We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Very dated, toilet didn't flush very well, shower temperature was burning hot to freezing cold and back again in a matter of seconds, room was so small that we had to bring in the mattress from my mother and father-in-law's room so that there was enough space for the four of us, because they told us the fold out bed probably wouln't fit (which it completely would have), the dining staff was MISERABLE at all times, the floors and doors are SO LOUD that it is impossible to sleep through the noise. I am not sure if this is commonplace to Europe, the front desk closed at 11pm and most of the lights downstairs were turned off and you needed a code to get back in.... not common here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it was "fair" the hotel could definelty do with a refurb! Our room was directly on the main front of Fort William which did get a bit noisy but i'm a heavy sleeper so not an issue for me but could be for some. No lift either but staff did offer to help with luggage. Easy and convenient location with the High St area being 50 metres away. Limited parking (10 spaces). Would I stay here again? No! There are better hotels in the area for similar budget (we paid £100 per night).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed one night after a weeks' hard sailing in the Atlantic and the boat was quieter!

Teeny tiny room with a view of a wall! The pub next door has an amazing cover band playing on stage and I can sing along word for word as it's loud and crystal clear.

Can also hear other hotel occupants

Oh the batman booted us out of residents bar and closed it at about 23.00hrs

Plus side - the bed was comfy

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntietoGabbyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was poor value for money, 2 people for 3 nights @£400 you expect more than what we got. The "Double" bed was actually a three quarter and not comfortable. The loch view was from a tiny window in the corner of the room which was broken and could not be closed or open fully. Traffic noise was terrible from first thing on the morning. The shower was a trickle and the toilet had to be pumped to flush properly, The shower had to be turned off 3 times to turn it off fully, the digital TV was pixelated half the time. Had I Known there was a premier inn I would have stayed there as the standard they have was better than this. I thought I was getting a swish hotel but far from it. Breakfast was the only OK thing.

Room Tip: Not room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

hard bed smallroom with a view of a wall over priced! Your paying for the location
breakfast was ok, evening meal expensive for what you got, no lift and lots of stairs
friendly staff was its only good point
better nights sleep at a premier inn

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to and we hope to welcome you and back to the hotel in the near future for delightful experience.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Kind regards,
Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The window opens to kitchen exhaust and we got the smell of curry all night.
Otherwise room is clean and has a good size of standing shower.
The mattress is extremely poor quality and that's where they have failed my expectations. It was hard to sleep on a 5" mattress.
Breakfast was good. Hot breakfast is prepared upon order.
Location is great too.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I would say that this is not a bad hotel, but there is nothing special about it, and it seems difficult to recommend it. Nicely located if you are travelling by train was the most postitive thing. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast, although we left the hotel at 7.30 am when only continental breakfast was available (without bread for some reason and we received coffee only on request).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKTHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments
we have taken your observations into considerations and we will do our best in using this feedback as an improvement so that each of the future guests can have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01397 702040.

Kind regards

Kanish Mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,013 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Imperial Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing