We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, good service, friendly staff”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were making a trip through Scotland and the Imperial Hotel is a nice place to stay. A nice location and the rooms are ok. There is no lift but for us that is no problem. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is helpfull and the breakfast is very good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipr-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fort William is a small town at the foot of Ben Nevis, there are many places to visit in the surrounding area, scenery is fantastic, mountains and glens, the Caledonian canal with Neptunes staircase.
We stayed in the Imperial hotel in the town, this hotel is very clean in all aspects, the staff very friendly and food was to a good standard. It also has a small cosy lounge bar which also serves food where the prices are very reasonable.
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, my wife and I will certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel a few weeks ago when driving around. The room was clean but the view from the window was the opposite wall just 5 m away and a staircase just in front of the window and you could barely see the sky, in the size of a stamp. No information of this in advance. In the evening we discovered that you could not close the window properly. From the window you heard all the noise from the kitchen and bar. When discussed with the reception they promised "We will see what we can do ..." and that was the last we heard from them!

During the night the fire alarm rang. Obviously it was a flash alarm but no information was given in the night, or even in true morning to the customers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A really great hotel to stay in after doing the West Highland Way. Big bath, hot water, fluffy towels and comfy bed. A central location, close to bus and rail stations. Friendly staff. An extensive menu which was good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 403kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind Regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The hotel is well located in the town centre of Fort William. rooms are very clean and the room we had was overlooking the loch and had fab views. The manager, bar, restaurant and room maids were really welcoming. The food in this hotel was first class and had a really good range of different meals that would suit everyone. We liked the fact that you order meals and sit in the bar area to eat, even meals that were for the restaurant could be eaten in there. We will certainly be staying at this hotel if we are up in Fort William.
Ellen, Glasgow.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 25 which had fantastic views of the loch and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind regards

Kanish MAhajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had booked 1nights stay in this hotel in December, later I decided to extend the booking by a night. Having checked online I was quoted about £40. When I phoned up to book this I quoted £150 for the night by the reception manager! After I stated I was quoted £40 online he agreed to give me that rate. I was absolutely disgusted that he initially tryed to con me out of nearly 4 times the asking price. The hotel itself was very nice and clean. Also the waiting staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful, infancy they went out of their way to go the extra mile for the guests. However due to the dishonesty of the reception manager at the time I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Always check price online first as if you don't you may end up paying through the nose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotislander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the minute we arrived we were made so welcome by the lovely receptionist. The hotel is in a perfect location for access to shops , bars, restaurants etc. with reserved parking outside. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with lovely views overlooking the loch. The staff were friendly, attentive and courteous. There was a wide variety of food for breakfast which was perfectly cooked. We had not intended having dinner there but were glad that we had. We chose Indian food from the extensive menu and could not fault it. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch. The ones at the back can be noisy at night according to friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01397 702040 or please email me at kanish.mahajan@sgehotels.com

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £52 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing