We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the minute we arrived we were made so welcome by the lovely receptionist. The hotel is in a perfect location for access to shops , bars, restaurants etc. with reserved parking outside. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with lovely views overlooking the loch. The staff were friendly, attentive and courteous. There was a wide variety of food for breakfast which was perfectly cooked. We had not intended having dinner there but were glad that we had. We chose Indian food from the extensive menu and could not fault it. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch. The ones at the back can be noisy at night according to friends...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The views blew us away. We had a huge window giving views of the loch and the mountains beyond. We spend hours just staring out of the window and that alone made us glad we'd selected this hotel. Other plus points: very convenient, central location (just off the main street, 5 mins from the station), great bath tub, helpful and friendly staff, nice breakfast, decent sized room. Unfortunately the jets on the 'jacuzzi' bath didn't work, the lighting in the bathroom was too dim, the sheets were stained and although the room was nicely decorated, it had an unpleasant smell. And though the bed was beautiful and ornate, the legs protruded out and we kept colliding with it. Oh yes, and the walls are paper thin so hope you've got quiet neighbours. We got the room on an offer and were glad we didn't spend too much on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the loch
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 days last weekend. Anyone who has read some of the bad reviews about this hotel, please ignore them!! All of the staff were very welcoming from arrival to departure. Our room was spotlessly clean and more than adequate for our needs. The reception, restaurant, bar and public toilets were also very clean.

We were on dinner, bed and breakfast, and the choice available for dinner was very varied, with the choice of either the standard 3 course set meal or the flexibility of choosing anything from the main menu and the very good idea to have the choice to eat in either the bar or the restaurant.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a perfect location. Already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind regards

kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend with friends, wasn't the best place to stay noise from the street was dreadful with the night club at the rear of the hotel (avoid a room at the back of the hotel if possible) Clean rooms good staff. Restaurant Food wasn't very nice in the evening. Not suitable for disabled people as there's no lift and narrow hall ways. Could have been a lot better. Staff where very pleasant and would do anything to help. Shower and toilet very clean but not much pressure coming from the shower when It did work. Good breakfast in the morning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Imperial for one night in April. The hotel is very central and the free parking was very appreciated. We had a great view of the harbour from our room. Fort William's high street is a minute's walk away providing good shopping and food. The reception was very nice and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and the bathroom was very modern. Our double bed was essentially 2 single beds put together with a crack down the middle, but, individually the beds were very comfortable :) The breakfast was very good (classic cooked breakfast).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Imperial in Fort William, only possible issue which didn't affect us was parking. During busy periods this could cause a problem. Staff, rooms, service all first rate and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

kind Regards
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Room at the price we paid - good value for money
Breakfast - standard, good service, nice views from the breakfast room in the morning.

Two night NO SLEEP, not due to anything the hotel did, other than being right beside a night club. As we where in Fort William for snow sports, our aim was not to get drunk and stay out night but rather enjoy a comfortable sleep get up early and get out.

The EXTREMELY loud music started at 10pm both Friday and Saturday night and finished after 3am, followed by a further hour of drunken shouting outside the hotel. We could hear the music word for word, damn near got the glow stick out to have a rave in our room. Best Western, do yourself a favour and complain to the council, we nearly considered calling the police to report the noise pollution ourself. Sunday to Thursday I presume this hotel is a lovely place to stay. We would return if not for the sleepless nights due to your neighbouring nightclub which is spoiling the sleep your guests get.

Room Tip: If you stay at the hotel, ask to be put in a front room, as far away form the back of the hotel as p...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brokenpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £59 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing