We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western/Fort William”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Western/Fort William”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Imperial in Fort William, only possible issue which didn't affect us was parking. During busy periods this could cause a problem. Staff, rooms, service all first rate and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    209
    188
    86
    76
See reviews for
72
348
51
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Room at the price we paid - good value for money
Breakfast - standard, good service, nice views from the breakfast room in the morning.

Two night NO SLEEP, not due to anything the hotel did, other than being right beside a night club. As we where in Fort William for snow sports, our aim was not to get drunk and stay out night but rather enjoy a comfortable sleep get up early and get out.

The EXTREMELY loud music started at 10pm both Friday and Saturday night and finished after 3am, followed by a further hour of drunken shouting outside the hotel. We could hear the music word for word, damn near got the glow stick out to have a rave in our room. Best Western, do yourself a favour and complain to the council, we nearly considered calling the police to report the noise pollution ourself. Sunday to Thursday I presume this hotel is a lovely place to stay. We would return if not for the sleepless nights due to your neighbouring nightclub which is spoiling the sleep your guests get.

Room Tip: If you stay at the hotel, ask to be put in a front room, as far away form the back of the hotel as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokenpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We got to Fort William, tired and cold, to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We had the Imperial room, which was huge, with a four poster bed and a large bathroom, complete with jacuzzi bath.

We ate in the bar and had a very tasty curry and the breakfast was very nice, and included in the price of the room.

As mentioned in previous reviews, there is no stand up shower in the bathroom, however this didn't bother us. There is also limited parking for cars, but we were on a motorbike, and were allowed to park it outside the front door, we just asked if this would be okay.

For a little bit more for your budget, clean and comfortable, with friendly staff, right in the centre of Fort William, then this hotel fits the bill.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind regards
Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Ideal location for walking as this Hotel is located in the centre of Oban so plenty of shops and pubs so no taxis required. This Hotel is good value for money and is close to the Nevis Range for skiing will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the other just stopping in off of the road. We had drove in from Inverness and the Isle of Skye while touring Scotland. The room was the imperial Suite and it was done very nicely. The bed and pillows left something to be desired at £180. I don't get the no wash cloth, or face cloth as they call it, in the bath room. As I said nicely done bath room in black and white tile but no shower. Just a hand held nozzle in a nice jacuzzi tub with a lame two panel enclosure the didn't work. No one was at the front desk until 8:00 the next morning to tell us if breakfast was included, it was. There was no elevator, lift, so if you are traveling with large suitcases be prepared to haul them up the stairs through the maze of hallways and those damned half doors to get to your room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. My wife struggled to get out of bed on her side as bed jammed against wall.
Bathroom had shower only which was in dis-repair. Door off hinges, cover missing from shower control, damp patches on wall, etc. Bar area shut around 10:00pm. Limited parking and resulted in parking some way off. Probably try elsewhere if going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.
Kind Regards

Kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I became a fan of Best Western on a U.S. road trip that I took with an American friend. She taught me that they delivered a reliable standard of cleanliness and comfort and a free breakfast all for a good value price.

Since then I have stayed in several U.K. Best Westerns, and all I can say is that they appear not to be held to the same standards as their American counterparts.

Fort Williams Imperial hotel is superbly located in the town centre, but beyond that it's charms are few. The hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment, the beds are uncomfortable and the rooms have no air conditioning. All of this is reflected in the price, which is very reasonable, but that is little consolation.

Sound insulation from the outside was almost non-existent. Every car or passing pedestrian could be heard from my second floor room. The shower in my room (27) did not work, and the sink pop-up plug was poorly adjusted so the sink did not drain, as a result a previous tenant had removed it completely. I quickly adjusted it and replaced it, but a guest should not be required to do so.

For me the final straw was the lack of wifi. I never book a hotel without free wifi, and the Imperial claims to offer it, but it was not working. I tested on both my iPhone and iPad, before reporting to the management. Their response: "we're sorry, but our Internet provider is not very reliable". If they know this to be the case, why on earth not change provider? I've had good internet in the middle of the Arizona desert, yet it's unavailable in the country that invented telephony!?

Breakfast was what you might expect from a hotel of this standard, a selection of juices, fruits and cereals, and a small selection of cooked items. Not terrible, but far from great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,

kanish Mahajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
492 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing