrival we were greeted by a young chap and a young lady who were very pleasant,and have to say all the staff were the same,really attentive and friendly.Our room was a decent size and had everything we needed as was the bathroom.There was a coach trip in from down south who had the main dining room to themselves and everyone else was in the bar to dine,but it was very nicely presented,just a wee bit chilly as the night went on but heaters were placed around the room.The evening entertainment was also in the main dining room but we sat in the lounge area just outside and could hear all and all were invited in to bring in the bells as well as all being given a glass of bubbly.We met a lovely couple and had a fab evening nod next day just chilled and took in the sights.Would say though as it was New Year nod most local establishments were closed the bar could have been opened earlier than 12.30 in the afternoon to provide snacks ,we missed breakfast and ended up finding food along the street at 1pm.Overall a great wee place and would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank reffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by your wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your very positive feedback about the exceptional customer service of staff, and the great food at our hotel.
Your review has been truly motivational for the management and the team who really feel positive when their efforts are recognised by valued guests such as yourself.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look very forward to welcoming you back in the near future
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is decent, as well as perfectly situated in the middle of Fort William. The pedestrian High Street is literally less than a minute away on foot. The hotel is nice looking and clean, and the staff were both friendly and helpful.

However, a few quirks made it less than ideal:
- There is no elevator, but many, many stairs.The hotel seems to be an agglomeration of several adjacent buidings, which makes for a very odd layout. If you have a lot of luggage, or an infant, it can be a bit of a challenge.
- The interior walls are paper thin (even if the exterior walls appear to be about 2 ft. thick). We could hear everything in the adjacent rooms.
- There is a burning hot towel warmer in the bathroom and no way to turn it down or off. Not ideal when you have a 1 year old crawling around.
- Room 4 has a loud squeaky interior fire door just outside the room right where the head of the bed is. It was very loud all night long as anyone went through it.
- Room 4 and 5 are right over top of the restaurant kitchen. They were both very hot, even though the heaters were completely turned off in the rooms.
- The shower in room 4 only has very hot water coming out of it. The cold just did not work.
- The mattresses are definitely the cheapest you can buy. Don't expect any pillow-top softness here.

Having said that, the room was quite large and had plenty of room for our baby to crawl around, even with our stroller and other assorted baby paraphernalia in the room. The breakfast (included) was very good and very filling.

All in all, this was a decent place to stay. The location and room size makes it ideal for a family with small children, but on the other hand, the loudness makes it less than ideal. You can tell that the owners have put some money into the hotel, but focusing on basics, like sound insulation, doors with high quality hinges that don't squeak loudly, and proper ventilation, rather than things like heated towel racks, would be a much better idea.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 and 5, which are loud and hot because they are above the restaurant kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegTraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,084 reviews
1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £52 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing